We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Notting Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Notting Hill to your Saves list
Hotel Notting Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I've been here for 2 night during a vacation in Amasterdam. It was excellent. The personal really nice and helpful the room clean and nice. And also the room service was pretty good! What I can say if you want a nice place to sleep in Amsterdam this is the right one!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Hazazup,

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had a great stay with us and appreciated the staff and roomservice so much. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope that we may welcome you again soon in our hotel.

Warm regards,

Team Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    173
    38
    14
    5
See reviews for
43
243
20
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The straff was very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was ok.

Wifi connection was very poor and slow.

The restaurant was just so-so, but it was raining and we didn't want to go out.

We booked this hotel because of location and parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Timk43,

Thank you very much for your positive review on this website. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us and appreciated the staff, the room and location so much. We are sorry for the poor WIFI connection, we are still in the process of optimising this in all rooms. It usually works fine everywhere, but sometimes the connection still needs improvement in some rooms. We hope that we may welcome you again soon in Hotel Notting Hill.

Warm regards,

Team Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Hotel Notting Hill is a wonderful find just south of Frederiksplein in the Oud-Zuid section of Amsterdam. Our room was large, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious with an awesome rainfall / wand switchable shower. We were in Amsterdam during a heat wave of 90-degree heat, so the powerful A/C system was much used and appreciated. The #4, 7, and 10 trams serve the hotel which makes it easy to get to anywhere in Amsterdam you need to go. It's also walking distance to the Museumplain (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum and Stedeleijk museum.

Room Tip: Very quiet neighborhood -- even a ground-floor room like we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Rogeraj,

Thank you very much for your positive review on this website. We are pleased that you had such a comfortable stay with us and appreciated the room, bathroom and location so much. We hope that we may welcome you again soon in Hotel Notting Hill.

Warm regards,

Team Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We arrived at 1.30pm and were welcomed by the always friendly reception staff. Our room was ready so we were able to check in early, a bottle of wine, card and wine glasses were in our room as a gift from the hotel as this was our 25th wedding anniversary. We emailed the hotel twice prior to our visit asking about taxi transfers to the hotel and room upgrades, both emails were responded to quickly and gave the information requested.
Our room was on the first floor and faced the road, you do get some noise from traffic at night but it is only a normal level of traffic noise. The number 4 tram stops right outside the hotel and can be used to get to dam square and places to eat which are not far from the hotel.
The bed was very comfortable, the room spotlessly clean and of a good size.
The only minor observation would be that there is no information in the room about the hotel and facilities and at breakfast it was a bit slow to have tables set up again for those of us down later for breakfast. That said I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again if in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Solihullshopper,

Thank you very much for the perfect score for our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had such a comfortable stay with us and appreciated our cleanliness, bed and staff so much. Thank you for recommending us and we hope that we may welcome you again soon in Hotel Notting Hill.

Warm regards,

Team Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my boyfriend, we were given a basement room which was huge! The shower was amazing and the bath was so deep, the bed was the biggest and the comfiest I have ever slept in! The staff were friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us! Would recommend this hotel to anyone who was thinking of visiting Amsterdam!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Season94,

Thank you very much for your positive review on this website. We are pleased that you had such a great stay with us and appreciated our bed, staff and bathroom so much. We hope that we may welcome you again soon in our hotel.

Warm regards,

Team Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

When I checked in I was put in a room that was substandard and not cleaned well, in fact there were coffee stains (I hope) dripping down the front of the sink, and black marks on one of the pillows. My light switch didnt work by the bed and the TV was tiny compared to what was described in my hotels.com booking. There wasn't even bottled water in my room. When I complained the girl at the desk was INCREDIBLY rude to me, stating that I was wrong about the room not being what I booked and that she would have the room cleaned for me. The head of house keeping was incredibly nice and apologetic (The only saving grace of the situation). After fighting on the phone with the girl at the desk a few times I was told that I would have my room changed. On return to the hotel after my conference, I was delighted to get a room to the standard I would have expected for a hotel such as this, with a complimentary bottle of 'Red' Wine in the room with a written apology. This is a situation where good customer service on my first complaint could have avoided this review.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear silli_julian,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website. I am terribly sorry for the bad first impression you had while staying with us. I can assure you that I will discuss this internally in order to avoid this situation from happening again in the future. I am glad that, apart from this first impression, your stay with us was a pleasant one. I hope that we may welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Sven van Maanen, Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a charming boutique hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. Aside from the elevator breaking down several times...thankfully there are only like 4 floors, we had a comfortable stay. The location is great, within walking distance of most sites. The bathroom was very nice with nice amenities, but as with most European hotels; there is always something a bit off concerning privacy. This one had a frosted door with a clear strip of frame all around, so there was always a view inside the bathroom...one the I don't care to have. The shower was very nice, but the water would always seep beneath the glass door onto the marble floor forcing the bather to spend some time sopping up the floor after every shower.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms overlook rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear AroundAgain,

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you appreciated our staff, the location and the bathroom so much. We thank you for your feedback concerning the water that seeps underneath the glass door. We will discuss this matter internally in order to solve this problem. We hope that we may welcome you again soon in our hotel.

Warm regards,

Team Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Notting Hill

Address: Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Notting Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam is a boutique design hotel, in which you will feel right at home. The hotel is situated in an attractive and historic building in the heart of the bustling city of Amsterdam. Discover Amsterdam from your doorstep with Leidseplein Square, Rembrandtplein Square and the Museum Quarter right around the corner. The blend of classic elements, modern facilities and historic features make this former governmental building a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. This stylish luxury hotel is the key address for cosmopolitan and international travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Notting Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.