We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Notting Hill

Save Saved
You added Hotel Notting Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Notting Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Home in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel was built in 2011, it is spacious and more North American than European in its style. I stayed in room 804 which is in the basement. The room was very large considering European standards, beautifully appointed, cozy and sleek. I loved it. The only con for me was that the lighting in the bathroom was not adequate enough for applying make-up. This hotel is perfect for the single traveller and is definitely for grown-ups. The breakfast was the normal European fare and the coffee was really good. The hotel bar is quiet. I had the Pink Mojito (too sour for my taste) but the classic Cosmopolitan was perfection. The service is personal and professional. There is not much to do in the neighbourhood itself but, it is just far enough to escape the excitement of Amsterdam. It is the perfect hotel if you are spending a weekend in the city or travelling for business and want affordable luxury. The cab fare from Centraal station was around €16 or only 8 stops with tram #4. This is the only hotel I will stay at when in Amsterdam

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Sheila J,

Thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you liked our rooms so much. Did you know that we have special make-up mirrors with light in our bathrooms? Please ask reception to show this to you during your next visit. We are already looking forward to welcoming you again when you visit Amsterdam next time. Warm regards, Team Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    149
    36
    10
    5
See reviews for
40
207
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I really enjoyed the hotel and it was a nice quiet location with the tri-rail stop right at the front which will take you any direction and is very easy and affordable. We enjoyed having drinks at the small hotel bar before heading out for the walk into town. The breakfast wasn't worth the cost of it. The overall hotel was nice, clean, and safe. Most everyone was very nice and helpful. I would stay again but I did scope out a couple other hotels for the future that offer better rates because we rather spend more money on food, drinks, and entertainment. Though not a ton of hotels have parking and this one does but at around $50 a day on top of expensive room that we didn't spend much time in.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear TravelingFireman04,

Thank you very much for your positive review. The location of our hotel is indeed perfect for sightseeing and exploring the city. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our bar and the cleanliness of the hotel. We always try to offer the best rate, but this depends on availability and overall demand. The parking costs are relatively high in Amsterdam and we charge a fair rate for this part of the city. Of course we do hope that we may welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Team Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oud-Turnhout
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice clean interior. Quiet area, close to Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh (12 minutes walking time).
Breakfast too expensive compared to variety. In our room the automatic minibar was not working, intervention lasted for two days. Plus: garage (25 €/day), tramway stop before the door, free wifi.
Minus: no Belgian nor German or French TV channels (on behalf of some commercial ones).
Room (104) without view, windows cannot be opened. Airco too cold in restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Mr. Ludovic18,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the cleanliness in the hotel and our location. We offer a wide range of international TV channels, including German and French channels. We do not offer Belgian (Vlamish) channels because we offer nearly all the Dutch channels, all these channels are offered free of charge. Room 104 is on the back of the hotel and has a window overlooking the backgardens of the neighbouring houses. We hope that we may welcome you again soon in Hotel Notting Hill. Warm regards, Team Notting Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Although this place is a bit pricey in the high season it is worth it. We had a deluxe with canal view which was large, really stylish, spotlessly clean and remarkably quiet as well as having a nespresso machine. The bathroom was large with separate big shower and bath and well stocked (sans hair conditioner though). It was probably the best nights sleep I have had in a hotel room with really efficient and quiet air con. Staff were helpful if not warm and fuzzy but did everything we needed with a smile never the less. It is only a 10 min. walk along the canal to the Rijksmuseum and the Beer place for those interested. We sat out in the sun and had a surprisingly nice and reasonably priced lunch, we had wine in the well designed lounge (again remarkably reasonable) and were able to get tickets to the Rijksmuseum printed off and put on the bill from reception. Breakfast was the usual with a few extras and has an a la carte menu for those allergic to bain marie food. Great yoghurt and juices though. If going by tram from the station it is about 15 mins on the No. 4 but you are literally dropped off at the door and the tram route runs through Dam Square and all the central places so it is a breeze. As you might suspect, we would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Notice when you book that a 'Souteraine room" means subterranean with a window at pavement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Catherine K,

Thank you very much for a great review on Tripadvisor! We are ver pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us. We feel cleanliness is one the most important aspects in a hotel, therefore it is great to read that this is valued that much. It also pleases us that you experienced our terrace and bar to be of a high standard with reasonable prices. We hope that you will visit Amsterdam again soon and we are looking forward to welcoming you again. Warm regards, Team Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Just spend 1 night, but it's a very lovely place. Hip bar/restaurant London is on the ground floor next to the hotel entrance where the breakfast is served as well (choices of bread could be a big better). Room was very large, clean, with kingsize bed and large bathroom as well. Carparking is also available in nearby closed carpark. And with the tram located across the hotel you are on 'de dam'/city centre in 5-10 minutes.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear TravelPim,

Thank you very much for your positive review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your (short) stay with us. The location is absolutely great for visiting different places in Amsterdam. It is also goodto hear that you enjoyed our bar and restaurant. We are always open to suggestions, so we will also evaluate the choice of bread served during breakfast. We hope that you will visit us again when you are in Amsterdam next time. Warm regards, Team Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed there at the beginning of May for a week with the boyfriend for a romantic week. The hotel is amazing. We booked last minute with a room 'without a view', but we were on the 3rd floor (which, going on other reviews was highly desired) and there was a window. Not an amazing view, but we had one nonetheless. There was a double shower (super cool) lots of towels, slippers, bathrobes and toiletry essentials. Bed was comfy, the tele worked. The wifi was a bit slow but we plugged in the laptop and it worked fine. The electrics are v.swish. To the last detail, the hotel is lovely, clean and worth it.

We didnt have breakfast so cant comment, but we had dinner one night and the food was perfectly alright but didnt blow my mind. There arent fridges in the room but thats not a massive issue.
In terms of getting places, theres a tram stop outside but we walked everywhere and it was about 5mins to the Rikjsmuseum and about half an hour to the Red Light District and the rest of the city.

Overall, if you can spare the money, definitely stay here. Its wonderful, smart, comfortable, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Kate M,

Thank you very much for your great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try to offer the highest quality and best service and we pay great attention to detail and cleanliness. The tram stop just outside the hotel is absolutely a big advantage for people wanting to discover Amsterdam. We hope that we may welcome you again when you visit Amsterdam next time. Warm regards, Team Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We booked this hotel as a couple for a romantic weekend away. As first time travellers to Amsterdam we had no problems finding this hotel just got the number 4 tram from the station.
We were given a basement room which at first I was abit disappointed with (no view at all) but we actually loved it. It felt very cosy and snug which helped with the romance ;-). The room was nice and roomy, fantastic bathroom (loved the big bath!) and we had the worlds comfiest bed!!
The front of house staff were friendly and efficient and gave us a fantastic detailed map were they highlighted the main areas.
We fell in love with Amsterdam and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Fran_from_Leeds,

Thank you very much for your positive review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that your romantic weekend was such a success. The soutterain rooms are absolutely great rooms to stay in. We are especially pleased that you appreciated our service and staff, who are our greatest assets. We hope that you will stay with us again, when you visit Amsterdam next time. Warm regards, Team Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Notting Hill

Address: Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Notting Hill 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam is a boutique design hotel, in which you will feel right at home. The hotel is situated in an attractive and historic building in the heart of the bustling city of Amsterdam. Discover Amsterdam from your doorstep with Leidseplein Square, Rembrandtplein Square and the Museum Quarter right around the corner. The blend of classic elements, modern facilities and historic features make this former governmental building a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. This stylish luxury hotel is the key address for cosmopolitan and international travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Notting Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.