We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Notting Hill in Amsterdam?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Notting Hill

Save Saved
You added Hotel Notting Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Notting Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Notting Hill in Amsterdam?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Don't accept a basement room, You have to take in the local views of this lovely city. The location of the hotel allows you to avoid the hubbub of the main town but still be close enough to enjoy all that the city has to offer.



  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Mr. Trevor C,

Thank you very much for your review. Based on your review I trust that you had a very pleasant stay with us. We all hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    145
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
33
191
20
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel was beautiful, excellent location, we pretty much walked everywhere. The hotel had a really nice modern vibe and the room was stunning. The staff were very kind and went above and beyond for us. There wasn't a great selection with the hot breakfast but I was more than happy to stock up on the pastries. For a little bit of luxury I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Megs1988,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to write such a positive review. We hope that we may welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Team Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very nice, boutique- style hotel in an excellent location. A small but nice bar downstairs does good gin and tonics and bitte ballen (hot crunchy meatballs things with a mustard sauce). Room is a good size with a decent bathroom. Our room unfortunately was blighted by noise from the heating or water system, which meant knockings, minor explosions reverberating all night. I think this was just our room as our travelling companion didn't suffer from this. I think our room was 209. Anyway I'd recommend this place, very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Good location, close to the main markets with a short tram to the centre city. Friendly staff, beautiful rooms. Would return to this hotel........"................................................"........................

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Had a pleasant stay at this hotel.. Very friendly and helpful staff,.. The room 305 needed a little TLC, nothing too bad, just wallpaper repairing, and the bathroom door when opened banged the main door, which someone previous to us had damaged .. Bathroom nice, lighting poor , if your putting make up on and a pet hate of mine is a hair dryer in the bathroom..I have long hair and was stood there for ages...
The mattress and pillows were first class...
I would stay again, breakfast was a little expensive at 23 euros, if can't comment on quality etc, but there are plenty of reasonable coffee shops to choose from .. Tram 4 , can be caught right outside hotel , which takes you straight into the old town....
Overall happy ...!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Retrospective review: Stayed October 2013, in Amsterdam to catch Goldfrapp gig at the Pardiso venue (excellent intimate venue, previously a church, tip: get there early if you prefer sitting as there are limited seats upstairs).

The marathon was on so trams were not running and it took us a good 25-30 minutes to trundle our cases to the hotel. In hindsight there is an undergound station near the hotel that would make that journey much easier if you are pushed for time, but it was a nice day, crisp autumnal sunshine, and we stopped en route for lunch.

We had one of the attic rooms which did not have a window, well it had a small skylight, but this was not a problem and was compensated by having a lot of space in the room that we had. Very comfortable bed, which is a matter of personal taste, soft > hard, I'm at the hard non-springy end of the spectrum. Room was clean, large bathroom with a good shower. Nespresso machine in the room with 4 or 6 pods.

Breakfast was excellent, not too large a scale, but a good range of hot and cold items, very good quality in my opinion. Fresh tea and/or coffee is ordered and brought to the table and was also very good. A nice small breakfast space with lots of light, we never found it too busy (stayed Sunday night to check out Wednesday).

Staff were polite, friendly and very helpful, which always makes a big difference to the experience.

We loved the walk from the hotel along Utrechstrasse, my favourite Amsterdam street, and also exploring the small independent shops of the Jordaan area, 15-20 minutes walk. It was easy to get to Museumplein or Paradiso along a main road that ran not far from the hotel, 15-20 minutes walk (or you can thread and zig-zag your way along the 'Grachts' that run by the canals). You can pick up Trams to Amsterdam Centraal and elsewhere just a short walk from the hotel.

Really enjoyed our gig (and a visit to the Art Deco cinema Tuschinski) and our stay, crisp Autumnal sunshine with a few bok biers and coffees at quaint outdoor locations by the canals framed by the majesty of old Amsterdam architecture.

Would definitely stay again, we did not really get the chance to fully explore the de Pijp area where the hotel is situated but tended to walk back to the Museumplein/Jordaan areas.

Room Tip: The Attic rooms are a bit less expensive and are fine, but depends how you use a hotel room. I tend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

A weekend break here was just perfect with the hotel itself being everything you could reasonably expect from a boutique type establishment and being located just far enough out of town to be surrounded by cheaper restaurants. The hotel is at one of the tram stops and it's possible to get there direct from Central Station if you arrive by train from Schipol airport. Catch the number 4 tram heading south and tell the ticket guy on board that you want the Notting Hill Hotel stop by the Nederland Bank offices. It's about 6 Euro for two from the station to the hotel compared to 15-20 Euro in a taxi and just as quick. The area has loads of cheap, small restaurants of every nationality you could think of nearby so there's no need to eat in the hotel although it looked lovely, with a reasonably priced bar too. The deluxe rooms are just perfect with free wifi, iron, free nespresso machine, bottled water and dressing gowns etc. The staff couldn't do enough for us and I'd certainly recommend it as somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
Stadsdeel Zuid
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#37 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Romantic, Quiet...
Show More
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#29 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Charming, Roman...
Show More
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#48 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charming, Roman...
Show More
Red Light District
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#14 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
City Center, Fr...
Show More
Rembrandtplein
The Albus
The Albus
#63 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Boutique, City...
Show More
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Notting Hill

Address: Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Notting Hill 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam is a boutique design hotel, in which you will feel right at home. The hotel is situated in an attractive and historic building in the heart of the bustling city of Amsterdam. Discover Amsterdam from your doorstep with Leidseplein Square, Rembrandtplein Square and the Museum Quarter right around the corner. The blend of classic elements, modern facilities and historic features make this former governmental building a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. This stylish luxury hotel is the key address for cosmopolitan and international travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Hotel Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Notting Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.