We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check in too long, room without a view not even a window.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Notting Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Notting Hill to your Saves list
Hotel Notting Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Check in too long, room without a view not even a window.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice boutique hotel with lots of charm, the only complaints that I have is that we arrived approximately 10.00am after finishing a river cruise. We were told that our room was not ready, which we thoroughly understood we were told it would be ready around 2.00pm which was fine with us as we wanted to explore, we left our bags went out for a few hours got back at around 2 only to sit in the lobby until 4.20pm for our room to be ready. Also our room was on the 4 floor without any windows, I believe we should have been asked if this was ok. We didn't say anything at the time as it might have been another couple of hours for another room to be ready.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    153
    37
    11
    5
See reviews for
40
215
20
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We chose this hotel down to location and reviews and were glad we did! Tram stop right outside so getting around the city is very easy - if you can read an underground map you will be fine - this is even a little easier.
Within walking distance of the Heineken experience and the boat tour stops, the large market which sells clothes/food etc is three mins walk away.
Our first room was on the lower ground floor and next to the service entrance - after a couple of nights we asked to be moved as we were disturbed several times by banging doors and bottles rattling, the room was large and comfortable but the noise outside was spoiling our stay - we were moved straight away without any fuss and the lovely English receptionist was so so helpful our next room was on the first floor facing the road but was fine and just as nice, comfy and clean. The bar is great for cocktails ( even though they are a little pricey) and the hotel lobby has the internet for skyping home if you need to. We did not get to eat at the hotel but the restaurant always looked busy. Overall our stay here was lovely and we would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed 4 nights on business, and loved it to bits. Stylish, intimate, friendly, helpful. If I had to be picky the breakfast wasn't included (and of course wasn't cheap) and there was a little street noise from the two gigantic windows in my lovely room, but I don't care - I'll stay here next time I'm in AMS for sure :) My parents visited me and stayed in a basement-level room that was just as nice. It's extremely convenient to my office and not at all far from a street filled with great restaurants, and the Rijksmuseum/fashion district in the other direction.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great room, very clean with a nice big bathroom. Very good value for money in an expensive city. Fantastic staff. A bit of a walk to the main hub but still central. Restaurant food was good too as we got stuck with the weather. The only improvement could be with keeping all the tables clean when it was quite in the restaurant.
Highly recommend and I will come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed just one night in the Notting Hill Hotel and really enjoyed it for the following reasons :

Decor : the lobby, bar and rooms are very nicely designed : cool color scheme, lighting, music...

Comfort : the beds are very comfortable and the rooms are quiet (just a little street noise, but no noise from other rooms). The bathrooms are spacious and chic (one drawback in our room 307 : the bathroom is not completely closed off from the room which means no privacy!)

Staff : everyone we met was extremely pleasant and helpful from the receptionist to the barman, everyone made us feel very welcome.

Location: perfect. Tramway right outside. 5 minutes walk from a very nice shopping/dining street. Very close to the museum district.

I'm so glad I chose the Notting Hill Hotel and will definitely stay there again when visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: High-floor room, canal or back side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Askola, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel five nights. Hotel was great, and staff too. Only minus points I have to give. One for the breakfast, where wasnt any fresh vegetables. Another minus comes for the free-wifi, it doesnt work during 10pm to 6am.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived at this hotel we were impressed. Immaculately maintained, very friendly staff and a quiet, slightly out of the way location.

The room was very spacious with an extremely comfortable bed and we could hear no noise from any neighbours. The bar upstairs is a little pricey but a nice atmosphere to wind down after a day of exploring Amsterdam. We didn't try the restaurant so I can't comment on that.

Location is quite good, it's a little bit further out from the centre but it's still a comfortable walk, or there is a tram stop right at the front door if you are feeling a little lazy at times. Restaurants nearby include a very nice Italian place and if you've been travelling for a while there is a laundromat across the road.

I imagine there are a lot of good hotels in Amsterdam but I'll be staying here again if I ever return there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Notting Hill

Address: Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Notting Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam is a boutique design hotel, in which you will feel right at home. The hotel is situated in an attractive and historic building in the heart of the bustling city of Amsterdam. Discover Amsterdam from your doorstep with Leidseplein Square, Rembrandtplein Square and the Museum Quarter right around the corner. The blend of classic elements, modern facilities and historic features make this former governmental building a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. This stylish luxury hotel is the key address for cosmopolitan and international travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Notting Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.