We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Notting Hill

Save Saved
You added Hotel Notting Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Notting Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Just came back from a 5 night stay at the Notting Hill and would recommend it highly. It is situated close to the Heineken Experience and various museums but is in a quiet location away from all the noisy action. There are various trams available to the centre right across the street and you can take a 5-minute walk to a street with several restaurants and cafes for breakfast and dinner. There is also a supermarket close buy which is useful for getting water and fruit or snacks.
If you are a light sleeper get a canal view room on a higher floor as we were in a deluxe room on the 2nd floor and could hear the trams in the evening once the TV was off. It was not a problem for us as we were tired after a long days of sightseeing and it did not disturb us. The rooms are great with great amenities such as bathrobes and slippers and of course the nespresso machine and tea-making facilities are very welcome after a cold stroll through the city. The staff was very friendly and helpful as we had to stay an extra night and although the hotel was quite full they were able to give us the same room at the same rate. I celebrated a birthday during my stay and was pleasantly surprised when I came back to my room to find a gift and complimentary drink vouchers for the bar. These were great little touches that made our stay very enjoyable. I recommend a city tour and canal boat tour and check out the company Tours & Tickets because they offer several discounts if you buy more than one tour. If you have time, I highly recommend a tour outside Amsterdam where you go and see quaint little villages with windmills, clogs and cheese! If you plan on taking trams more than walking buy the 24 or 48 hour tickets which are worth the price.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    146
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
34
191
20
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night and all I can say is WOW.

Beautiful reception with attentive staff. We arrived early and was allowed to store luggage until later. When we arrived back the luggage was in the room waiting for us.

The bed was so comfortable, the room very nicely decorated and the bathroom was to die for. A huge walk in shower!

We didn't eat there, but had a lovely coffee the next day.

We will be back when we are in Amsterdam again

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear John,

thank you for your great compliments! We are very happy you enjoyed our hotel. We are looking forward welcoming you again in our hotel!

Warm Regards,

Team Notting Hill Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

It's a classy hotel, wich I recommend. Although it may seem a bit far from the central attractions, at first sight, I assure you it's not. Dam Square for example is accessible by foot, but a faster way to get there is getting on the trams that stop in front, or at the corner of the hotel. We didn't have breakfast included but we certainly enjoyed the hotel's brassierie. And for me, a good internet connection is always welcomed, so the hotel gets 5 stars at this chapter also. The beds are very comfortable, and we miss them already!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Olivia,

thank you for the 5 stars and we miss you too :).

Indeed we are in a great location and everything is in walking distance. We are very happy you enjoyed our free internet and our Brasserie Londen.

All the best in Romania and let us know when you are coming back.

Warm Regards,
Team Notting Hill Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great hotel with great service. Check-in and check-out was a breeze! Very comfy beds and very clean! Nothing to complain about. Great stay from start to finish : - )

Would definitely return when back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very clean room , excellent bed and shower. Unfortunately no gym! Breakfast excellent, although it did not start until 7 am which was too late for me on one day. However, location of hotel is very good, close to Utrechtsestraat where Holland's best espresso bar of 2011 (de koffiesalon) is located. Rental bikes are of high quality, but not cheap at € 15 a day.Overall very happy with hotel, given Amsterdam's problems with price / quality ratio. Only lack of gym or gym arrangement a pity.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Booked this after reading other T/A reviews. Delighted with this hotel and really good value for money. Its a little bit out of the centre but there is a tram directly outside that connects you to everywhere.
The standard of this hotel is exceptional and the staff are all very helpful, polite and all English speaking.
The hotel is impecably clean and there are a lot a small additions that you notice that you wouldnt expect
Really good stay and would definately stay here again although I do prefer Brugge to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Notting Hill

Address: Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Notting Hill 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam is a boutique design hotel, in which you will feel right at home. The hotel is situated in an attractive and historic building in the heart of the bustling city of Amsterdam. Discover Amsterdam from your doorstep with Leidseplein Square, Rembrandtplein Square and the Museum Quarter right around the corner. The blend of classic elements, modern facilities and historic features make this former governmental building a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. This stylish luxury hotel is the key address for cosmopolitan and international travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Hotel Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Notting Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.