We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for a relaxing vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Notting Hill

Save Saved
You added Hotel Notting Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Notting Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good stay for a relaxing vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

It's a classy hotel, wich I recommend. Although it may seem a bit far from the central attractions, at first sight, I assure you it's not. Dam Square for example is accessible by foot, but a faster way to get there is getting on the trams that stop in front, or at the corner of the hotel. We didn't have breakfast included but we certainly enjoyed the hotel's brassierie. And for me, a good internet connection is always welcomed, so the hotel gets 5 stars at this chapter also. The beds are very comfortable, and we miss them already!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Olivia,

thank you for the 5 stars and we miss you too :).

Indeed we are in a great location and everything is in walking distance. We are very happy you enjoyed our free internet and our Brasserie Londen.

All the best in Romania and let us know when you are coming back.

Warm Regards,
Team Notting Hill Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    147
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
38
202
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great hotel with great service. Check-in and check-out was a breeze! Very comfy beds and very clean! Nothing to complain about. Great stay from start to finish : - )

Would definitely return when back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very clean room , excellent bed and shower. Unfortunately no gym! Breakfast excellent, although it did not start until 7 am which was too late for me on one day. However, location of hotel is very good, close to Utrechtsestraat where Holland's best espresso bar of 2011 (de koffiesalon) is located. Rental bikes are of high quality, but not cheap at € 15 a day.Overall very happy with hotel, given Amsterdam's problems with price / quality ratio. Only lack of gym or gym arrangement a pity.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Booked this after reading other T/A reviews. Delighted with this hotel and really good value for money. Its a little bit out of the centre but there is a tram directly outside that connects you to everywhere.
The standard of this hotel is exceptional and the staff are all very helpful, polite and all English speaking.
The hotel is impecably clean and there are a lot a small additions that you notice that you wouldnt expect
Really good stay and would definately stay here again although I do prefer Brugge to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was struggling to decide whether to give 4 or 5 stars as the hotel itself is great and there is a lot of things they do "extra" to make your stay special. However in all those "extra" things they may have forgotten to make sure about functionality.
Pros:
Excellent check-in service with advise on where to go etc
Nice breakfast if you are a meat eater
Room was extremely clean with a view to the canal
The hotel is nicely decorated

I could go on with pros about the hotel because it is truly great but a few things I didn't like were:
- poor choice of vegetable for breakfast (as a vegetarian I was stuck with bread and cheese / eggs etc), also there is on option to make coffee on your own - you get the luxurious service form proper coffee machine but that is not something I like as I like my latte strong...
- no place for soap unless you put it at the shelf/mirror above the sink
- the shelf/mirror above the sink is quite low so you can hit your head easily
- the lights / aircon are operated from a modern panel and you need to figure out how to do it while all i want after a day of walking is just to press a button and go to sleep...

Overall if you are looking for a luxury and are not bothered about little things this is a place for you. I would not recommend it for families with children or for long term stays.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed in The Hotel Notting Hill when in Amsterdam for business recently; my wife joined me and we stayed into the weekend. Would definitely return when next in Amsterdam and would definitely recommend the hotel to others
- Good location
- Good rooms
- Good staff
- Reasonable price for what is provided
We did not really do anything other than use the room, but the breakfast was reasonable and the restaurant / bar appeared to be lively enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Notting Hill

Address: Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Notting Hill 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam is a boutique design hotel, in which you will feel right at home. The hotel is situated in an attractive and historic building in the heart of the bustling city of Amsterdam. Discover Amsterdam from your doorstep with Leidseplein Square, Rembrandtplein Square and the Museum Quarter right around the corner. The blend of classic elements, modern facilities and historic features make this former governmental building a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. This stylish luxury hotel is the key address for cosmopolitan and international travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Notting Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.