We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern hotel, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Notting Hill

Save Saved
You added Hotel Notting Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Notting Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely modern hotel, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

A lovely hotel on a very good location. All tram pass so you can go anywhere. Good restaurants nearby, adequate facilities. The price is a bit high, but all hotels are expensive Amsterdan.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    145
    35
    9
    5
See reviews for
37
199
20
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

Staff very nice and helpful. The room was decorated in modern style with free internet there is a quality espresso machine in the room! Room service is available throughout the day and very tasty. Reasonable location pretty close to the area of ​​entertainment and a nice market. We walked everywhere but I'm not sure it's suitable for everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flint
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Very clean,worth the stay very helpfully staff.central for all areas.centre of Amsterdam is 5 minutes on a tram.is within walking distance but not recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback, this is much appreciated. The location is good with the Albert Cuyp and Utrechtsestraat around the corner, but because the tram stops in front of the hotel, it is better taking the tram to go to Dam Square.

We hope to welcome you again in Hotel Notting Hill!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a little out the way from the centre, however you do have a tram stop outside the hotel and it is a lovely walk into the centre. The hotel is in walking distance of lovely small squares where lots of restaurants and pavement cafes are located.

In my opinion the restaurants in this area are far better value for money and are not designed for the tourists like in the main centre of Dam Square.

The hotel itself is how it is listed on the Internet , A lovely boutique hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Excellent hotel. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms were furnished to a very high quality.
Breakfast a bit pricey at €20 pre-paid (normally €22) but the quality was good. Definately one that we intend to return to.

Room Tip: We overlooked the back so was quiet. Can't comment about other room locations as this was our fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I was very sick during my stay last month thanks to a bowl of mussels (not in the hotel but a nearby restaurant) and the staff were so kind, sending warm water and plates of dry toast to my room..... they couldn't have been nicer, and they called me often in my room to make sure I was okay. Way above and beyong great service!! Thanks so much - It hasn't put me off coming to my favorite city, or my favorite hotel!

Room Tip: 126 was great was has everyroom I've stayed in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments on behalf of the team.
We hope that you are feeling better and not ill anymore.
Next time, please ask our staff to recommend you the best restaurants in town :)

Kind regards,
Team Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We live in Amsterdam and decided to have a romantic break and chose this hotel.

We arrived at 8pm and we were informed we had a free upgrade to a deluxe room which we were very happy with. We arrived to our room slightly confused and wondering how small and cramped the other rooms must be if this is a deluxe!

We had dinner in the restaurant which has absolutely no atmosphere and a strange desolate vibe. We decided not to remain downstairs for a drink.

The next morning we requested a late check out. We were told if you check out at 6pm you will be charged, so we asked if we could stay till 3 as we checked in so late and she kindly allowed this.

When we called down to say we will be 30mins later than this the reception proceeded to argue with us for 15 minutes telling us were in no uncertain terms lying and that we had requested to check out at 6 pm and we will be charged! Utter B/S.

Reception snootily advised us if we check out immediately we will not be charged so instead of a nice relaxing afternoon we rushed to check out on time. Once we got downstairs, despite the resolution, the unpleasant lady on duty continued to argue with for another 10 minutes- what a complete waste of time. Never in a million years as a travel and events coordinator have i experienced such a complete lack of service. What a waste of money.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Google Translation
Beste Lucy Dragon,

Hartelijk dank voor uw reactie op tripadvisor. Wij zijn erg blij met reacties omdat we een net geopend hotel zijn en graag willen weten hoe onze gasten hun verblijf ervaren en eventueel kunnen aanpassen waar nodig. Graag willen wij ingaan op hetgeen wat u schrijft.

U orginele boeking was voor een Souterrain Double Kamer. Dit zijn kamers op onze -1 verdieping en zijn iets goedkoper dan onze andere kamers. De kamers op de -1 verdieping zijn inderdaad ruimer dan op de bovenverdiepingen. Wij hebben gekozen om u toch een kamer op een hogere verdieping te geven omdat we ervaren hebben dat de meeste gasten hier blij mee zijn en van meer ramen houden. We hadden dit beter met u kunnen overleggen. Al onze kamers zijn tussen de 22 en 30 m2, wat voor een hotel in Amsterdam ruim is.

Onze Brasserie is ingericht door de Nederlandse Interieurontwerper die ook het Hotel heeft ingericht. Van veel gasten krijgen wij juist veel positieve opmerkingen en vinden het een huiskamergevoel hebben. Wij vinden het erg jammer dat het bij u niet in smaak gevallen is.

Onze inchecktijd start om 15.00 uur s’middags en uitchecken is tot 12.00 mogelijk, dit geldt bij de meeste hotels wereldwijd. Wij zijn een kleiner hotel met weinig kamers, dat houdt in dat alle kamers om 15.00 schoon moeten zijn omdat andere gasten kunnen arriveren die verwachten dat hun kamer schoon is. Wij proberen flexibel te zijn hierin maar dat is helaas niet altijd mogelijk. Wij bieden onze gasten wel altijd aan om na het uit te checken gebruik te maken van onze bagageopslag zodat u nog Amsterdam in kunt gaan en later uw bagage kunt ophalen.

Wij vinden het erg jammer dat uw ervaring met ons Hotel niet helemaal goed was en wij hebben uw review in ons team overlegd.

Hartelijk dank dat u tijd heeft genomen om uw ervaring te delen en wij wensen u het allerbeste!

Team Hotel Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Notting Hill

Address: Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Notting Hill 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam is a boutique design hotel, in which you will feel right at home. The hotel is situated in an attractive and historic building in the heart of the bustling city of Amsterdam. Discover Amsterdam from your doorstep with Leidseplein Square, Rembrandtplein Square and the Museum Quarter right around the corner. The blend of classic elements, modern facilities and historic features make this former governmental building a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. This stylish luxury hotel is the key address for cosmopolitan and international travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Notting Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.