We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a lovely part of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Notting Hill

Save Saved
You added Hotel Notting Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Notting Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a lovely part of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This a wonderful boutique hotel in a quieter part of Amsterdam. Perfect for the seasoned Amsterdam visitor who has little interest in the center (e.g., red light district) but more interested in being near the museums and the galleries and restaurants along the grachtengordel. The hotel itself is simply lovely, especially with the gracious front desk staff (very friendly and helpful). My room was a single and rather small, but comfortable and very clean. This is one of those design hotels that could have focused on design being more functional (by providing more hooks/shelves etc), but definitely nice overall. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    149
    36
    10
    5
See reviews for
40
207
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed at the Hotel Notting Hill for seven days. It's only been open a short time and they're still working out some of the kinks but overall it was good value for the money. Well designed, state of the art, clean and reasonably priced. With the exception of the buffet breakfast. At 21.5 Euros, a bit extreme. Service was prompt and attentive. I wasn't pleased with the original room assignment and they worked patiently, showing me five other options until we found something suitable. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and i stayed here one night while he attended a congress. The hotel is in a good location (right next to a tram stop) and only takes a 10 to 15 tram ride from centraal station and less than a 5 min walk to the cannals (keizersgracht etc).
We stayed in a delux double (room 118) and we found it to be a very good size with a big bathroom. We had a very nice view and were not bothered by any outside noise. The room was simply, but beautifuly furnished. The bath room was great and the shower was amazing. I felt that the price was very good for the room.
There are a few things that were not perfect. You have to use your key to use the lifts (by placing it on a black disc next to the lift doors) Even if the lift was on the ground floor the doors wouldnt open, So you are left by the lift repeatedly touching your key to the disc, not knowing if it was working. There was no mini bar, only a small vending machine. I usually don't purchace things from the mini bar because it is too expensive, but it is nice to have a fridge to store your own water.
The bathroom light comes on automatically when you enter . Since the bathroom door is glass, I was woken up at night when my husband went to the toilet. When I was having a shower the light went off (after about 4 to 5 mins), and didn't come back on again until I got out. Not a huge problem, but something to be aware of :)
All is all we had a lovely stay at Notting Hill, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stay there on the 12th July for one night - paid the hotel cash in full but had to give my debit card to hold a secure deposit for additionals - I have since found out that the hotel is still holding this deposit against my card and it is over 8 days now. I have phoned 3 days in a row and have had no joy in getting my money back. Maybe they need it more than me! Totally unacceptable and a great disappointment !

Room Tip: Room a strange shape but pretty views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Mr van Heusden,

thank you for your review. This is very helpful to us.

We are sorry for the inconvenience. At check we always ask a credit card to make an authorisation as a deposit for any additionals, this is not a payment. It is also possible to do this in cash. At check out we always cancel this directly in our system. This procedure is what almost every hotel around the world does. Can you contact the hotel if the situation is solved?

Thank you again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you again in our hotel!

Kind Regards,
Team Hotel Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

My partner and I have just returned from 3 cold wet and windy days in Amsterdam where we stayed at the Hotel Notting Hill.
With the Hotel Notting Hill it seems that it’s all about the look and not about the function.
The building looks good as does the interior as one enters reception and the common areas looks fine with a decent choice of colours.
There is only one elevator and it is rather slow and the floor numbers shown do not correspond to the floors one is wanting. We were on the 3rd floor and the number on the panel in the lift showed floor 4, but that was not a major problem just odd.
Then one gets to the room itself and this is where our dislike and the feeling that look is more important than the function comes into play.
We had booked a “Twin Deluxe Room” and if this was “deluxe” I am so glad we had not chosen a standard room. Our room was number 314 and I think was on the top floor of the building with a small window overlooking the street. The window could not be opened therefor one had to reply upon the air conditioning for any air in the room.
Even though the window would not open, was double glazed and on the 3rd floor (well we think it was but with the lift numbering being off I cannot be certain) it is quite noisy with the trams running on the street in front of the building, but this is quite a common problem with Amsterdam.
The room was long and very very narrow with barely room to swing the proverbial cat!! There are many things one could say about the room itself but it was it’s size which triggered the dislike. There was a wardrobe (taking up half of the room width) with shelving on one side and hanging space on the other. Well, with 2 bathrobes taking up most of the hanging space and an ironing board and iron taking up most of the rest there really was no room to hang ones clothes.
What really got to us was the bathroom, and this is really a case of the designer just not thinking about how many of the fittings could (or rather could not) be used without aggravation. Let’s start with the floor to ceiling glass door. Now, no matter how long one has been with one’s partner it is very embarrassing not to be able to use the toilet whilst sitting and doing what nature requires (and which rhymes with sitting). Then one needs to use the hand basin, well I have not used a hand basin before where you have to screw or unscrew the piece of the sink that allows the water to drain or prevent it doing so, how stupid is that!!!! There is nowhere to put the bar of soap provided and the mirror unit over the sink is so badly positioned that you continually bang your head on the shelf surrounding the mirror.
When taking a shower there is only a very small (totally inadequate) tray on which to put shower gels / shampoo’s soaps etc etc. Now whether one uses the large overhead shower head rose or the hand held option water floods under the door of the shower into the bathroom and into the room itself, requiring one to stack towels on the floor to avoid slipping and doing physical damage!!!
The only plus factors for us were (a) good free in room Wi-Fi internet and (b) the Nespresso coffee machine.
We really would not recommend this Hotel to visitors to Amsterdam, there must be better for the price and whilst it may not look as good it will function better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Judging by the size of the hotel bar (small) and the fact that the bathroom door is transparent this hotel seems to be aiming more for the lone business traveller and couples rather than families/friends on holiday.

When we first checked in at about 1700 we were taken to a room in the basement. To the hotel staff member's embarrassment the room was clearly occupied (bag and clothes on chair, bed unmade). She ushered us back to the reception and she confirmed that according to the computer the room was vacant and clean. The only other room available was on the second floor - and we were relieved. The basement room looked dark and gloomy and smelled of stale cigarette smoke. The second floor room was bright, clean, comfortable, free WiFi- everything you could ask for!

The service at the front desk is efficient and business like. The bar and 'behind the scene' staff were more friendly and more chatty.

The minibar is a vending machine rather than a fridge - with a Mars chocolate bar setting you back £2.50!! No water is provided either but you do get a Nespresso machine with a choice of three coffee pods. English tea drinkers may wish to bring their own tea bags. The closest my husband got to a 'real cuppa' was Earl Grey and that was only on day 1. Day 2 -5 was nothing but fruit tea and green tea.

We didn't eat at the hotel, so can't comment on the food.

Location wise, it couldn't be better. Tram 4 and 25 stop outside the hotel and go all the way to Centraal Station (10-15 mins max), the metro station is a short walk away. The hotel is very close to the Albert Cyupmarkt. A wonderful place to shop, eat and people watch.

Room Tip: Second floor, canal facing. Avoid basement rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We arrived at the Notting Hill and enjoyed our check in experience. We went to our room to find out that while all rooms are non smoking, it smelled like smoke. Given that my fiance is asthmatic, we asked for another room. At first they were unsure if they could accomodate us, but found that they had a cancellation and brought us to another room. We enjoyed the room as it was comfortable, dark and quiet. The bathroom had a very unfortunate feature - all of the water from the shower wouldn't drain into the floor, but instead out to the carpet! I would suspect that they really need to address this as soon as possible! We had drinks at the bar downstair with a somewhat cranky bar tender - but overall everyone was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Notting Hill

Address: Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Notting Hill 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam is a boutique design hotel, in which you will feel right at home. The hotel is situated in an attractive and historic building in the heart of the bustling city of Amsterdam. Discover Amsterdam from your doorstep with Leidseplein Square, Rembrandtplein Square and the Museum Quarter right around the corner. The blend of classic elements, modern facilities and historic features make this former governmental building a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. This stylish luxury hotel is the key address for cosmopolitan and international travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Notting Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.