We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully Relaxing, Well Recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast

Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Brouwersgracht 8, 1013GW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Relaxing, Well Recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hi there, have just stayed at this B&B and what a relief. Riks was a wonderful host, who was flexible with a very late check in, help with bags up those stairs ( which are not so bad by Dutch standards !! but would suggest smaller bags!!) My room was nicely spaced and well planned with en suite. I loved the breakfast arrangements, at your own time & what you want & you get to meet other guests as well.
Also location for central Amsterdam & train station is superb.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We've had a wonderful stay at Riks' place!

It can be quite daunting standing at the stairs and looking at the baggage you have to carry up, but once it's done you forget about it. The room is rather on the small side but that didn't matter because we've only used our room to sleep and we could hang out in the Kitchen.

The kitchen, by the way, is amazing. It has the most privileged view of a beautiful canal and sitting next to the window while eating Dutch cheese (Bought at Tromp) is a wonderful experience in itself. Breakfast is served until 12 and you can just help yourself to cheese, jam, eggs, toasts, coffee, tea... Breakfast is the strongest feature of this B&B. My favourite: toasts with chocolate spread and sprinkles.

The Location is excellent as well. 5 minutes away from Amsterdam Centraal and surrounded by nice restaurants, bars and coffee stores.

Were I to go to Amsterdam again, I wouldn't doubt staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This B&B was rented for us by our Dutch family because we wanted something traditionally Dutch and near Central Station. Being aware of the steep stairs common in The Netherlands we were not surprised when we had to carry our luggage up the stairs to our room. The walk from the train was just 5 minutes and even though we arrived very early, Riks, the owner, was very welcoming and allowed us get settled before heading out to tour the city.

The location was perfect for us as we walked everywhere. It is near the Red Light District, The Jordan and Central Station, with restaurants and little shops all around. In fact the first night we were so tired and cold at the end of our day that we didn't feel like going back out for dinner so we walked just one block to a little cheese shop and purchased some typical dutch cheese and meat pastries to take back to the B&B for dinner.

The kitchen with big windows that look out on the canal and a long wooden table is a perfect place to review maps and discuss what is on the agenda while having your breakfast. Riks provides a nice selection of breads, jams, butter and cheese, plus granola and eggs for you to make how you choose. It was also very cozy to grab a cup of tea and relax after a long day in the city. There was a constant supply of tea, coffee and fresh fruit throughout the day. And the fresh flowers made it feel like spring even though it was unseasonably cold.

Our room was ensuite, small by US standards but perfect by Dutch standards, and very clean. The window in our room looked out onto the roof of another building and into the window of another room but the heavy curtains blocked the view at night and kept out the cold as well. There were other people staying at the B&B but we didn't hear anything after closing the door to our room.

As I said before the location was perfect, we loved sitting at the table and in the window seat looking down at the canals. Riks was very nice, available if you needed him but didn't hover around. We were sorry we weren't able to stay longer but it was the Easter week and he was booked up. We would definitely recommend this place providing you are ok with the typical steep and narrow Dutch stairs.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room for 3 right off the kitchen and at the top of the stairs. It was surprisingly qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Riks is the owner of this B&B. There was a bit of mix up with our booking but it was quickly rectified. We hardly saw him during our 3 nights' stay, which is good if you like privacy and doing your own thing.

Breakfast supplies were laid out in the morning and we helped ourselves and made our own eggs, toast etc. There was more than enough to satisfy us.

Our room was comfortable enough, though quite small. The toilet and shower rooms were like closets, but that is to be expected of European rooms! It was just nice to have an ensuite! The windows looked out into the back of surrounding buildings and the window of an adjoining B&B room. Had to keep the curtains closed most of the time for privacy. The mornings were a bit noisy from neighbouring children yelling. The stairs are very steep (typical of Amsterdam) and it was a bit precarious carrying suitcases up and down, but we managed without incident.

There's free wi-fi which was handy to keep in touch with family back home.

The best thing about this B&B is the location. It is a short walk from Central station and with wheely suitcases, this was not a problem. From there, it is within walking distance to most sights and amenities. Nice, safe area. On the same street, several doors down is Frederic Rentabike, where we rented bikes for 10 Euros a day. Very friendly people.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast

Address: Brouwersgracht 8, 1013GW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam-bedandbreakfast is located in a renovated 17th century canalhouse, just 2 minutes walk from central station on the famous Brouwersgracht (chosen as the most beautiful canal of the city). The famous trendy Haarlemmerstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are around the corner. A nice stroll through the centre along it's canals, bring you to all Amsterdams main attractions, such as museums, red light district, "de Jordaan", shopping streets and city parks.The rooms are located at the back of the house, which allows you to have a quiet rest after your city activity. All rooms have a private bathroom with shower and washbasin. A private toilet is available in the room as well. The breakfast is included and can be enjoyed at any time as the kitchen is open all morning. You can prepare your own breakfast since all ingredients are available, such as fresh local bread,coffee, tea, orange juice, cheese, eggs, several marmalades etc. Moreover, the kitchen is located at the front side of the house with a beautiful view on the Brouwers- and singel canal. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.