We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK+ Food, Slow Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Restaurant Stork

Cafe Restaurant Stork
Gedempt Hamerkanaal 201 | Gedempt Hamerkanaal 201, 1021 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6344000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,330 of 2,551 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $11 - $43
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bar restaurant Stork: an excellent fish in a special location in Amsterdam. Stork Cafe Restaurant is located in an old industrial warehouse on the site of The Other Side , the former Stork grounds , on the Northern IJ banks . The warehouse is left intact to a large extent so that the industrial character has been preserved . In the old machine hall is a large zinc bar and an open kitchen built. The immense space has a length of 50 meters many windows overlooking the IJ. The restaurant has over 150 seats and the cafe over 100. In the summer months there is a large south facing terrace , directly on the IJ. Stork Restaurant is a seafood restaurant , a gigantic size the largest in Amsterdam .
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“OK+ Food, Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Pros:
Food pretty good (we got some lobster and oysters, it's hard to mess up when you are paying for this kind of food)

Cons:
1. Hard to get there (from the center you need a fairy and then long walk on Amsterdam Noord, a bad Amsterdam neighbourhood).
2. Service does not exist (we were ignored quite a bit and had to get the waiters more than once, table was not clean, etc.)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    46
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very nice and original restaurant by the water. warehouse turned into a restaurant, it's not fully refurbished so there's a bit roughness in the walls and the construction, makes it quite different from all other restaurants. Nice food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I booked this restaurant prior to holidaying in Amsterdam after reading other positive reviews on Trip Advisor. The Stork website enables you to pre-book a table, which I did. I asked for a table by the window, the restaurant accommodated my request and we had a great table with a scenic view over the river and Amsterdam itself.
Although it was a bit of a trek to get there from the centre of Amsterdam, it was an enjoyable journey catching the free boat from behind Central Station and taking the 10 minute walk on the other side of the river Ij, As tourists we used our phone map app to help us find the restaurant, however it is also signposted once you get close enough.
We enjoyed the 3 course set menu with matching wines, which in total cost 45.50 Euros each,, I thought this was an excellent price and much cheaper than any fish dining experience I have had in the UK.
The staff were helpful and attentive, the setting on the river was superb especially if you time it right to watch the sunset. I hope to be back soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“a surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I went there with a friend during the "Amsterdam restaurants week".
Surprisingly located in an industrial area of Amsterdam North, it has a great view of the modern city development skyline near the Central Station.
We had the selected menu for 27 euros excluded drinks and all the dishes had a special taste and the fish was clearly fresh and delicious.
Even though the restaurant was full we expected a bit more attention from the waiters, we had to remind them that with each dish should have come a different glass of wine (all good choices of wine by the way), but that was the only little problem for an overall great experience!
Go!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Industrial dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I was in Amsterdam on business and needed to take some clients for lunch. Not really knowing the place I asked for their recommendations and they recommended this place. I understand that it's not the easiest place to find as it is tucked in the back on an industrial area but an uninspiring outside by the old wharfs opened up into a vision of post industrial space.

We went on a Thursday lunchtime in January and there was a few people there although I am assured that in the summer it is heaving especially outside. As a new visitor to the city, the novelty of working barges passing by outside the window didn't wear off for the couple of hours we were there.

As this is essentially a seafood restaurant, the food is very good and the fish platter was nicely presented. The service was attentive and whilst I didn't see which wine was ordered, it was a perfectly serviceable white.

Whilst this place isn't going to win any Michelin stars, all was good and I would recommend it especially in the summer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Restaurant Stork also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Restaurant Stork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Restaurant Stork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.