We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Restaurant Stork

Cafe Restaurant Stork
Gedempt Hamerkanaal 201 | Gedempt Hamerkanaal 201, 1021 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6344000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,341 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $11 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Bar restaurant Stork: an excellent fish in a special location in Amsterdam. Stork Cafe Restaurant is located in an old industrial warehouse on the site of The Other Side , the former Stork grounds , on the Northern IJ banks . The warehouse is left intact to a large extent so that the industrial character has been preserved . In the old machine hall is a large zinc bar and an open kitchen built. The immense space has a length of 50 meters many windows overlooking the IJ. The restaurant has over 150 seats and the cafe over 100. In the summer months there is a large south facing terrace , directly on the IJ. Stork Restaurant is a seafood restaurant , a gigantic size the largest in Amsterdam .
Gytheio, Greece
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

If the weather is good, it's a fantastic place to sit outside. You sit at the IJ, the main canal. The food, mainly fish, is OK, although it could be more special, just as the place is. The service is good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    48
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great view, Bad Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Located in an old warehouse/factory in Amsterdam-Noord: so trendy and hip, with a great view over the Amsterdam harbor, opposite the Passengers Terminal for cruise ships, STORK could have been a success. But halas, the flaws in the cuisine and service noted during the opening era of this new restaurant, have not diminished, but gone WORSE. The food is not good, not well prepared and far over prized. So if you go for the view, do so, order a drink and keep the food on hold.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome fresh seafood with matching service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We had an amazing time at Stork (once we found it - which is my biggest but ONLY complaint). Its a little off the beaten track and when I called the restaurant, they weren't able to provide directions, even though as it turned out we were 400M away.

That said, the atmosphere of this former warehouse now restaurant was fantastic, a nice vibe, and very recent decor. We were seated quickly, drinks and bread came immediately, even for my wife who has a Gluten-allergy, nothing was too much trouble.

We had the seafood platter, pricey at 17ish euro per person, but well worth it. Soooo fresh and delicious! The whole baked dorada was to die for and the cheaper bottle of white wine at around 20 euro was emminently drinkable.

The bill for 4 was around 200 Euro so not the cheapest, but for Amsterdam, this was well worth it, service and seafood the best I've had for a long while. Worth the trip and mystery tour to find it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Chaotic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Been here twice now and both times we felt like a particle in the chaos theory. Staff wasn't very organized and as we say in Dutch, before being seated we were sent from 'the little cabinet to the wall' by three different waiters (both times). The setting is nice though, the restaurant being located in an old spacious factory. The menu is a bit disappointing as is the quality of the dishes. But, since our last visit before giving up was about 10 months ago (april 2011), things might have changed for the better so I wouldn't advice against trying it for yourself.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Big venue, cold and impersonal, slow ineffectual service and the biggest seafood disappointment when that is meant to be a speciality.
This is an enormous space that needs to be filled to create any atmosphere.
The seafood wasn't fresh but thawed frozen, fluffy and tasteless.
For a restaurant that prides itself on its seafood I can not remember having such tasteless cod or such over cooked langoustine. I would not recommend it for venue, service or food.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Restaurant Stork also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Restaurant Stork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Restaurant Stork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.