We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to experience the local culture and see The Netherlands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Private Holland Tours

Private Holland Tours
Sape Kuiperplantsoen 4, 2151 BE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 6 21965898
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private Holland Tours is specialized in affordable private guided tours for active singles, couples, families and small groups. I heartily welcome travelers from all countries of the world.My walking tours in Amsterdam often depart from the usual tourist routes, showing you the medieval city. Driving through the countryside I usually take the small scenic roads, thus giving you a better sense of Holland's rural environment.Professionalism, care and fun, plus my friendship are the cornerstones of my tours.Raymond Vandenburg, private driver/guide.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great way to experience the local culture and see The Netherlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a great trip with Ray. He picked us up right at our hotel and navigated all the bikes and the traffic. We went on a tour of the famous tulip fields at Keukenhof. There was no waiting in line as Ray knew exactly where to go and had our passes ready to go. After experiencing Keukenhof, we went and had lunch at a local spot that featured a variety of local Dutch Pannenkoekens and some Dutch Jenever. Following a great lunch we headed for the coast to see the beach and taste some locally caught treats from the waters nearby.

All in all it was a very well thought out and well prepared trip. Our tour guide Ray was fun to travel with. It sure beats trying to figure out directions, deal with lines, and find good local eateries. Made traveling much more fun and much easier.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    11
    0
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Trip to Keukenhof!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My family and I traveled to The Netherlands for two weeks this May. One day, Ray picked us up from our hotel in Amsterdam and drove us to Keukenhof. He told us history and stories the entire trip and was very entertaining. He walked us through the gardens and helped us avoid the crowds. After our trip to the gardens he took us to an authentic Dutch restaurant off the beaten path. If you're looking for an excellent tour guide and a fantastic experience, Ray is the best tour guide for you!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fine trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked a trip with Ray to go through the greenheart and he definitely delivered. He planned a route according to some specific items we wished to see (The Bonte Koe in Leiden), he was on time and was engaging throughout the entire trip.

We did go on a Sunday and Leiden was quite lively. Gouda and Oudewater were still quite much in Church mode and we did visit earlier in the trip. This was nice because we could stroll around without mobs of people around us and Sunday was the only day we could do a full trip but I may wish to visit those towns again during the week to see their livelier side.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burtonsville, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A DELIGHTFUL and UNFORGETTABLE TOUR!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The purpose of this message is to thank Ray Vandenburg of Private Holland Tours for his knowledge, professionalism, dedication and leadership before and during our VIP Tour in Holland. We found Private Holland Tours on the internet and were delighted to see that they were the type of Firm that would customize the one full day we had available in our schedule to experience Amsterdam. We told Ray that we were mainly interested in Windmills, flowers, Van Gogh, Rembrandt and other 17th century Dutch masters to include Jan Vermeer, Frans Hals, Jan Steen etc., as much as he thought possible. The result was the “Absolute Best Experience” that we could ever have imagined. Ray’s itinerary and schedule execution was outstanding. The following is a synopsis of our Private Tour:

Ray met us on time in our hotel lobby and escorted us to his car.
Our first destination was Keukenhof Garden (world's largest flower garden)
Ray drove us through the Dutch countryside, explaining the history of this unique region of Holland while we enjoyed the rolling meadows of beautiful breathtaking flowers.

When we arrived at Keukenhof Gardens Ray was able to expedite our visit and avoid the crowds and lines while leading us on winding paths filled with spectacular flower art sculptures, brooks and shady ponds all lined with millions of blossoming tulips, daffodils, hyacinths and bluebells. He directed us to a special orchid competition exhibit in one of the pavilions where we were able to capture many pictures of this magical floral paradise.

Our next stop was Zaanse Schans. Upon arrival, Ray shared his knowledge of this charming village, known for its 17th- and 18th-century buildings that vividly depict historical Dutch life. We toured the town, cheese factory and enjoyed its famous windmills. Ray had set up an individual demonstration of how wooden clogs are made; we thoroughly enjoyed seeing the clog-making skills of a Dutch shoemaker and learning about woodworking techniques and history from the master shoemaker.

Next it was back to Amsterdam for a private city canal tour and lunch. After being greeted by our Captain, we boarded his private yacht/saloon boat for a City Tour of Amsterdam; a catered lunch delivered to the yacht by waiters dressed in formal attire, straight from a well-known restaurant; unlimited wine and mixed drinks; and a delightful cruise along Amsterdam’s lovely canals, passing the city’s famous gabled houses and historic landmarks, all narrated by Ray and the Captain.

From the yacht Ray drove us to the Rijks and Van Gogh Museums where he introduced us to our private art guide (an accomplished artist and art professor at the university).
While at the Rijks museum, our guide led us through a collection of Golden Age paintings, most importantly those by Dutch and Flemish masters from the 15th to 19th centuries. We especially enjoyed the sharing of his knowledge of art history, animation and insightful interpretation of the various works. Additionally, we were taken by Rembrandt's (Nightwatch) and other 17th century Dutch masters to include Jan Vermeer, Frans Hals and Jan Steen.
Through his interpretation of Vincent van Gogh’s paintings, our guide chronicled Vincent’s journey from Holland to Paris where, under the influence of the Impressionists, he discovered vivid color. From there we learned that he moved to Arles, where he was incredibly productive, often completing a canvas every day. We viewed some of his famous Potato Eaters works, The Bedroom and the recent discovery of a formerly thought to be van Gogh forgery.

Ray returned us to our hotel and kept us on schedule throughout the tour. We highly recommend Ray Vandenburg and Private Holland Tours for any excursion in Amsterdam. Ray is extremely knowledgeable, pleasant, punctual and dedicated to delivering a quality professional tour that maximizes your time and experience. Ray provided a perfectly enjoyable high value solution that met all of our requests and time constraints…. Private Holland Tours was a great choice!

THANK YOU RAY for a DELIGHTFUL and UNFORGETTABLE TOUR!!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayTours, Owner at Private Holland Tours, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear John,
Thank you so much for the wonderful and extended review about your VIP tour. I really appreciate that you took the time to write such a detailed account about your itinerary. It was an honor to arrange your VIP tour. Regards, Ray Vandenburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A laid back journalist turned guide who is knowledgeable and entertaining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

In Ray you get much more than a guide. He more a knowledgeable traveling companion with a keen interest in what you think and like and less the guide who spews out the well digested tour guide fare. For us he was perfect but if you prefer the standard by the book guide who will give you well digested guide book routine these guys may not be for you.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Private Holland Tours also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Private Holland Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Private Holland Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.