We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant for Breakfasts & Coffee or just a quick snack” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prins Heerlijk

Prins Heerlijk
Prins Hendrikkade 57, 1012 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #294 of 2,299 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant for Breakfasts & Coffee or just a quick snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Fabulous little coffee shop, literally 25m from the NZ Barbizon Palace Hotel were I stayed. I ambled across one morning for a coffee before starting my day, and ended up going there every morning. They do a brilliant 'full breakfast' (and I mean full) for just 6 euros. As you can imagine, the staff are very busy rushing around serving everyone, but they are always very pleasant, very polite and multi-lingual. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Also they are very good at suggesting places to go or see. It's open not just for breakfasts, but lunch and dinner too! Opens from 8am to 11pm 7 days a week. A fablulous little gem - and I'd highly recommed it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    28
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great place for copious breakfast to prepare yourself for many hours walk through Amsterdam. The menu is rather limited but the meals especially hot sandwiches are delicious.Great coffee according to my wife.And a special note on the staff-they're great!The atmosphere is cozy and friendly,they even sing while preparing your sandwich! There's also free WiFi inside.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Always cheerful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This place is a few doors down from my house and it is frequented by me on days when I am being visited by a hang over. The sandwiches are good, and somewhat unusually for Amsterdam, they actually use condiments!
My Dad loves this place and always visits when he is her, he says it's becuase he loves the coffee and sandwiches but I think his opinion is also greatly swayed by the friendly, singing, cheefulness of the ladies who work there. Even I have to admit that their constant good mood is pretty infectious!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Good "Dutch" and continental food. We had the specials of Steak with a sauce, fries and salad, and half Chicken, fries and salad - nothing exciting I know - but really good ingredients and well cooked - what more can you want!
Just Euro 55 including a bottle of house wine.
Just off Central Rail Station / Damtrak.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Wandered into this by accident, and came for breakfast every morning after during our stay! Staff were very friendly and we even saw one come back on her off day for breakfast there! They all speak English well and the food was nice! Great taste and great value! I especially enjoyed the Premium Dutch Bouncer which was 3 eggs with ham, tomatoes, mushrooms and cheese on toast - picture attached and you can see for yourself. Worth every penny or cent. Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prins Heerlijk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Prins Heerlijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prins Heerlijk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.