We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could happily live here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InnAmsterdam4u

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
InnAmsterdam4u
Save Saved
You added InnAmsterdam4u to your Saves list
Haarlemmermeerstraat 64 hs., 1058 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Phnom Penh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I could happily live here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is a fantastic bed and breakfast. The room was beautiful and immaculately clean. The bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in, and the kitchen facilities meant that we could save money by cooking simple meals. Wouter and Zu took great care of us and provided everything we needed. They answered all my emails before our visit and took care that our special requests (gluten free bread, a baby bed) were catered for. The extra touches - such as tram cards which we could use and then just pay what we had spent - made our stay that bit easier. They even did our washing up when we left in a hurry one day!

The price is very good for the standard of the accommodation - we were travelling on a budget and could not have got anything else anywhere near as nice for the same price. The location is great; it was 15 minutes by taxi from the airport, a lovely walk through the park to the museum quarter, and a few minutes from the tram stop when we wanted to go to the centre.

I would definitely recommend this B&B. I only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
29
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This place was absolutely lovely. Clean, quiet, and friendly, Wouter and Zu were fantastic hosts. Both rooms that we booked were as shown in photos. The rooms are quite spacious, lighting is good. Everything worked and everything we could have needed was provided in the room. Internet worked well. Floors in various parts of the apartment can be heated up to a temperature you'd like (lovely feature to have in the bathroom especially!), and there are towel heaters as well (we don't have these at home, so it was a nice treat). The bathroom is very large, which is quite nice. Little bottles of shampoo and conditioner, as well as soap and some other basic toiletteries were provided.

We were greeted by Zu, who provided us with maps, gave suggestions for places to eat and to visit, and also provided us with pre-loaded transit cards that meant we could get cheaper bus/tram fares and that allowed us to travel easily around the city. The place is conveniently located by Vondelpark and has some lovely shops (for food and other products) and restaurants within a 10 minute walking-distance radius. It takes about 20-30 minutes to walk to downtown, and the walk is lovely and we looked forward to it each day as it is through Vondelpark. Otherwise, it's about a 3 minute walk to the tram stop and from there about a 10-15 minute ride downtown. They also had bikes available, although we didn't use them as we liked walking so much.

Breakfast was provided every morning and was very tasty and plentiful- sliced meat, cheese, yoghurt, and freshly baked bread, jam, etc. They stock your fridge and then bring the baked goods down and leave them by your door for when you wake up. They also kindly gave each of us a bottle of wine. Tea and coffee are available in the rooms, and there's a microwave, fridge, stove, and kettle. The hosts live just upstairs and are always available to provide any help you might need. They also have a collection of brochures and things about the city for you to pick up, and they provide you with a city map.

Overall, it was a fantastic place to stay. Friendly, inviting hosts, great location, everything you need nearby. We felt that we got a much more authentic experience of Amsterdam staying here, and it was much quieter and more peaceful/relaxing. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I've stayed at some very good (and mediocre) B&B's over the years, but THIS place is by far the best!!

I would like to note, that this B&B was chosen based on the reviews and the cost. My boyfriend and I are students and thus keeping within the budget was key. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with smiling faces and a warm welcome. From there we knew that this trip was going to be special.

About the rooms themselves, it was excellent! We were given the pink/red themed room which was big enough for at least 2 people. It also included a kitchenette with plates, bowls, spoons, cooking ware; everything you needed to cook yourself a decent meal. Wouter and Zu came in every day to clean, fix the beds and stock up on cheese, salami deli meats, orange juices in the fridge. You also receive FRESH bread every morning (which is what I looked forward to every day because the types of breads are usually ever-changing...And it's delicious!!). There are also bicycles that you can rent for 5 Euros per day. Overall, this is serviced like a hotel, but in a B&B setting.

Now the hosts - they're AMAZING!!
To elaborate, they're incredibly helpful, patient and obviously very knowledgeable about the area. They do everything they can to provide a comfortable stay, for example, by either offering to order pizza at 11pm or using their laundry. There are more examples of their hospitality, but I think you guys get the picture. They're awesome hosts who are willing to go above and beyond.

Over the 7 days that we stayed, we became friends and it was as if we were coming home to family after a long day out. I encourage everyone reading this that this place is well worth stay.

On a personal note, I'd like to extend our gratitude and thanks to Wouter and Zu for making our trip to Amsterdam/Holland very memorable. I will fondly look back on this trip and attribute the amazing experience to you both. If it wasn't for your advice we wouldn't have been able to see as many windmills nor would we have been well fed in the mornings. Thank you again and I can't wait for our paths to cross again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Wouter and Zu are very nice. My husband and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon. The location is very easy to get to with public transport and is close to some great places to eat. Our room was wonderful, it was color coordinated with a very comfy bed and a beautiful bathroom. We had a kitchen to fix our breakfast in and the fresh bread delivered in the mornings was great! When we go back to Amsterdam, we'll be looking to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife and I visited Amsterdam in late May 2014 and we went to Brussels for work afterwards. We found InnAmsterdam4U from a travel guide written by a Taiwanese. The owners of the B&B, Wouter and Zu, are very kind. The breakfast was awesome, including excellent fresh breads each morning and eggs, hams, orange juice and others in the refrigerator.

The location is very convenient as the park and museums are in walking distance. In fact, we could reach any attraction points of the Amsterdam city by bike so we rented two bikes for 10 euro a day. As we did use the bikes for the whole day, they only charged us half price so we just paid 5 euro for these two bikes a day.

As I needed to work afterwards, I concerned with laundry service and wrote to Wouter before we came. Wouter replied me quickly and was willing to provide laundry service. We did not need to spend time on laundry but Wouter took care everything for us with a very decent price. We think it just like a hotel service with B&B price. We will definitely return next time. Thank you Wouter and Zu for your hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Wouter and Zu run a top notch B&B. We felt like we were guests in someone's home rather than in a B&B, We stayed for 2 nights before a cruise and 1 night after. For the 2 nights we were in Apartment 1, for the 1 night in Apartment 2. Both are absolutely lovely, but I would recommend Apartment 1 due to its location on the back of the house. It's a bit less noisy. Each apartment has a private bath and a small kitchenette that's fully stocked with a fridge, dishes and utensils.

It was extremely easy to communicate with the hosts prior to our stay. They answered all of my questions almost immediately. With their directions, it was very easy to find the B&B and getting around Amsterdam using the map they provide was no problem at all. We bought our own 48 hr transportation tickets, but another couple that was travelling with us did not and Wouter and Zu provided chipcards for buses and trams allowing for relatively cheap transportation around Amsterdam. They just paid for what they used.

The apartments are in a basement, one flight down. The steps are pretty steep, but Zu carried our suitcases down and up so we didn't have to worry about it. Each morning Wouter goes to a local bakery to get fresh rolls and croissants that are left on a table outside of the room. In the fridge there is a package of cheese, salami, jams, butter, eggs, yogurt, water and juice. The kitchenette is fully stocked so you can cook your eggs and make coffee or tea.

While the location is away from the city center, we found it ideal. It was in a relatively quiet residential neighborhood, away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but close enough to get to the hustle and bustle with a 10-15 minute tram ride. The bus stops a few steps from the front door and there are tram lines to the right or left of the door a few minutes walk away. The B&B is situated near the southwestern end of Vondelpark near Surinameplein. Schiphol is easy to get to/from and it takes about 30 minutes.

When we returned after the cruise, Wouter and Zu invited us to their aparment for coffee, tea and cookies. We felt like longtime friends coming over just to chat about our trip.

I would recommend InnAmsterdam4U very highly and if our travels take us back to Amsterdam, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Apartment 1 is on the back of the house and is a bit quieter than Apartment 2. It is also slightly l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

WOW is the word that comes to mind when trying to describe this place. I have stayed at 5* hotels and they haven't compared to InnAmsterdam4u. Wouter and Zu made us feel so welcomed and they were the friendliest hosts we could have asked for.

We were sent directions of how to get to the apartment from the airport and when we arrived we were warmly welcomed. We were showed to our lovely room and Wouter asked us where we wanted to visit on our trip in Amsterdam and pinpointed everything out on a map for us and gave us recommendations of where to go and when.

The apartment was very stylish, we stayed in Apartment 1 (I think) which had a black and white theme, it was beautiful and the decor was modern and very tasteful. The bathroom was lovely too, great shower and everything was impeccably clean. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, it was so comfortable, we slept really well.

Breakfast was delicious, the fridge was fully stocked with fresh salami and cheese as well as eggs, jam, butter and orange juice. Fresh bread and croissants were delivered to our door daily which was a really nice touch. There's also a coffee machine and a good choice of different teas to choose from.

The apartment is very close to Vondelpark and a tram line which runs directly into the centre. You could easily walk though if it's nice weather, we walked and found it to be very nice to walk through Vondelpark and along the canals.

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay, and we will definitely be coming back here again.

Jaymi & Alex (24th May-27th May)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InnAmsterdam4u? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InnAmsterdam4u

Address: Haarlemmermeerstraat 64 hs., 1058 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We live in Amsterdam, only 10 minutes from the city center by bike or public transport. The famous Vondelpark (central park of Amsterdam) is a few minutes walking distance and you can access the famous just renewed Rijks Museum and Van Gogh Museum from the park. Nearby you will find lots of shops and excellent restaurants the latter around the corner. Both apartments have luxurious bathrooms with shower and toilet. We provide you with free WIFI, LCD-TV, individual floor heating, kitchenette, coffee and tea facilities. Breakfast you will find in your fridge + fresh buns will be placed by your door in the morning for you to enjoy. We provide you with Tram cards and you can rent two folding bicycles. Your hosts are Wouter en Zu. We speak Dutch, English, German, Malaysian and a little French. Welcome to Amsterdam! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InnAmsterdam4u, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.