We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly service, relaxing atmosphere, convenient parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Olijfje

Restaurant Olijfje
Valkenburgerstraat 223D | 1068 GV, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 3304444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #213 of 2,239 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service, relaxing atmosphere, convenient parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We found this restaurant when we had to entertain guests who requested halal/kosher food. We had the tapas, fish and chicken. We are no experts on originality of taste, but we liked it very much.

Parking is very convenient, at the Markenhoven parking garage (access from Anne Frankstraat) with an exit door very near the restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    23
    18
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was the 2nd time we had diner in "Olijfje" and again we were served a good meal and the service was excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best meal I had in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Olijfje was a delight. We stumbled across it as it was close to our restaurant. It was jam packed (with locals) on a Tues and Wed night, so we knew it was good, but had no idea just how good. The tapas menu had a wonderful combination of sea food, meat dishes, vegetarian and dips. The cod croquettes, stuffed peppers and tzatziki were particularly delicious.
The service was quick without being pushy and the atmosphere was cosy and warm.
And after all that the bill was ludicrously low.
Five stars!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Original fusion of spanish and turkish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was offered a large number of tapas/meze, and the vegetarian options were more than satisfying. Very tasty, very unusual, good spanish beer, moderately priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The food beautiful, the owner is good...

i like the starter - fried mushroom.. is tasty and delicious...yummy

if they can provide baby chair i think is much better...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Olijfje also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Olijfje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Olijfje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.