We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and relaxing little refuge.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Savini

Ristorante Savini
Spuistraat 1-D, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
206271282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #228 of 3,031 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
“Enjoyable and relaxing little refuge.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

On the last night of an extended two continent vacation I had an inexplicable urge for Italian food. A quick internet search turned up Ristorante Savini. Fellow dinners had been kind and it was across the street from our hotel, the Crown Plaza in the Central Station section of Amsterdam; It seemed like kismet.

Crossing the busy Spuistraat without incident, another favorable sign, we entered the restaurant on the upper of two levels. The narrow dinning room opens out onto the small side street in back. The lower level has a nicely appointed bar. Attention to detail in the decor was evident and created an inviting effect. The food was prepared with similar care. We started with calamari and radicchio salad. While waiting for our appetizers the waiter brought a lovely little bruschetta amuse-bouche. I followed with spaghetti gamebero and my wife had the mushroom risotto. The shrimp were perfectly cooked and the risotto was rich and creamy (yes, my generous wife allowed me a sample.) we finished our meal with expresso and cappuccino. 2 appetizers, 2 entrées, 2 glass of wine, and 2 coffees €73.

While we had lovely meals throughout our stay in Amsterdam, frankly however, most of the restaurants in the very touristy old town really just don't try very hard.; and who can blame them? The tourist clientele in Amsterdam is transient and will like never return. It was therefore it was a particular delight to find a place that take obvious pride in treating every customer like a valuable guest.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
durham uk
Level Contributor
409 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Good,but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I wish tripadvisor had another star rating of good,as this restaurant isn't very good,but it is a nice place for a bowl of pasta,it;s clean,and the staff are friendly and presentable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunlunlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my evening at Savini”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had this recommended by the receptionist from our hotel felt like a nice traditional Italian enjoyed the ambiance and food the calamari starter was very good and enjoyed my pasta not a massive over facing amount like you normally get wine was good and would recomend on your visit.2 x starters and mains 4 drinks £73 .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great service and wonderful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

After spending a week on a Uniworld Rhine cruise we stayed over in Amsterdam before returning to Canada. The evening before we returned home we went to Savini as it was across the street from our hotel, the Crowne Plaza, so very convenient! Wow, were we ever glad we did. The service was friendly and efficient, the food reasonably priced and very good! Mushroom appetizer and linguini with clams were almost as good as we got in Italy.
Great, intimate spot that we wish was here in Canada!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GKimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ristorante Savini in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

An excellent restaurant, made us feel welcomed, food excellent, intimate atmosphere. Will definitely go to again on my next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Savini also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Ristorante Savini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing