We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and relaxing little refuge.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Savini

Ristorante Savini
Spuistraat 1-D | 1012 SP, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
206271282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #357 of 2,411 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: It's close to the Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam and has dual street entrance.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and relaxing little refuge.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

On the last night of an extended two continent vacation I had an inexplicable urge for Italian food. A quick internet search turned up Ristorante Savini. Fellow dinners had been kind and it was across the street from our hotel, the Crown Plaza in the Central Station section of Amsterdam; It seemed like kismet.

Crossing the busy Spuistraat without incident, another favorable sign, we entered the restaurant on the upper of two levels. The narrow dinning room opens out onto the small side street in back. The lower level has a nicely appointed bar. Attention to detail in the decor was evident and created an inviting effect. The food was prepared with similar care. We started with calamari and radicchio salad. While waiting for our appetizers the waiter brought a lovely little bruschetta amuse-bouche. I followed with spaghetti gamebero and my wife had the mushroom risotto. The shrimp were perfectly cooked and the risotto was rich and creamy (yes, my generous wife allowed me a sample.) we finished our meal with expresso and cappuccino. 2 appetizers, 2 entrées, 2 glass of wine, and 2 coffees €73.

While we had lovely meals throughout our stay in Amsterdam, frankly however, most of the restaurants in the very touristy old town really just don't try very hard.; and who can blame them? The tourist clientele in Amsterdam is transient and will like never return. It was therefore it was a particular delight to find a place that take obvious pride in treating every customer like a valuable guest.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    81
    27
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
durham uk
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Good,but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I wish tripadvisor had another star rating of good,as this restaurant isn't very good,but it is a nice place for a bowl of pasta,it;s clean,and the staff are friendly and presentable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my evening at Savini”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had this recommended by the receptionist from our hotel felt like a nice traditional Italian enjoyed the ambiance and food the calamari starter was very good and enjoyed my pasta not a massive over facing amount like you normally get wine was good and would recomend on your visit.2 x starters and mains 4 drinks £73 .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great service and wonderful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

After spending a week on a Uniworld Rhine cruise we stayed over in Amsterdam before returning to Canada. The evening before we returned home we went to Savini as it was across the street from our hotel, the Crowne Plaza, so very convenient! Wow, were we ever glad we did. The service was friendly and efficient, the food reasonably priced and very good! Mushroom appetizer and linguini with clams were almost as good as we got in Italy.
Great, intimate spot that we wish was here in Canada!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ristorante Savini in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

An excellent restaurant, made us feel welcomed, food excellent, intimate atmosphere. Will definitely go to again on my next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Savini also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Ristorante Savini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Savini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.