We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Express

L'Express
Utrechtsestraat 29 | 1017 VH Amsterdam, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
L'Express is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #224 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Reading
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good meal and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Found this hotel on tripadvisor when looking for somewhere to eat not far from our hotel. Just away from the main area, so we would not have found it otherwise. The food was lovely and the staff friendly. Worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    55
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Mixed up order - Insistent waiter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Visited following positive trip advisor reviews. Lovely ambience, decor etc. Was a Sunday evening and there were 4 of us, only maybe 6-8 other diners when we were seated. We all ordered from the 26 euro fixed price menu and although we all chose different starters we all ordered lamb shank. Starters were all nice and then the main course was presented to us.......which was 4 steaks..........we all looked in amazement and said to the waiter (possibly the owner) .... but we ordered lamb, to which he said .....yes this is lamb......We were astonished that he still insisted that this 'lamb' when it was quite obvious to anyone over 5 years of age it was steak. Anyway he now realised he wasn't going to get this passed us and then said he thought we had all ordered steak and offered to change. Basically we didn't then want thought of this food being wasted and the wait for the real lamb to be cooked. We actually thought in the end he didn't actually have 4 lamb shanks so decided to palm us off with steak. In fairness to him, when we were nearing the end of our mains he presented us with a single real lamb shank, which we felt somewhat awkward with what to do with. We did all sample it and it was nice tasting but very salty. All in all a strange encounter

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and very good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We picked this restaurant as it was one if the better rated ones not far from our hotel. The Camembert starter was good, our steaks were excellent. Creme brûlées would have been nicer freshly prepared but were still good. The lady who served us was great. Let us take our time until dessert and gave us two free generous measures if liqueur as it was Julie's birthday. All in all a very good night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We found this place by accident and were so pleased we did !
There was a good choice on the menu and the service was excellent .
We opted for a 3 course set meal and we were not disappointed . Lovely surroundings great service and delicious food .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“French cuisine in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This small restaurant in Amsterdam is close to Rembrandtplein and it offers a selection of french food.
The food is prepared with attention to details. Service is fast and the quality of the food is high. Price is on the average and the place is very nice.
If you like french food it is a place to visit when you are in Amsterdam.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Express also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to L'Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.