We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally quality fine-dining in the Zuidas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bolenius

Bolenius
George Gershwinlaan 30, 1082 MT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+(31)20 40 444 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: French, Dutch
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Finally quality fine-dining in the Zuidas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is really a hidden gem which I fear more people will find their way to shortly especially after reviews like this. But I really have to compliment the team for such an amazing and surprising dining experience. We were 16 guests and went for the tasting menu. Upon arrival we informed the staff that almost half were vegetarians, one a vegan, one couldn't eat fish but everything was magically arranged without any problems. The staff was also extremely friendly and attentive. But above all the food was amazing and so unique. Our foreign guests also agreed this would be a meal they would never forget. And if Asian guests compliment the service you know it is good! I can highly recommend this restaurant to anybody. Probably my best meal in Amsterdam ever to date and I have had quite a few! Indeed getting close to Michelin star quality although I hope if that happens it will not spoil the good atmosphere or make it too chique. Keep up the good work! We will be back very soon again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    45
    11
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hoorn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Top lunches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Many times enjoyed the great bolenius lunches. Excellent Food, affordable and great services. Michelin star Quality on all fronts. Must do in Amsterdam. Ask for specials from their city garden!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Get your senses surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

After being sitted show started : 7 different amuses where you are being surprised on combinations and taste. You use your hands, palms fingers all are needed and used. Soup with seagrass, shells, fish slightly fried with wonderfull light sauce : very equilibrated in taste, colour and texture. Deer with red(knol) baked in own juice in the skin of salt (what a simple but delightful idea !!) with perfect hunter sauce was extraordinary. Dessert with orange mix of sweets that are not sweet but rather neutraal (and therefore not heavy on stomach) very original and wise.
All dishes are surprise, local Amsterdam ingredients raise association with taste from before yet in a completely different substance. Come there, relax and start culinairy jouney trough new amsterdam cuisine !!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not just dinner...it was a dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was a cool and swanky ambience w/a modern sensibility and style. The food reveal/presentation was very impressive. They start the courses off small and quaint and then build up in portion and grandeur. My entrée was the monkfish and it was prepared amazingly delicious. I highly recommend the wine list as well...very good quality wines for decent prices. Well worth taking customers to.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
2 reviews
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food like no other restaurants. Service is outstanding. We had a 4 course tasting menu plus the cheese menu.

Chefs uses fuzion of lots of vegetables so the food is not heavy and really refined

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Bolenius also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Bolenius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolenius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.