We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best rooftop views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue

Blue
Shopping center Kalvertoren 3rd floor | Singel 457, 1012 WP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 427 3901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #561 of 2,337 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Brasserie, Café, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Blue is the place to be in the centre of Amsterdam for breakfast, lunch, cakes, snacks, coffee, home made lemonades, beer and wine with an amazing view of the city. We hope to welcome you soon!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best rooftop views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Long story short, stumbled on this rooftop bar after visiting the shops below.
First came here a couple of years ago and on a return visit it was one of our must visits.
Staff found us a large table for group and we had bitterballen, fries and beer.
Always a good refuel for exploring Amsterdam and the views here don't disappoint.
Previously had baguettes for lunch and all the food was great and reasonably priced for the location.
Only complaint is queuing for toilets.
ps if you're an elevator fan like our engineer friend is you'll take more photos of that than the view.....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lotte-DV, Eigenaar at Blue, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your positive words. Great to hear that you came back again after visiting us before a while ago. And indeed: the elevator is quite something ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    53
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“SERVICE SLOW.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We went here for a Heineken and a piece of cake.
It's not our first visit to this cafe, Its hidden away inside a shopping centre and barely ever has the second floor open to visitors. Having said that the first floor offers great views.

We seated ourselves down near the elevator entrance and were sat approximately 10 minutes before anyone came to see what we wanted, having said that two groups that arrived after us were served first! The service was slow.

It took the one waiter 10 miuntes to bring two beers and a chocolate milk to the table and my lemon merangue pie arrived 10 minutes after that. I was actually going to tell him not to bother as I'd already finished my drink.

It's quirky and different but it's nothing to rave about, it's cheaper at a local pub/bar and the service will be a lot faster.

Reccommended for those travling and want to see the city from above.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lotte-DV, Eigenaar at Blue, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi guys,
Thanks for your review. I am really sorry I couldn't help you faster that day. Unfortanately my collegue was away for a short while and it became a bit too busy at that moment for me alone. Please visit us another time again and we hope to serve you a lot faster.
All the best,
Gal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boynton beach
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Phenomenal views, good food, good coffee, cold beer, friendly staff and vegetarian options. Whenever we go to Amsterdam, we go to Blue 4 or 5 times!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lotte-DV, Eigenaar at Blue, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you like Blue! Reading reviews like this makes us very happy. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spisska Nova Ves, Slovakia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best toasty cheese so far in Amsterdam ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I sped there an hour with the kids (3,6 years ) . The toasty was very good . The personal is very friendly . View is great . Kids loved it .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lotte-DV, Eigenaar at Blue, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you! Great to hear that your kids like Blue. Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great panoramic view & lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is the best (and the only?) panoramic view of Amsterdam! It's located right near the main shopping street and is very easy and quick to find. It offers a 360degrees view of the city as opposed to the library of the Hilton sky lounge that are farther away and show a skyline view (also worth a visit). The restaurant is quite nice, beautifully decorated with lots of sunlight coming in (perfect selfie time!). I wouldn't go here if you are really hungry, as the service can sometimes take a while and the menu is a bit limited. However, it's perfect for a light lunch of afternoon tea/coffee and cakes. I especially recommend their pumpkin soup and home made ginger ale!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lotte-DV, Eigenaar at Blue, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your review! Great to hear you like our soup and home made gingerale. And feel free to send us your Blue-selfies :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.