We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best toasty cheese so far in Amsterdam ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue

Blue
Shopping center Kalvertoren 3rd floor | Singel 457, 1012 WP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 427 3901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #585 of 2,317 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Brasserie, Café, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Blue is the place to be in the centre of Amsterdam for breakfast, lunch, cakes, snacks, coffee, home made lemonades, beer and wine with an amazing view of the city. We hope to welcome you soon!
Spisska Nova Ves, Slovakia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best toasty cheese so far in Amsterdam ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I sped there an hour with the kids (3,6 years ) . The toasty was very good . The personal is very friendly . View is great . Kids loved it .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lotte-DV, Eigenaar at Blue, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you! Great to hear that your kids like Blue. Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    46
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great panoramic view & lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is the best (and the only?) panoramic view of Amsterdam! It's located right near the main shopping street and is very easy and quick to find. It offers a 360degrees view of the city as opposed to the library of the Hilton sky lounge that are farther away and show a skyline view (also worth a visit). The restaurant is quite nice, beautifully decorated with lots of sunlight coming in (perfect selfie time!). I wouldn't go here if you are really hungry, as the service can sometimes take a while and the menu is a bit limited. However, it's perfect for a light lunch of afternoon tea/coffee and cakes. I especially recommend their pumpkin soup and home made ginger ale!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lotte-DV, Eigenaar at Blue, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your review! Great to hear you like our soup and home made gingerale. And feel free to send us your Blue-selfies :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very easy to get into the habit of having coffee while enjoying a great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I am quite the regular to this place every time I visit Amsterdam. I love the coffee, I love the food and I absolutely love the 360 degree view! Their Baguettes are worth a try, especially the Buffalo mozzarella with tomato, basil and olive oil...
Can't wait to visit this place yet again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lotte-DV, Eigenaar at Blue, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for your positive words. We really hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great landscape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Very good service, REALLY NICE VIEW! We ordered koffie with cheese cake it was very good. There is a second floor, must see.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice view of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

A great place to stop or enjoy the end of the day with a nice view of part of the city and take a small meal or a hot drink! Lounge ambiance!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lotte-DV, Eigenaar at Blue, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for your positive review! Hope to see you back in Blue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;