We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackie O Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Jackie O Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jackie O Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bloemgracht 73, 1069 KG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 304 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A home away from home in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay.

Jackie O's is a true bed and breakfast that is quaint, cozy, comfortable, and quiet. Tucked away on Bloemgracht, a sleepy canal in the heart of the Jordaan, this place was among the best places I've ever stayed in Europe.

Jackie herself was quite welcoming when we arrived and warmly guided us through all of the informative materials waiting for us in the room. Maps, lists of recommended restaurants and bars, things to do, etc. She had forgotten to get us fresh flowers for the table before we arrived and refused to forgive herself, bringing us fresh flowers within hours of our settling in. A bottle of wine was waiting for us in the fridge, and she also had a sweet and friendly dog, Ziggy, who came down to say hello (which was welcomed as our animals were thousands of miles away).

73 Bloemgracht is a small canal house with four apartments. Two belong to residents, one on the third floor was Jackie's private residence, and one on the second floor was the single B+B room. Living there for a few days was a real taste of living as a local in Amsterdam as opposed to a touristy hotel experience.

The room is very spacious with a large queen-sized bed (split mattress, unfortunately), a kitchenette with a little dining table (a true breakfast nook if I've ever seen one), a bathroom, and a cozy chair for reading. The entire north side of the apartment is windows looking down onto the canal with a padded bench seat.

The kitchenette came prepared with a fridge, sink, microwave, dishes, and coffee/espresso machine with little single-serve packets. We opted for the breakfast option our first day. Unlike a more traditional B+B where breakfast is a fully prepared affair, Jackie simply goes to the market and returns with a whole array of local foods to be prepared in the room on your own. This turned out to be a terrific thing. Fresh breads in a basket, ham and local cheeses, yogurt, milk, orange juice, eggs, jams, a big thing of chocolate sprinkles, etc. It was a surprisingly large amount of food and it actually lasted us a few days.

The location of this place is untouchable. Jackie O's is in the heart of the Jordaan, a quaint and upscale neighborhood west of the heart of Amsterdam. Walking to the central station or the red light district, for example, could take about thirty minutes. But as we explored town on bikes, which is by far the best way to explore Amsterdam, everything was mere minutes away. Also the more we explored the more we wanted to explore the Jordaan. The interior of the city (Centrum) is as dense and bustling as any other major city with lots of people and lots of shops and lots of noise. The Jordaan, by comparison, is chock full of little shops and restaurants that were top notch but hidden away. As the majority of the buildings are residences the streets were quieter and zipping around the Jordaan on bikes to find an ice cream parlor or a curio shop was the most fun thing we did. It really felt like true Amsterdam as it is experienced by the locals every day, not the touristy veneer one would find in Centrum.

Quick aside - across the canal and a block or so down is Bike City, a very affordable bike rental place with simple black bikes that were comfortable and very practical. Fifteen Euros a day. If you stay at Jackie O's this is far and away the best way to get around town and the close proximity to the apartment made getting and returning the bikes very simple and convenient.

Well before we left I knew we would be back to Amsterdam (because it such a charming city) and that when we return we will definitely be staying at Jackie O's again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

For once a b&b that has everything you need, where you need it, plenty of space, and what a wonderful spot, with long windows giving a fantastic view of the canal. The location is fantastic, with great places to eat and drink nearby. The kitchenette also means you can eat in if you like, and a good coffee machine is kept well supplied. Hoe never to have to stay elsewhere when I come back.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

In a city of overpriced, less-than accommodations, Jackie O Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful find and a great value. Jackie, the owner, goes out of her way to make her guests feel welcome and comfortable. When my husband arrived in the early morning, Jackie invited us in to her apartment for a rest and let us leave our luggage there while we toured the city. The room wasn't available till later, but the break was welcome since we had just had a long flight. When we returned that afternoon, we found the room pleasing and comfortable. Lots of light from the large windows, comfortable bed, kitchenette with all the needed supplies, and a spotless bathroom. There were many thoughtful touches, such as a bowlful of tasty fruit, a plug converter and some cookies. We stayed three nights and liked the location as well - close to the sights but on a quieter street. Many thanks to Jackie O for making our Amsterdam stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverstone Tasmania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This first floor B and B is well-located overlooking one of the quieter canals and only minutes from the sights of old Amsterdam, as well as some fabulous restaurants. Jackie is upstairs and is delightful, as well as helpful. The apartment is well-appointed with a fridge, Nespresso machine,flowers, fresh fruit etc We would highly recommend having one of Jackie's sumptuous breakfasts. We loved relaxing and watching life go by below us! The best part? We are going back in a few weeks to conclude our European holiday! Can't wait!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at Jackie's for only 3 days in late April and it was fantastic. Jackie e-mailed us shortly after we booked and arranged to meet us upon arrival at the b&b. It was like meeting and old friend, she is so sweet and welcoming.
There is only one room and Jackie lives upstairs so anything you need she is there to help.
There was fresh flowers, cookies, coffee, tea, a fruit bowl with fresh fruit and a bottle of wine in the minifridge. Also if you want you can make some simple meals in the kitchenette as there are pots and a grill, all kinds of cutlery and glasswear, spices, oil and vinegar.
The view of the street and the canal is so amazing and at night its not so busy on this street so there is not really too much noise there.
The location is close to alot of good attractions. Short walk to Ann Frank house, the Housboat museum, Westerkerk and well....shopping,bars and great restaurants.
It really felt like home and I cant wait to go back. I would definitely recommend Jackie's b&b to friends and family. This is a good place for couples or two people to share.
Thanks Jackie and see you soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I celebrated our birthdays with a short break to Amsterdam and we stayed at Jackie O’s B&B.

We had chosen the B&B based on its location, value for money (many others I had looked at were a similar price for a shared bathroom and this has an ensuite) and the homely/boutique style.

Prior to arriving Jackie corresponded via email with us, providing us with detailed directions on how to reach the B&B on our arrival from the airport. I realised the night before we travelled that I had forgotten to print out tickets for a tour I had booked. I emailed these to Jackie with the hope that she could print them – Jackie had the printouts waiting for us when we arrived.

We arrived earlier than check-in and we had planned to leave our bags and to immediately start exploring. However we delayed this by an hour as Jackie kindly offered us a cup of coffee in her apartment (above the B&B). This gave us an opportunity to check our planned itinerary with Jackie and find out a bit more about the B&B and local area. Jackie provided us with a map and helped to mark the key attractions. Jackie was very welcoming and friendly. So too was her adorable dog Ziggy! Jackie kindly gave us keys before we left so that we could access the B&B when we returned later.

The B&B is really lovely. It is much more like an apartment than a B&B. There is a private entrance and an ensuite off the spacious room. The room has an amazing view of the canal. We particularly enjoyed watching the world go by from the comfort of the arm chair and window seat with a fresh cup of coffee.

The bed is huge and super comfy – perfect to rest up after a long day exploring! The shower was nice and hot with plenty of power.

There are lots of little touches that Jackie has added that makes the stay even more comfortable. To name a few there are: magazines and guide books of the city, a list of Jackie’s recommended bars, restaurants, cafes with a brief description and map, CD player and ipod dock, coffee maker, tea, condiments (there are some facilities and equipment to cook a small meal in if you wanted to), luxurious toiletries and helpful essentials such as paracetamols. There was even a plug converter!

The location of the B&B is in the beautiful Jordaan area, overlooking a canal. We easily found it from the station – taking a tram to reach it on arrival and walking to the station in about 15 minutes on the way back. It was a good combination of being quiet enough at night to sleep well but it was still close enough to all the excitement. Dam Square is about a 10 minute walk away. There are plenty of places to eat and drink nearby. We also enjoyed the local market on Saturday – a definite must to stock for goodies for your stay.

We were able to leave our bags at the B&B after check-out and we returned our key when we picked up our luggage.

We had a wonderful stay and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone else. Thank you Jackie.

Room Tip: Book ahead as there is only one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

What a great find! We stayed at Jackie O’s B&B for 3 nights while exploring Amsterdam and found the room to be spacious, comfortable, and relaxing. Jackie O’s B&B overlooks a very beautiful canal in the Jordaan district of Amsterdam, which means you are only a few minutes away from fantastic restaurants and teashops. Getting to Jackie O’s is easy from the Centraal Station; just hop on tram #13 or #17, get off on Westermarkt, and walk another 8 to 10 minutes (probably 5 minutes without luggage), and you are there at her B&B! Her proxmity to a tram station made exploring Amsterdam a breeze.

Jackie and her cute dog Ziggy lives upstairs, and we had our own key and entrance so it still felt very private. At the same time, Jackie was very accessible and helped us with printing out boarding passes, and even treated us to a “oliebollen”, which is a NYE Dutch treat. How thoughtful.

Jackie thought of everything, from the abundance of guide books on Amsterdam to the fresh fruit and water she had placed by our bedside. This was by far the best value we found in Amsterdam. Many of the other B&Bs and hotels were doubled the cost.

Book ahead of time since she only has one room. Her canal view B&B is by far one of my favorite stays in Europe – I felt like I was living like a local.

Room Tip: Book early - there's only 1 room.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jackie O Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackie O Bed & Breakfast

Address: Bloemgracht 73, 1069 KG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jackie O Bed & Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jackie O's B & B consits of only one room for 2 and is located on the first floor (up one stair)of a listed building on the quiet Bloemgracht, the bustling heart of the Jordaan district. The room with a fantastic view of the canal has a separate entrance, a fully equipped kitchenette and a private bathroom. Upon request, the fridge is stocked with all the ingredients for a hearty breakfast and a morning fresh bread and fresh orange juice to put the door. LCD TV, free WiFi and sound system (including I-Pod and I-phone) are available At 5 minutes walking distance you will find the famous Anne Frank House, Wester, the shopping streets of the 9, tram and bus station and supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Jackie O Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackie O Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;