We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Blazer

Brasserie Blazer
Lijnbaansgracht 190, 1016 XA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6209690
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #383 of 2,468 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: French, Coffee Shop, International
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were willing to give this place a chance since the other two restaurants in the area we wanted to try (1st Class and Eetcafe Compaenen) appear to not be there anymore. The menu is limited, which is not necessarily a bad thing, particularly when the available choices are good. My husband had the duck confit and I had the fresh fish of the day: sole. Both were very good, served with a variety of grilled veggies and a potato option: dauphinois or fried. The confit came with dauphinois and I chose fries with the sole. The sole as advertised was fresh, served with a yummy hollandaise sauce. However, the French fries – advertised as fresh – definitely came from a frozen bag. All of this and a nice bottle of Verdejo wine totaled under 50 euros! Reasonable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joost B, Eigenaar at Brasserie Blazer, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Ana,

Thank you for your review and feedback with pictures. We hope you've enjoyed Amsterdam.
Just to be correct, our fries are Belgian and fresh made everyday as you can see on the picture you placed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great coffee, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I'm at Blazer regularly. I always have a good time. During spring and summer, they have a very cozy terras and otherwise it is always fun to walk around the antiquecentre. They have a great menu, perfect for a quick lunch or a good meal. Simple, but delicious food.
I'll be back xoxo

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterda
1 review
“Not good for quick lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Been here three times during lunch (around 13.00) for sandwiches. Twice I had to have the sandwich wrapped to go because it took over 30 minutes to have them made. The last time it took 45 minutes, so I cancelled the order. The place was not full, so how can it take so long to make a sarnie? I've worked in cafes, and I can't imagine taking half an hour to put some protein between two slices of bread. Plus point - they do have good coffees.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kudelstaart, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

What a pleasant surprise was this place! Just had to eat something quick before going to the theater, and this happened to be in the neighborhood. The food was so good! The vegetables are amazing. I had a quiche of pumpkin with salad, my partner delicious meet with very fresh grilled vegetables. Not expensive and the service is really good - the guy is polite but not fake, not too casual, just relaxed and nice. I plan to go more often.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool funky cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

While walking around Amsterdam taking photos it was hard to find a cosy looking cafe which wasn't filled with smoke. I persevered and found a cosy friendly cafe which seems to be filled with the locals. it reminds me of a nice cafe in Melbourne with the funky atmosphere and friendly service. i didn't eat but i'll be back for a meal soon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Blazer also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Blazer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Blazer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.