We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find for a delicious meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Blazer

Brasserie Blazer
Lijnbaansgracht 190, 1016 XA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6209690
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #323 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: French, International, Café
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great little find for a delicious meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stumbled onto this place looking for al-fresco dining during a warm summer evening. There are tons of cafe's in Amsterdam that fit the bill but I didn't want to be crowded out by other tourists. There was good mix of locals and tourists there when I plopped myself down on a table by the canal. I wasn't expecting the food to be as good as it turned out to be. I had the catch of the day which was very delicious and beautifully presented.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A surprising great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I travel quite a bit and always find having a good meal in a tourist town very difficult. There are just so many recommendations in the internet which are very personal and overwhelming at times. Tonight, we happened to walk by this place around dinner time, and we gave it a try. The recommendation from the bar tender (most likely the owner) called for catch of the day, and we also order confit de canard. Both dishes came with very good portion of vegetables (fresh), and the fish was cooked very well, the confit is not salty but cured sufficiently. And they were nicely presented. The servers were all very pleasant and attentive. This little place was completely full with local people by the time we left at 7 pm. Prices are very reasonable, much better than many of the ones around the inner core of Amsterdam which are too touristy, very pushy and greedy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dinning with Wifi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great little resto with locally specialities picked menu. As for me I always search for places with good wifi connection and Blazer in Amsterdam has everything. Great snacking, you can browse Internet on your iPad and to top it off it's located next to an antique shop/market. I was staying in the hood for a weekend and this has become my dinner, I enjoy typically Amsterdam Crockett sandwich and totally delicious goats cheese toast with salad and nuts. The staff is naturally friendly and on the nice day you can sit by the canal and still browse your iPad. The antique market is fantastic, lot of little treasures selled by local residents or you can visit a bit more pricier shops attached to market with the entrance thru this brasserie Blazer. Lovely place, well recommended for family or single guy, girl

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a small bistro with the friendliest bartender and waiter in Amsterdam. Their recommendations for beer and food (amazing broccoli soup) were perfect. We ate there on our first night, and it set the tone for the rest of our visit. It was also a great value. I highly recommend this small pub near Leidenplein.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Basic food but good salads”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stopped by here for lunch. We got the club sandwich and the warm goat cheese salad. The club sandwich was very basic as it was placed on two white toasted breads with some egg, bacon and tomatoes in the middle. The salad was very good with a ton of warm goat cheese. Although, the salad was the highest priced item on the menu, guess they have to cover the cost of the goat cheese. You can certainly shop for antiques from your seat as the inside of the place opens up to antique market.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Blazer also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Blazer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Blazer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.