We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Coffeeshop in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Tweede Kamer Coffeeshop

De Tweede Kamer Coffeeshop
Heisteeg 6, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
20 4222236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 167 Nightlife in Amsterdam
Type: Coffeehouses, Clubs
Attraction details
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Best Coffeeshop in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

One thing you need to avoid when trying to find a nice spot to relax is the omnipresent tourist-trap kind of coffeeshop. Although most of the coffeeshops have "branched out" into "franchisings", some stay true to their origin, as is the case with the cosy little Tweede Kamer. The weed is of the highest quality, and so is the space cake. You will feel like you're at an art or music school cafeteria, while 60's/70's rock and reggae burst out of the speakers, but not so loud as to block conversation. The best Coffeeshop I've been to.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    2
    0
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great little coffeeshop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great selection, professional and friendly staff, small, cozy place with great music and atmosphere! Away from all the buzz of the tourists but easy to find!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yomitan-son, Japan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Never disappointed, always relaxed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Was introduced to this CS by a close Dutch friend back in the early 90's and have been a repeat customer ever since. Small place with tasteful wooden decor, there are chess and backgammon sets for quiet contemplative chill out sessions with close friends. The staff are never surly or snarky and always friendly and helpful. I never go anywhere else when I blow thru A'dam! Just remember to take your hat/cap off before you enter the shop! No longer associated with Dampkring, thank god!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tweede Kamer - authentic, friendly and charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Spent a lovely afternoon here... full of locals playing chess, a very chilled out place to let you hair down

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Relaxing experience, great product and NO BROS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Most of the bigger coffeeshops we peeked into were full of roving gangs of college aged morons being bigmouthed idiots. Our AirBnB hostess lived across from De Tweede Kamer and told us to try it, so we did. And we went back again, and again, and again, and after dinner, and we loved it.

It is very small, so if you want to chill you may need to wait a little bit to get a seat, but if not you are right next to a lovely canal and can wait it out while watching the canal boats.

The quality of their stuff and the vastness of their menu was terrific, we got lucky that we went to the best place in Amsterdam that's a, not exactly secret, but more bespoke coffeshop with a more relaxed crowd, completely devoid of annoying party dudes.

The staff was very patient and friendly to tourists (even thought there weren't many besides us) and they make a good cappuccino as well.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Tweede Kamer Coffeeshop also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Tweede Kamer Coffeeshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Tweede Kamer Coffeeshop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.