We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time eating Ethiopian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azmarino

Ranked #647 of 2,322 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Description: Specialising in East African cuisine, Restaurant Azmarino is set in the Pijp district of Amsterdam, near to Sarphatipark and the famous Albert Cuyp market. Dishes at this Amsterdam restaurant are based largely on Ethiopian and Eritrean cuisine, with meat dishes of differing strengths of flavour featuring heavily. All are served with vegetables and 'enjera', a typical sourdough pancake. Here, you also eat the traditional way - with only your hands. Also typical of East Africa is the beer, served in a gourd. Arguably one of the more unusual restaurants in Amsterdam, Restaurant Azmarino offers a little taste of Africa in the heart of the city.
Co Durham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“First time eating Ethiopian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Azmarino, the service, food and welcome was really good. We decided to have the chefs choice which was great value. In particular we both enjoyed the meat dishes more than the vegetarian ones. The 'enjera' pancakes were great and made eating with our hands an interesting experience. The food was certainly original and the chef was happy to talk us through the dishes as the restaurant was quiet. We washed down our meal with the coconut and banana beers, delightful. Would we return? Yes! Though next time we'd be selective of the dishes we really enjoyed the most.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great staff, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Yes, Azmarino isn't a loud and crowded place, but that I liked the most there.
The staff was complaintless friendly and smiling and arranged us a nice mixed plate of the best food.
It was my first time drinking beer out of a coconut and eating with my fingers and it has been one of my best experiences so far.
Can't recommend this place highly enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong, this is a Top Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Once a friend wanted to suggest me his favorite African restaurant in Amsterdam. When I mentioned my favorite African restaurant (next to where I live) it turned out that we were both talking about the same one, namely Azmarino in the multi-cultural district 'de Pijp', yet far away from all the hassle.
You can choose any selection you prefer..you cannot go wrong, both vegetarian and meat dishes offer a great combination of food: stuffed beef, lamb, chicken, chickpeas, pumpkin, spinach, etc. are all finely chopped and spiced the African way.
Recently renewed, this place offers a unique style: me and my girlfriend are regular guests, we just love it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A friend said we should try Azmarino Restaurant when in Amsterdam. We had a nice experience and lovely tasty food, plenty of spice and I would encourage people to be adventuras and give it a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

After reading other reviews, I thought this was an excellent restaurant. But when we came, the place was completely empty, no music. The waiter was friendly but the food..hm…it was just ok, not great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azmarino also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Azmarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azmarino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.