We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House)

Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House)
Jodenbreestraat 4-6, 1011 NK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Plantage & the East)
+31 20 520 0400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$67*
and up
Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking...
Ranked #17 of 405 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rembrandt lived and worked from 1639 to 1658 in this 17th-century house, which today is a museum that pays tribute to the artist's life and career.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Enjoyed the history of Rembrandt as well as the way people lived in his time. I have been twice and neither time was there a line to get in.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Herts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Full of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We loved it in here. To actually be in his house (with a very good almost original interior) and to climb the narrow stairs was wonderful. A great insight. In the roof we also had our own go at etching, which was the perfect end to a good visit. Great value.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mediamagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“So nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

A real old Amsterdams house, with beautiful old Dutch furnisher. You can imagine how the great painter lived.
We liked Rembrandts bed, so small!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Murjoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Definitely a place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Whether you liked Rembrandt or not, this house is certainly worth a visit as it is well kept and is a testimony of the time when Rembrandt lived there with his family. It is also interesting to read about all the drama in the life of this artist.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

When we visited they were offering a workship to learn how to do etching and printing. We really enjoyed this and the woman who led it was excellent. A gentleman was also demonstrating how Rembrandt would have ground his paints. This was a very good place to learn about this marvelous artist.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Satchel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House) also viewed

 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing