We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best experiences!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House)

Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House)
Jodenbreestraat 4-6, 1011 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Plantage & the East)
+31 20 520 0400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$66*
and up
Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking...
Ranked #23 of 576 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rembrandt lived and worked from 1639 to 1658 in this 17th-century house, which today is a museum that pays tribute to the artist's life and career.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

When we visited they were offering a workship to learn how to do etching and printing. We really enjoyed this and the woman who led it was excellent. A gentleman was also demonstrating how Rembrandt would have ground his paints. This was a very good place to learn about this marvelous artist.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,399
    929
    269
    50
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“intersting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

It was interesting to visit the house were he lived and were he worked. The workshop on the last floor is a beautiful room.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albières, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Interesting visit of a 17th century house ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Even if you do not particularly like Rembrandt. Free audioguides providing explanations about all the paintings in the house (and there are a lot). 17th century painting demonstrations, complementary with the explanations of the 19th century painting skills of the Van Gogh Museum: interesting to compare the evolution.
Amazing collection of etchings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I am not a Rembrandt fan nor had any knowledge of his life and art but felt obliged to visit the Rembrandt House as he is a great Dutch artist ... oh my god what a sensational place!

1. It was intriguing to see an Amsterdam house from the inside

2. Great insight into 17th century life in general and Rembrandt as an artist in particular.

3. There are two artistic demonstrations, one is techniques of prints (and which R engaged), the second how artists made their paints in the 17th century (a lengthy process of smashing stones and minerals from exotic places then adding various ingredients). I was amazed how difficult it was to make a print and paint, it was absolutely fascinating.

4. Big collection of Rembrandts prints

5. An opportunity to be creative on the top floor where visitors are invited to get artistic

Very well done, highly recommended!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We were impressed - well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We planned to stop in this museum in order to make use of the last hour of our I AMSTERDAM cards. We wer really impressed to see the demonstrations for the printing techniques and paint preparation. It was really interesting for us and the only thing we regreted about was that our son, who is quite interested in drawing and painting, was actually not with us.
We would really recomend for everyone to include this museum in their plan for their Amsterdam visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.