We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting visit of a 17th century house ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House)

Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House)
Jodenbreestraat 4-6, 1011 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
+31 20 520 0400
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #16 of 303 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Historic Sites, Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Rembrandt lived and worked from 1639 to 1658 in this 17th-century house, which today is a museum that pays tribute to the artist's life and career.
Albières, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Interesting visit of a 17th century house ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Even if you do not particularly like Rembrandt. Free audioguides providing explanations about all the paintings in the house (and there are a lot). 17th century painting demonstrations, complementary with the explanations of the 19th century painting skills of the Van Gogh Museum: interesting to compare the evolution.
Amazing collection of etchings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    965
    630
    173
    26
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I am not a Rembrandt fan nor had any knowledge of his life and art but felt obliged to visit the Rembrandt House as he is a great Dutch artist ... oh my god what a sensational place!

1. It was intriguing to see an Amsterdam house from the inside

2. Great insight into 17th century life in general and Rembrandt as an artist in particular.

3. There are two artistic demonstrations, one is techniques of prints (and which R engaged), the second how artists made their paints in the 17th century (a lengthy process of smashing stones and minerals from exotic places then adding various ingredients). I was amazed how difficult it was to make a print and paint, it was absolutely fascinating.

4. Big collection of Rembrandts prints

5. An opportunity to be creative on the top floor where visitors are invited to get artistic

Very well done, highly recommended!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“We were impressed - well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We planned to stop in this museum in order to make use of the last hour of our I AMSTERDAM cards. We wer really impressed to see the demonstrations for the printing techniques and paint preparation. It was really interesting for us and the only thing we regreted about was that our son, who is quite interested in drawing and painting, was actually not with us.
We would really recomend for everyone to include this museum in their plan for their Amsterdam visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise on top floor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

As an artist who enjoys printmaking I had a pleasant surprise on the top floor of Rembrandt's House, as a studio was set up for the general public to have a go at a drypoint for no extra charge. Tables were set up for anyone to either copy from one of Rembrandt's own etchings or sketches or do your own design, which I did. You could then ink up, wipe down and send through the press to produce a little original print, and repeat a second time to give one to the House. An assistant was available to give guidance, overalls were available to protect your clothes, and a wall was dedicated to the display of tourists drypoints which made for an interesting exhibition.
The house itself was a wonderful museum and Rembrandt's art was also on display.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unmissable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

A lovely old house in the old Jewish area of Amsterdam were Rembrandt lived and worked. A real eye opener in terms of understanding the artist's life and certainly enabled me to appreciate his paintings better. Probably a good idea to see it before going to the Rijkmuseum. Very good demonstrations of the type of paint he would have used and his etchings techniques.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.