We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historic building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House)

Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House)
Jodenbreestraat 4-6, 1011 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
+31 20 520 0400
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #16 of 303 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Historic Sites, Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Rembrandt lived and worked from 1639 to 1658 in this 17th-century house, which today is a museum that pays tribute to the artist's life and career.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful historic building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

When I was there first I was impressed by the friendliness of the people working there. The smallness and cuteness of it all and the fact it was as if you entered Holland's golden age and saw how Rembrandt lived and worked. Artist in residence showed you how he worked and there were so many painting to be seen. the shop is very nice as well and people honestly told visitors who arrived pretty late in the afternoon, that they could pay and visit, but it would be too much for the time they had, so advised them to come back the next day, instead of cashing in. Remarkable!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    967
    634
    174
    26
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Small cozy museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Rembrandthuis is the house that Rembrandt lived in, in Amsterdam. The tour will not take much time and you get a free audio tour. His artwork is also displayed within the house.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Park, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A true Master”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I am so glad that I went.
Very educational and did not realize how talented he was.
His other works are stored at the Richkmuseum and other parts of the world.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Another house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was just the place that Rembrandt live in. Not displays of his artwork. The entrance ticket was part of the City pass for 24 hours, which is a good deal. Maybe the 48 hour package is better though, so you can cover more at a leisurely pace.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FANRembrandtTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Sorry to not have posted this sooner. We visited just before Christmas and had a fantastic time, not only because of the special nature of this building - the place where Rembrandt painted his famous Night Watch, but because of the staff there who were running free workshops.
Many thanks to Eric who explained with great patience the processes of etching and engraving and then demonstrating printing using a 16th Century reproduction press. I was so thrilled and brought home a wonderful print souvenir of my day there. Also had the chance of making my own engraving (on plastic) and printed off some copies.
Don't believe what the tourist information office tell you!!!! We asked and they told us No there aren't any workshops!!!
Art lovers you must go and try this yourself!!
Not sure how long the workshops are running, so please check first.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.