We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good not bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kamasutra

Kamasutra
Lange Niezel 9, 1012 GS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 6260003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #327 of 2,444 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful. Wine pairings very good. Not sure I would have chosen veal cheek, but it was very tasty. After dinner, the chef showed how the dish was prepared. Very open kitchen. Nice experience.
ok just try

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    39
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We found this restaurant by chance when wandering in the red light district. The food here was really good and the service was the best we had out of all of the restaurants we visited during our stay in Amsterdam. Extensive menu with Indian and Indonesian choices. Lots of set meal choices which were good value. The house wines (we tried white and rose) were good too. The staff were very attentive and explained the menu to those of us not overly familiar with Indonesian food. Nice atmosphere inside and the food was reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“as close to authentic as you can get in Holland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

i eat there alot and you can get your food indian spiced its real nice. They know how i like it and each time i go there i try something new now

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Traditional indian food in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I went out to Kamasutra with my colleagues. Its a busy place with interesting interior. I didnt expect such a good indian restaurant in such a busy tourist place. But more importantly it was the food. The taste is very authentic, very different from some of the other indian restaurants i have tried in the past. We ended up ordering a lot and surprisingly ate it all up too. Great food :-))

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Went in on impulse as I was wandering around the red light district and suroundings. Had a very good sheek kebab. The the service was quick and atmosphere relaxed and very Amsterdamical.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Kamasutra also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Kamasutra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamasutra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.