We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We could not believe we ate the whole thing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blauw

Blauw
Amstelveenseweg 158-160, 1075 XN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 - 675 50 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 2,611 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Aix-en-Provence, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We could not believe we ate the whole thing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

As others have written, this Indonesian restaurant is a couple of trolly stops from the center of Amsterdam, but very easy to access and well worth the few extra few minutes to get there. I was not familar with the rice table concept, but we tried this, and loved it. The rice table was amazing! Dish after dish of different tastes.... my mouth was exploding with flavor! We really liked the service (there were two very nice young waitresses who took excellent care of us), with good recommendations about their menu. Though we did not think we could possibly finish everything served to us, we did, plus ordered an Indonesian pancake for dessert..... it was delicious as well. This was a very special evening and a great dining experience!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    151
    26
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely food in pleasing surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went for dinner on Boxing Day (or, as the Dutch say, the second day of Christmas).

We took the Christmas menu which was a succession of courses providing a wide variety of the skills of the kitchen. Each was delicious.

The service was prompt, correct but affable. The surroundings with wooden surfaces, red panels and figured velvet upholstery are modern and congenial and it was not too noisy.

It is well worthwhile to make the short journey from the centre of Amsterdam.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great rice table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Even though Blauw is located a bit off center I´d say it´s worth the taxi if you are looking for a good Indonesian experience.

Restaurant Blauw offers professional and personal service and nothing was amiss during my two dining experiences here. Both times I have ordered a "rice table" which means you will be served a very wide range of smaller dishes. They offer this with your choice of emphasis on meat, fish or vegetarian. It is quite delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Come here hungry and leave with an extraordinary experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Great people, world class service, variety of very fresh dishes combined into a nice concept.

We went here for our christmas dinner and were overwhelmed by the kindness of people. We ordered the highly recommended rice tables (a compilation of a lot of different indo dishes) and were really stuffed. We received in addition 2 (!) additional desserts which were fantastic! Just awesome!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A bit overrated?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I had read lots of positive reviews of this place and perhaps I expected too much. Don't get me wrong, the food was great and the staff friendly. But I had expected a touch of perfection from all the positive reviews. The dishes could have been spicier to better match "real" Indonesian food. And if you are out for a quiet romantic dinner this is not the place to go as the tables are too densely packed together. For a larger group this place would be perfect.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blauw also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Blauw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blauw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.