We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food in pleasing surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blauw

Blauw
Amstelveenseweg 158-160, Amsterdam 1075 XN, The Netherlands
020 - 675 50 00
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #80 of 2,144 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely food in pleasing surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went for dinner on Boxing Day (or, as the Dutch say, the second day of Christmas).

We took the Christmas menu which was a succession of courses providing a wide variety of the skills of the kitchen. Each was delicious.

The service was prompt, correct but affable. The surroundings with wooden surfaces, red panels and figured velvet upholstery are modern and congenial and it was not too noisy.

It is well worthwhile to make the short journey from the centre of Amsterdam.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    145
    80
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great rice table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Even though Blauw is located a bit off center I´d say it´s worth the taxi if you are looking for a good Indonesian experience.

Restaurant Blauw offers professional and personal service and nothing was amiss during my two dining experiences here. Both times I have ordered a "rice table" which means you will be served a very wide range of smaller dishes. They offer this with your choice of emphasis on meat, fish or vegetarian. It is quite delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Come here hungry and leave with an extraordinary experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Great people, world class service, variety of very fresh dishes combined into a nice concept.

We went here for our christmas dinner and were overwhelmed by the kindness of people. We ordered the highly recommended rice tables (a compilation of a lot of different indo dishes) and were really stuffed. We received in addition 2 (!) additional desserts which were fantastic! Just awesome!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A bit overrated?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I had read lots of positive reviews of this place and perhaps I expected too much. Don't get me wrong, the food was great and the staff friendly. But I had expected a touch of perfection from all the positive reviews. The dishes could have been spicier to better match "real" Indonesian food. And if you are out for a quiet romantic dinner this is not the place to go as the tables are too densely packed together. For a larger group this place would be perfect.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Oh man what a Rijstaffel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Try one of the three Rijstaffels to get a well-cooked round-trip of Philipenean cuisine. We were happy - and stuffed! Lovely atmosphere and friendly waiting, at reasonable prices.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blauw also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Blauw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blauw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.