We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent traditional European Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Larende

Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant Larende to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Larende
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Clercqstraat 115, 1053 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional European Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We wanted a traditional European style hotel rather than the standard "chain" hotel and Larende gave us exactly that! The property is spotless and the staff welcoming. The room was a good size, the bed comfortable and the shower hot! Windows that open and a little balcony gave natural light and fresh air.

The staff were great, as was the food and particularly the coffee!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    60
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
103
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Schweiz
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had a great stay in this hotel! The service was excellent, the room was nice and they even have their own pizza restaurant in the hotel. And yes, the pizza was delicious! The hotel is not in the center but the tram stop is a few meters away and it only takes you around 10 minutes to get to the main tourist attractions. Good value for money. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from Hotel Larende, Amsterdam. This was our first time in Amsterdam and I would recommend to anyone thinking of going. The hotel was spotlessly clean, modern and very homely. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom very clean. The hotel manager/owner Murat was excellent, he was so helpful and could not do enough to help. All the hotel staff were very friendly and nothing was too much bother. We ate in the hotel one fo the nights and the Pizza was lovely! It was only a 7 minute walk to the Anne Frank House and we walked most places, the tram line passes the front of the hotel, so transport is not an issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel is located slightly out of the center of the city but within very easy access to everything. What we liked about the hotel is that it is away from the more touristy areas, in a neighborhood on the west side of the city, within walking distance (or a hop onto the trams that stop right up the street) to most major sights. The hotel itself is very clean and modern, particularly the bathrooms. The staff are all extremely welcoming and helpful. The room was somewhat small (although not all that small by European standards), but we were looking for a good value hotel rather than something extravagant, and that's what we got. When we checked in, they didn't have the double room that we booked, so they upgraded us to a double with a jacuzzi. We were in room 103, with a view of the back of the hotel (basically the back of other buildings), and it was VERY quiet. We heard none of the street noise that others have referenced in their reviews. The breakfast buffet that they offer is amazing, with everything from eggs, meat and cheese to yogurt and a beautiful fruit salad each morning. If you are looking for a nice hotel for a reasonable price within proximity to all that Amsterdam has to offer, this hotel is a great choice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Hotel has excellent service, nice, clean rooms, good location. The people who manages the hotel are wonderful, helpful, and friendly. They saw us looking for a cab outside the hotel for about 5 minutes, and offered to call a cab for us automatically. Taxi to airport should have cost around 40-50 euros, but they called one for us at a special rate of 35 euros. (Most other hotels I know usually jack up taxi / shuttle prices, this one gets us one at a discount) Would definitely come back here...Cheese bread was excellent, ordered it to go and ate it cold, even then it was still wonderful...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't have been happier with our choice. This boutique hotel is in a quiet neighborhood of West Amsterdam right on a tram line, which makes getting around Amsterdam a breeze. The rooms are spotlessly clean and modern, and the hotel even has an elevator (which is pretty rare in hotels of this type in Amsterdam). The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful. Although no food is allowed in the rooms, the restaurant in the hotel always has coffee and tea available free of charge guests. I would definitely recommend The Hotel Restaurant Larende to anyone wanting a clean, modern and safe hotel for their stay in Amsterdam that is away from the hustle and noise of the tourist areas, yet convenient access to public transportation that can get them anywhere they want to go.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asti
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Close to the city center, within a walking distance. However well connected with public transport. Nice staff, able to make you feel at home and eager to give you useful tips about the city. clean and confy rooms. Great restaurant, Strongly recommended

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant Larende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Larende

Address: De Clercqstraat 115, 1053 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Larende 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larende is a designer hotel with free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour front desk, only a 20 minute walk from Dam Square. It has a restaurant and soundproof rooms with boutique-style décor. Guests at Hotel Restaurant Larende have rooms with a flat-screen TV and a work desk. Some of the rooms also include a balcony. Restaurant Larende serves international cuisine in the intimate dining room which features modern décor. The restaurant specializes in pizza. A continental breakfast is served daily. The E. Wolffstraat tram stop is only 65 ft away, serviced by lines 12, 13, and 14. The Anne Frank House is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Dam Square, featuring the Royal Palace and Madame Tussauds, is one mile from Larende Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Larende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Larende, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.