We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Larende

Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant Larende to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Restaurant Larende
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Clercqstraat 115, Amsterdam 1053 AJ, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #23 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel met all expectations. The rooms were clean and the jacuzzi bath was perfect after hours spent exploring the city. Overall it is good value for money. Easy tram ride to central station although we decided to walk this route on a few occasions. The breakfast was good and the staff very polite and helpful with tips of where to visit and places to go. Would recommend this hotel as a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    54
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
87
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We went there end September 2013 for a long weekend break. The service was good from the start. Everyone in the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good quality, not huge choice but covered all the bases (cereal, bread, croissant, eggs, juice, coffee/tea), but I think quality is more important. We asked for a room in a quite corner, which we got. It is on the narrow side - you can use the bed as the chair for the table. However, all the fittings in the room is top quality, decent size shower/toilet. Clean room & linen. Surprisingly quiet for its location - 4 tram stops to Anne Frank's House museum. The real service test was when my husband had problem with the mattress. It was way too firm for him - he always have problems with firm mattress when he travels unfortunately. It was fine for me personally, I can sleep anywhere. We ask the hotel if they have to give us a mattress topper, but they didn't so they stuffed duvet under the bed sheet. It was still firm and we asked for more layers to be topped up. To our surprise, the manager went & bought a topper specially for my husband! Didn't charge us a penny for it. That is proper service! Would recommend & definitely go back there again if we visit Amsterdam next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I followed the reviews when booking this hotel with some reserves about the rooms size. We arrived at the hotel after flying from Barcelona, Spain. We arrived quite early considering the check in policy, but this was not a problem! the guy at the front desk had our room ready and clean. The room was in fact small, but for the price and season was fair. The Larende is a short walk from the Metro station. The best of this Hotel is the restaurant, excellent fresh brewed coffee anytime you ask for, the food was superb! We ate there our whole stay, the pizzas and pastas are their specialties!

Staff very friendly, owner serve the tables with the best attitude ever!

Definitely will stay again when return to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived on Friday afternoon 9/20/13. I didnt get the gentleman's name, but he was so kind- we were dropping off our luggage en route to the car rental place, and I literally threw our luggage out of the car. He took what i couldnt handle and brought it in with me. He told me he'd place it all in our room, not to worry. Didnt even make me sign in as he knew we were in a no-parking zone. Upon return, he gave us each a glass of wine. So nice!
The whole staff was so helpful with everything, from purchasing hop on/hop off tram tickets, to giving directions. I might add that though this hotel is not in the central area, its still very convenient. We had room 101 which was a nice size, and featured a small balcony and king size bed. One thing that puzzles us on our trip to Europe is why no hotel uses a top sheet. We like to use a thin top sheet instead of a duvet. Luckily, someone had told me about this so we had brought our own.
I think this hotel is a good price and a good location.

Room Tip: We loved room 101. And the windows did shut out any street noise. We slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, Lenni provided us with a map and then gave us a great guide to all the points of interest (including non-touristy places) and drew directions for us (unprompted). Very helpful! At the hotel you can buy tram tickets, museum tickets, anything you need at all. The hotel is small, modern, bright and clean. Room was a decent size. Our bed was huge and firm (lovely!) We had a balcony (requested) and a big window which was great for people watching and it was surprisingly quiet at night considering it's a busy enough road. Mini-bar was v reasonable (€2 for a beer). Continental breakfast was nicer than most (with proper coffee, not filter) and the restaurant is pleasant and bright. By staying a little out of the town centre (it really was only a 20 min walk to Centrum and there was a tram stop right outside the hotel from where you could get to anywhere very quickly) we saved a lot of money. There are loads of reasonably priced restaurants and bars along the road the hotel is located on (and also some really cool shops). On the first night we had dinner at a lovely Italian (Cantinetta) a few doors down and expected the bill to be high (we'd been told over and over how expensive Amsterdam is). However, 2 courses/2 beers each later our bill was only a v reasonable €57 (excellent food). The beers were €3 each. Compare that to later that eve when we decided to grab a beer on Dam square: €9 a beer! Big difference. It is also a 10 min walk to the Jordaan area, which is lovely. Only small complaint is that they serviced the room on the 2nd day by adding toilet roll and re-stocking the mini bar but they didn't make the bed which I thought was odd. No big deal, but one of the little luxuries you expect from paying to stay in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Despite a problem initially when booking this hotel, we were extremely glad we stuck with it. The owner and his sons and other staff are so friendly and helpful. Whilst the hotel is a 5 minute tram ride outside of the main Dam Square etc, the trams are literally outside this hotel and very regular. We walked to the hotel from central station, took around 20 minutes, if you're not familiar with the city I would recommend you get a tram to the hotel when arriving. We bought a 72 hour tram pass on arrival, from reception at the hotel (same price as everywhere else) and this was such an easy way to travel all over the city with ease. The hotel also booked other tickets for us, again at the same price as everywhere else, printed them, expalined where to go, which tram to get, so we could avoid all the queues. It rained on our first day and they even loaned us umbreallas. We really couldn't fault their helpfulness. The breakfasts were very nice, despite being continental, they were very fresh and there was plenty to choose from. The hotel supply tea/coffee free of charge downstairs in the restaurant area, which was great when you were arriving after a busy day sighseeing, there are no tea/coffee making faciltiies in the rooms. The rooms are bright and larger than we expected, as other travellers have said the beds are very, very firm, but my husband and sons found them very comfortable, I had numb hips !! The cleanliness of the rooms, bathrooms, breakfast area gets a 11/10, it really is remarkably clean without making you feel uncomfortable. Our sons' room was at the top of the house, in the attic, and was very, very hot, but the window did open, but it was difficult to control the temperature. There is a safe in the rooms, hairdryer, towels were all soft and fluffy, and sheets whiter than white. We were promised bikes with our booking, however due to the weather and overbooking by the hotel, we were compensated by being offered a free meal in the restaurant, we were so glad we did, it was absolutely lovely, much better than we anticipated, we ordered starters each and a main meal, plus a couple of drinks each, and the owner didn't want to us contribute anything, we insisted on paying for the drinks. Despite this lovely hotel being a little out of the centre I would consider staying here again, we love travelling to Amsterdam and try to visit every couple of years. The hotel was good value for money and the level of helpfulness and hospitality makes up for the 5 minute tram ride.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location is not central, but good enough. The room was small, but with a good, modern and very clean bathroom. Breakfast (included) was very good as well. We had dinner at the restaurant one night and we really enjoyed it, but the greatest thing about this hotel, is their staff, starting with the manager and his son. I recommend it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Restaurant Larende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Larende

Address: De Clercqstraat 115, Amsterdam 1053 AJ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Larende 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larende is a designer hotel with free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour front desk, only a 20 minute walk from Dam Square. It has a restaurant and soundproof rooms with boutique-style décor. Guests at Hotel Restaurant Larende have rooms with a flat-screen TV and a work desk. Some of the rooms also include a balcony. Restaurant Larende serves international cuisine in the intimate dining room which features modern décor. The restaurant specializes in pizza. A continental breakfast is served daily. The E. Wolffstraat tram stop is only 65 ft away, serviced by lines 12, 13, and 14. The Anne Frank House is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Dam Square, featuring the Royal Palace and Madame Tussauds, is one mile from Larende Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Larende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Larende, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.