We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Neat, and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Larende

Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant Larende to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Official Site
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Larende
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Clercqstraat 115, Amsterdam 1053 AJ, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clean and Neat, and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived on Friday afternoon 9/20/13. I didnt get the gentleman's name, but he was so kind- we were dropping off our luggage en route to the car rental place, and I literally threw our luggage out of the car. He took what i couldnt handle and brought it in with me. He told me he'd place it all in our room, not to worry. Didnt even make me sign in as he knew we were in a no-parking zone. Upon return, he gave us each a glass of wine. So nice!
The whole staff was so helpful with everything, from purchasing hop on/hop off tram tickets, to giving directions. I might add that though this hotel is not in the central area, its still very convenient. We had room 101 which was a nice size, and featured a small balcony and king size bed. One thing that puzzles us on our trip to Europe is why no hotel uses a top sheet. We like to use a thin top sheet instead of a duvet. Luckily, someone had told me about this so we had brought our own.
I think this hotel is a good price and a good location.

Room Tip: We loved room 101. And the windows did shut out any street noise. We slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    54
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
87
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, Lenni provided us with a map and then gave us a great guide to all the points of interest (including non-touristy places) and drew directions for us (unprompted). Very helpful! At the hotel you can buy tram tickets, museum tickets, anything you need at all. The hotel is small, modern, bright and clean. Room was a decent size. Our bed was huge and firm (lovely!) We had a balcony (requested) and a big window which was great for people watching and it was surprisingly quiet at night considering it's a busy enough road. Mini-bar was v reasonable (€2 for a beer). Continental breakfast was nicer than most (with proper coffee, not filter) and the restaurant is pleasant and bright. By staying a little out of the town centre (it really was only a 20 min walk to Centrum and there was a tram stop right outside the hotel from where you could get to anywhere very quickly) we saved a lot of money. There are loads of reasonably priced restaurants and bars along the road the hotel is located on (and also some really cool shops). On the first night we had dinner at a lovely Italian (Cantinetta) a few doors down and expected the bill to be high (we'd been told over and over how expensive Amsterdam is). However, 2 courses/2 beers each later our bill was only a v reasonable €57 (excellent food). The beers were €3 each. Compare that to later that eve when we decided to grab a beer on Dam square: €9 a beer! Big difference. It is also a 10 min walk to the Jordaan area, which is lovely. Only small complaint is that they serviced the room on the 2nd day by adding toilet roll and re-stocking the mini bar but they didn't make the bed which I thought was odd. No big deal, but one of the little luxuries you expect from paying to stay in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Despite a problem initially when booking this hotel, we were extremely glad we stuck with it. The owner and his sons and other staff are so friendly and helpful. Whilst the hotel is a 5 minute tram ride outside of the main Dam Square etc, the trams are literally outside this hotel and very regular. We walked to the hotel from central station, took around 20 minutes, if you're not familiar with the city I would recommend you get a tram to the hotel when arriving. We bought a 72 hour tram pass on arrival, from reception at the hotel (same price as everywhere else) and this was such an easy way to travel all over the city with ease. The hotel also booked other tickets for us, again at the same price as everywhere else, printed them, expalined where to go, which tram to get, so we could avoid all the queues. It rained on our first day and they even loaned us umbreallas. We really couldn't fault their helpfulness. The breakfasts were very nice, despite being continental, they were very fresh and there was plenty to choose from. The hotel supply tea/coffee free of charge downstairs in the restaurant area, which was great when you were arriving after a busy day sighseeing, there are no tea/coffee making faciltiies in the rooms. The rooms are bright and larger than we expected, as other travellers have said the beds are very, very firm, but my husband and sons found them very comfortable, I had numb hips !! The cleanliness of the rooms, bathrooms, breakfast area gets a 11/10, it really is remarkably clean without making you feel uncomfortable. Our sons' room was at the top of the house, in the attic, and was very, very hot, but the window did open, but it was difficult to control the temperature. There is a safe in the rooms, hairdryer, towels were all soft and fluffy, and sheets whiter than white. We were promised bikes with our booking, however due to the weather and overbooking by the hotel, we were compensated by being offered a free meal in the restaurant, we were so glad we did, it was absolutely lovely, much better than we anticipated, we ordered starters each and a main meal, plus a couple of drinks each, and the owner didn't want to us contribute anything, we insisted on paying for the drinks. Despite this lovely hotel being a little out of the centre I would consider staying here again, we love travelling to Amsterdam and try to visit every couple of years. The hotel was good value for money and the level of helpfulness and hospitality makes up for the 5 minute tram ride.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location is not central, but good enough. The room was small, but with a good, modern and very clean bathroom. Breakfast (included) was very good as well. We had dinner at the restaurant one night and we really enjoyed it, but the greatest thing about this hotel, is their staff, starting with the manager and his son. I recommend it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel and fantastic staff !!!
The 3. time at Larende. Hotel is clean and good, but the most important : The staff is fantastic ! Really deserve 5 stars !!!
Breakfast is good and they really do everything to fulfill your wishes

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The location is not really central. Tram stop right outside, route only a few minutes away from the center. Nice hotel in great location - just a 20minute walk to the centre, very modern, very clean, bed is comfortable. The breakfast was nice.The staff was very friendly. Super, we were very satisfied.
Also very tasty food in local restaurant.
The hotel was great in all respects.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Restaurant Larende for 3 nights when we visited Amsterdam for a long weekend. The hotel is a bit of a distance from the center of town but as others have mentioned there is a tram stop nearby (see hints below) and it is also not too far to walk to many of the attractions. (see hints below).
We arrived looking a bit ragged having got on the wrong train at the station and having a slight detour into South Amsterdam, but Murat immediately offered us a free beer which went down very well.
The room was quite small and had one or two small maintenance issues (which is why I haven't given it a 5 star rating) but it was lovely and clean. The room had obviously been updated fairly recently with laminated floor and new decor, and a huge and comfy, if somewhat firm, bed. The bathroom was lovely, with a fantastic 'wetroom' type shower.(And the towels werent all 'crunchy' like many English hotels)
We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but the breakfast was good with all the usual 'continental' assortments (how do you eat cheese and tomato rolls for breakfast!!!!)
Without doubt the best thing about this hotel are the staff. Murat and all of the others we spoke to were friendly and couldn't do enough to help us, from detailed descriptions of where to buy the best cheese to offering us tickets for every attraction under the sun, but not being pushy about it.
If / when we go back to Amsterdam i would definitely consider returning to The Hotel Restaurant Larende.
Hints for getting the best out of Amsterdam:
Where possible buy your tickets on line before you go, or buy them in advance at the hotel or one of the ticket shops. ( Even at 9:30 on a Friday the queue for Ann Frank's House was well over 200m long and I estimate about 2 hours. Like wise the Van Gogh Museum. We walked straight to the front of the queue at both attractions with pre-bought tickets.
Buy a tram ticket at the airport from the 'I amsterdam' office. its easy to spot as its between the arrivals area and the station.
Buy a canal cruise ticket. Its a great way to get around and see all the sights
Hire a bike to be like a local

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Restaurant Larende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Larende

Address: De Clercqstraat 115, Amsterdam 1053 AJ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Larende 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larende is a designer hotel with free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour front desk, only a 20 minute walk from Dam Square. It has a restaurant and soundproof rooms with boutique-style décor. Guests at Hotel Restaurant Larende have rooms with a flat-screen TV and a work desk. Some of the rooms also include a balcony. Restaurant Larende serves international cuisine in the intimate dining room which features modern décor. The restaurant specializes in pizza. A continental breakfast is served daily. The E. Wolffstraat tram stop is only 65 ft away, serviced by lines 12, 13, and 14. The Anne Frank House is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Dam Square, featuring the Royal Palace and Madame Tussauds, is one mile from Larende Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Larende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Larende, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.