We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was great in all respects” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Larende

Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant Larende to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Larende
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Clercqstraat 115, 1053 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The hotel was great in all respects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The location is not really central. Tram stop right outside, route only a few minutes away from the center. Nice hotel in great location - just a 20minute walk to the centre, very modern, very clean, bed is comfortable. The breakfast was nice.The staff was very friendly. Super, we were very satisfied.
Also very tasty food in local restaurant.
The hotel was great in all respects.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    59
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
101
25
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Restaurant Larende for 3 nights when we visited Amsterdam for a long weekend. The hotel is a bit of a distance from the center of town but as others have mentioned there is a tram stop nearby (see hints below) and it is also not too far to walk to many of the attractions. (see hints below).
We arrived looking a bit ragged having got on the wrong train at the station and having a slight detour into South Amsterdam, but Murat immediately offered us a free beer which went down very well.
The room was quite small and had one or two small maintenance issues (which is why I haven't given it a 5 star rating) but it was lovely and clean. The room had obviously been updated fairly recently with laminated floor and new decor, and a huge and comfy, if somewhat firm, bed. The bathroom was lovely, with a fantastic 'wetroom' type shower.(And the towels werent all 'crunchy' like many English hotels)
We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but the breakfast was good with all the usual 'continental' assortments (how do you eat cheese and tomato rolls for breakfast!!!!)
Without doubt the best thing about this hotel are the staff. Murat and all of the others we spoke to were friendly and couldn't do enough to help us, from detailed descriptions of where to buy the best cheese to offering us tickets for every attraction under the sun, but not being pushy about it.
If / when we go back to Amsterdam i would definitely consider returning to The Hotel Restaurant Larende.
Hints for getting the best out of Amsterdam:
Where possible buy your tickets on line before you go, or buy them in advance at the hotel or one of the ticket shops. ( Even at 9:30 on a Friday the queue for Ann Frank's House was well over 200m long and I estimate about 2 hours. Like wise the Van Gogh Museum. We walked straight to the front of the queue at both attractions with pre-bought tickets.
Buy a tram ticket at the airport from the 'I amsterdam' office. its easy to spot as its between the arrivals area and the station.
Buy a canal cruise ticket. Its a great way to get around and see all the sights
Hire a bike to be like a local

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Service is superb, kitchen (breakfast and dinner) is excellent. Murat and his son take a personal interest to make your stay is comfortable and at home. Housekeeping is excellent too. We stayed here for a week whilst visiting our daughter here. We previewed a few hotels and found Larende to be extremely helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front where we stayed overlooked the street and allowed us to people watch from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The location is not really central, but there is a tram stop almost in front of the hotel that can drop you in town center in 5 minutes. The room was modern, big and very clean. Even in front of a street that can have some traffic, the room was quiet. The breakfast was fairly good with croissants, orange juice, bread , several type of cheeses and ham.

Detail: the large bed was made of two small beds joined together and due to the difference between mattresses, the whole large bed was "unbalanced".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was great in all respects. The room was modern, new, convinient and clean, also the hotel had an elevator ( wich is not an obvious thing in small 3 star hotells in amsterdam). The service was the best you can get in any hotel, the staf was helpful and kind, the coffee was free in the hotel lobby, we got umbrellas for the rainy days, every request we have made was immediately handled. The location of the hotel is also great for exploring amsterdam and the cities near by, 100 meters from the hotel you have a tram station with lines 12,13,14 wich take you to any place you want to go in 5- 15 minutes including central station. The hotel is 25 minutes walk from the city center. The brekfast was modest and the variety was a little poor for some one that stays for more than 3 nights, but it was good and had every thing you needed.
Good value for money.
The only negative thing about this hotel is the rooms in front of the hotel, the nois from the street is terrible all night because of the tram and the small bar next to the hotel, also there is alot of light from the sreet lights . All of these things are not a problem if it's a little chilly or cold and you can close the windows and the curtains but if you come during the hot days you must sleep with the windows and curtainins opened since there is no air conditioning ( we've spent one night in a room like that and have recuested to change the room on the next day, they have immediatly mooved us to the room that was next to it, on the rear side of the hotel, it was very quit ).
I recomend this hotel and for sure will bee back there on my next visit in amsterdam.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently stayed 10 nights in this small, modern, clean hotel. Murat and Lenny were welcoming and provided great advice on what to see and things to do. The location is excellent with trams just outside the door- you can get anywhere quickly. The neighbourhood around the hotel has many restaurants with outside tables and a great atmosphere for eating, enjoying a drink, and relaxing in the evenings. The restaurant at the hotel was very good as well. It was great to get away front the busy, noisy city centre in the evenings and enjoy the canals and surroundings. We used the hotel bikes and enjoyed biking in the city and on the paths. A generous host, great service and a great quiet room. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Restaurant Larende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Larende

Address: De Clercqstraat 115, 1053 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Larende 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larende is a designer hotel with free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour front desk, only a 20 minute walk from Dam Square. It has a restaurant and soundproof rooms with boutique-style décor. Guests at Hotel Restaurant Larende have rooms with a flat-screen TV and a work desk. Some of the rooms also include a balcony. Restaurant Larende serves international cuisine in the intimate dining room which features modern décor. The restaurant specializes in pizza. A continental breakfast is served daily. The E. Wolffstraat tram stop is only 65 ft away, serviced by lines 12, 13, and 14. The Anne Frank House is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Dam Square, featuring the Royal Palace and Madame Tussauds, is one mile from Larende Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Larende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Larende, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.