We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Larende

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant Larende to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant Larende
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Clercqstraat 115, 1053 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Activity tickets
Ranked #28 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Of the hotels I stayed in on my 18 day trip during September and October 2012, this one was the most pleasant. I had a miniscule single room, but with all the very best and new fittings one could ask for from a five-star hotel. The breakfast was excellent without fail, the advice from the staff top-notch (they were more than helpful) and they were standing ready with my coffee (as I like it - or tea if I chose) on the house whenever I returned tired form a sightseeing trip. At first I was sceptical as someone mentioned that this is not in the trendiest part of Amsterdam (Amsterdam-West), but I never felt I was slumming. On the contrary - Amsterdam is a great place - I certainly noticed no slums or strange creatures lurking around or felt unsafe.
Tram service is easy once you get a good map - can't wait for my next trip and I will certainly stay in Hotel Larende again. P/s - use the shuttle service to and from the airport. Its a breeze and worth the 16 EURO one way.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-streetfacing room. I was in a streetfacing room and although noisy, there's a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    74
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
136
32
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed in a single room for two nights at Hotel Larende whilst visting Amsterdam for a football match. The room was clean and compact, with modern fittings. The buffet breakfast was more than ample. Staff spoke English (like almost everyone else in Amsterdam) and were very helpful. Great value for money in a major european capital.

Hotel is 1.25 miles from Dam Square and 1.75 miles from Central Station. Distance was not a problem as I had planned to do a lot of walking whilst in Amsterdam. It was also well away from potential trouble after the match in city centre Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Good service ! Rooms are a bit small ! Good overall ! Would stay againe! 15 min walk to the center or 5 min tram #13 ! Good food in the restaurant down stairs! Front desk very friendly and speak good English !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALAYSIA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

hotel is not expensive and comes with buffet breakfast. not plenty but sufficient with fresh home made bread and large crossionts, cut fruits, yougert s, 3 types of ham and cheeses, boiled eggs, fresh milk, fruit juice, tea and coffee. it has only 14 rooms a mixture of single, twins, doubles and doubles with jaguzzi and most important a working lift. the hotel also serves dinner specializing in pizza and speggati. we eat all 3 nights as its convenient for us. The manager and staff are very friendly. tickets for tours are also sold. they can book taxis to go to airport. a tram is also nearby in front of hotel. I would go again for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

absolutely loved the place. the guy at the reception was kind enough to offer us some coffee since we checked in a bit early. he kept our luggage stored while we enjoyed the city till 2pm. they gave us room 102 which was spotlessly clean with a 5-star shower, white sheets and the bed was heavenly. I've had the best sleep and feeling fresh in the morning. don't be discouraged about the location of the hotel because it's quiet with just a few cars passing by during the night and u have to problem getting to the centre with a 5 min tram ride just outside the hotel. Larende has free wifi as well.

The only thing i didn't like that they did not have coffee making facilities in the room and charging 2.50euro for a coffee is just silly while other hotels i've been to offer it to you for free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the other excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. Check-in was friendly and efficient, the bedroom and bathroom were white and spotless, and it was very peaceful throughout the night. The owners and staff could not be more helpful and friendly. When we met up with our family outside of the hotel, the manager came out and invited all of us in for tea! Where else would you be treated so kindly. The breakfast was delicious, lots for vegetarians, fresh fruit salad, omelette, fresh rolls and great coffee. Thank you to everyone at Hotel Larende.
As other reviewers say, the tram stop is right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant Larende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Larende

Address: De Clercqstraat 115, 1053 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Larende 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larende is a designer hotel with free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour front desk, only a 20 minute walk from Dam Square. It has a restaurant and soundproof rooms with boutique-style décor. Guests at Hotel Restaurant Larende have rooms with a flat-screen TV and a work desk. Some of the rooms also include a balcony. Restaurant Larende serves international cuisine in the intimate dining room which features modern décor. The restaurant specializes in pizza. A continental breakfast is served daily. The E. Wolffstraat tram stop is only 65 ft away, serviced by lines 12, 13, and 14. The Anne Frank House is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Dam Square, featuring the Royal Palace and Madame Tussauds, is one mile from Larende Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Larende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Larende, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.