We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Helpful Staff, Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Larende

Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant Larende to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Larende
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Clercqstraat 115, Amsterdam 1053 AJ, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Helpful Staff, Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We arrived at the hotel in the morning for our 2 night stay in Amsterdam and from the start we were very impressed by how accommodating the staff were --- coffee offered, luggage stored and great hints/directions for sightseeing even before we checked-in. The hotel is ideally located a pleasant distance from the hussle & bussle of central Amsterdam --- the tram line out front makes getting to any location in Amsterdam very convient. Amsterdam's public transportation system is great. Our room was more than adequate on the back of the hotel with a small balcony. It was quite, simply furnished and spotlessly clean --- with comfortable king beds and modern bathrooms. The restaurant was excellent and breakfast was good. We would definetly recommend staying at Hotel Restaurant Larende if you are looking for reasonably priced, conviently located and clean modern accomodation.

Excellent Value!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    60
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
98
25
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were greeted on the morning of our arrival by manager, Murat Gedik with tea, coffee or soft drinks. Even though we were very early, Murat assured us that he would bring our luggage up to our rooms so we could begin sightseeing! He gave us wonderful directions and had tram passes for sale right there so we were all set! After a full day of doing museums and various attractions, we returned to the hotel for dinner. It was excellent! Murat had an appetizer for us of a special cheese he had purchased that day, yummy!, and we ordered various house specialty pizzas and Spaghetti Bolognese - which was one of the best ever! The wine , beer and booze selection at the hotel was very complete. Our rooms had little balconies and were very nice and quiet!! We spent 2 nights at the Larende and would stay again when back in Amsterdam!! It's so close to the museum district, Vondle Park and other attractions that one could walk if it weren't so much fun to take the trams! Murat arranged a large taxi for us to get to our ship and got us a very good secured price too!! He was very personable and really wanted us to have a great experience at his hotel and in Amsterdam too...... and we did!!!! We would definitely stay at the Hotel Larende again in the future!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This small hotel with a multicultural ambiance is a welcome retreat at the end of a busy day sightseeing in bustling Amsterdam. We stayed three nights and ate in the restaurant two of them. The owner and his staff are very accommodating. There is a homely restaurant with a limited menu that specialises in Pizzas and some meat dishes, all nicely cooked and presented. My sister was not well one night and they kindly sent up a sandwich. The rooms are not spacious, but this hotel wisely focuses on the important things - a firm but comfortable King size bed and a beautifully appointed bathroom. The other furnishings are very simple. In our room there was no easy chair just two stools, a desk a small luggage rack and a small wardrobe. If you have a lot of luggage you would find it a bit tight. The hotel, being small lacks a lounge, and given that you can't sit in the rooms, you basically have to sit in the restaurant area if you are a group. We were a group of four and we didn't feel like we could occupy a table all the time, so we did miss somewhere to sit and chat. The tram is at the door and even with a mobility problem we had no issues getting around. There is a lift. All in all, I would go there again for the homely, friendly atmosphere, good bed and spotless rooms. Pizza also...!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights here and were very impressed

Location - you know where it is before you book so we were aware it was a little outside the city centre but you would have to pay more for a more central location and there is an excellent tram service which stops just outside the hotel which services Cenral Station and Dam Square, just pick up a pass for the required number of days from the Airport Tourist Information centre when you arrive

Rooms - it's Amsterdam the buildings are skinny so you don't expect a very large room and are you going to stay all day in your room? - they are large enought, clean, serviced well each day, with basic IKEA style white furniture - If you wanted luxury you would have to pay for it, but I would say the beds were great, just hard enough and clean bedding

Food - Breakfast was great, stanard continental but fresh and always looked after and topped up the juice mixed fruit were fresh, more than enough
Evening meals well priced and tasted great - mainly Pizza and Pasta dishes with a few meat dishes but as you will only spend a couple of days here more than enough selection. Look in town and you will not get it at a better price

Staff & Service - This was were this hotel shone they were fantastic and could not do enough for you. It was good old fashioned service where they were there to look after you - could a large chain say this these days?

Overview - It's not a plush fancy hotel in a centre location - but you are not paying those prices, but it's clean and you will be well looked after - Do it!

Room Tip: Try the evening meals as you will not find cheaper in town and you can eat before you go out for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

One of the most satisfying hotel stays I've had anywhere--and I travel a lot. Hotel Larende sets the example for small European hotels. Beautiful contemporary design with high end finishes, beyond-immaculate housekeeping, genial, helpful staff who can't do enough for you--all at a great price point. The included breakfast is top rate. The restaurant also serves terrific pizza, salads and other offerings, made to order and delivered quickly. The staff will make your favorite coffee or tea drink 24/7 at no charge. There are no phones or Kleenex in the rooms, but consider such amenities as firm mattresses, high quality linens, thick, fluffy towels, a towel-warmer/radiator in each bathroom, jetted tubs--well, you get the idea. We stayed there at the beginning and end of our trip to Europe and both times had lovely, quiet rooms overlooking an internal courtyard. Hotel Larende is a great recommendation for anyone traveling to Amsterdam who is looking for a low key neighborhood that's within easy reach of all the sights and activities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The location of the hotel is a little bit out of the way about a 20 minute walk to dam square from here where we spent most of our time.
The staff were friendly and helpful, we got two free pints of beer!.
The rooms were lovely and cleaned everyday with fresh sheets and towels.
I would recommend this hotel if you don't mind a bit of walking as it is a bit out of the way but very nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Hotel Larende was the best hotel we stayed at during our trip to Europe. The owner and staff were extremely helpful and generous. The hotel has a tram stop out front and it is a few minute ride into the city centre and other attractions. The room was very large with modern accents.
The food in the restaurant was amazing and we enjoyed some of the best pizza we have ever eaten. We had an early morning flight to catch and the owner had an early breakfast prepared for my fiancee and I at 5:00 in the morning. I would highly recommend this hotel and I hope to make it back another time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Restaurant Larende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Larende

Address: De Clercqstraat 115, Amsterdam 1053 AJ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Larende 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larende is a designer hotel with free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour front desk, only a 20 minute walk from Dam Square. It has a restaurant and soundproof rooms with boutique-style décor. Guests at Hotel Restaurant Larende have rooms with a flat-screen TV and a work desk. Some of the rooms also include a balcony. Restaurant Larende serves international cuisine in the intimate dining room which features modern décor. The restaurant specializes in pizza. A continental breakfast is served daily. The E. Wolffstraat tram stop is only 65 ft away, serviced by lines 12, 13, and 14. The Anne Frank House is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Dam Square, featuring the Royal Palace and Madame Tussauds, is one mile from Larende Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Larende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Larende, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.