We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely flawless hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Larende

Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant Larende to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Larende
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Clercqstraat 115, 1053 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An absolutely flawless hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

An absolutely flawless hotel with nicely decorated, modern and clean rooms. The staff is amazingly kind and helpful and it's just a few steps away from tram station. Breakfast is definitely above average. Besides, this hotel is actually a 30 year old restaurant and they do very very delicious pizzas. 3 nights we stayed and 2 nights we had the dinner in the hotel. If I will ever go to Amsterdam again, I will definitely stay there.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room viewing the garden in the back and I believe it's more peaceful than the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    60
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
105
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North East Fife
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed in a single room between sleeper train hops, the room was excellent, the food was excellent, the staff were very friendly and the food in the conjoined resteraunt was amazing.

The location is a bit of a hike (my choice, there is a tram stop outside) from Centraal Station but that gets you out of the worst of the city.

Room Tip: The road didn't quieten down much at night so a room at the back may be prefferable for those no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

The hotel has a very good service. I arrived rather late and could still order dinner in the restaurant. The food was tasty and inexpensive. Four other guests came down for dinner after 23:00 and got served. That I call service! My room was very clean and beds great. And it faced the back where the only sound came from the wind in the leaves and rain through the open window. Here I will for certain stay again. It is not in the very centre, but tram 13 from the central station stops outside. No problem to walk either. It is a nice sightseeing for something else than the beaten tourist track.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed there last september, the city was overbooked for a conference so we had a limited choice.
The staff were friendly, location was close to center, however rom was way too small...fairly clean could be cleaner, though on the walls there are many insect marks..
I was not impressed, and the price we paid during that period was way too much for what we got.
I would nt stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My partner and I stay at this hotel last November 2011 and it was our first time to Amsterdam. We found this price of this new hotel reasonable and our room, albeit small, was clean, comfortable and the perfect place to crash after a long day walking/discovering the city. The daily breakfast buffet was simple and wholesome and I loved that they made us good espresso coffee every morning.

The staff were very always friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was convenient for us as it took about 15 mins walk from the major attractions (museums etc) and there was a tram stop just outside the hotel.

p.s. there is a great little bakery next door.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011 via mobile

Good price/quality .
The staff is super friendly and helpful. The rooms have a decent size and they keep them really clean

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I travel to Amsterdam yearly from California and make a layover there to help diminish jet-lag before teaching elsewhere on the continent. After an online search, I decided to try this facility, and I'm very glad I did.
The only inconvenience was getting there from Schiphol. Usually I simply take the Connexxion shuttle bus, but this hotel isn't included on their routes. So I took the train from the airport to the Sloterdijk station, followed by a tram #12 ride from just outside the station to the Eliz. Wolfstraat stop. This turned out to be much cheaper and faster than the shuttle. The hotel is within 50 meters of that stop.
The hotel facility is on the upper floors of this remodeled building. There is an elevator that is new and functions well. The street level floor is a very good restaurant for pizza, pasta and some basic Turkish dishes.
The manager, Murat Gedik, and his son Buda are a delightful pair, ever willing to make your stay as pleasant as can be. The restaurant food was outstanding and inexpensive for AMS. I had the Masli pizza with Turkish sausage, capers, artichoke, tomatoes and mushrooms, and it was delicious. They make their Turkish sausage on site, and it is perfectly seasoned. The family speaks English, Turkish as well as Dutch and a bit of German, so communication was no problem.
My room was adequate in size and very modern in conveniences. There were plenty of wall socket plugs, a fine LCD TV screen, a newly remodeled bath with shower and hairdryer and closeup mirror with ring lighting. All worked well. The bed was firm but not hard. The room was spotlessly cleaned when I arrived and its cleanliness was replenished daily en toto. High speed WiFi functioned perfectly, even on the 3rd floor, and was included in the basic room rate.
In short, I recommend this hotel/restaurant very highly, and I urge those who visit to take time to enjoy the company of Murat and his son. They make themselves very available, and are, simply put, just fine, fine human beings.

Room Tip: My room was 3rd floor, street-side and a bit noisy if you're jet-lagged, if the window's ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant Larende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Larende

Address: De Clercqstraat 115, 1053 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Larende 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larende is a designer hotel with free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour front desk, only a 20 minute walk from Dam Square. It has a restaurant and soundproof rooms with boutique-style décor. Guests at Hotel Restaurant Larende have rooms with a flat-screen TV and a work desk. Some of the rooms also include a balcony. Restaurant Larende serves international cuisine in the intimate dining room which features modern décor. The restaurant specializes in pizza. A continental breakfast is served daily. The E. Wolffstraat tram stop is only 65 ft away, serviced by lines 12, 13, and 14. The Anne Frank House is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Dam Square, featuring the Royal Palace and Madame Tussauds, is one mile from Larende Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Larende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Larende, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.