We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Larende

Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant Larende to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Larende
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Clercqstraat 115, 1053 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Eureka, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I travel to Amsterdam yearly from California and make a layover there to help diminish jet-lag before teaching elsewhere on the continent. After an online search, I decided to try this facility, and I'm very glad I did.
The only inconvenience was getting there from Schiphol. Usually I simply take the Connexxion shuttle bus, but this hotel isn't included on their routes. So I took the train from the airport to the Sloterdijk station, followed by a tram #12 ride from just outside the station to the Eliz. Wolfstraat stop. This turned out to be much cheaper and faster than the shuttle. The hotel is within 50 meters of that stop.
The hotel facility is on the upper floors of this remodeled building. There is an elevator that is new and functions well. The street level floor is a very good restaurant for pizza, pasta and some basic Turkish dishes.
The manager, Murat Gedik, and his son Buda are a delightful pair, ever willing to make your stay as pleasant as can be. The restaurant food was outstanding and inexpensive for AMS. I had the Masli pizza with Turkish sausage, capers, artichoke, tomatoes and mushrooms, and it was delicious. They make their Turkish sausage on site, and it is perfectly seasoned. The family speaks English, Turkish as well as Dutch and a bit of German, so communication was no problem.
My room was adequate in size and very modern in conveniences. There were plenty of wall socket plugs, a fine LCD TV screen, a newly remodeled bath with shower and hairdryer and closeup mirror with ring lighting. All worked well. The bed was firm but not hard. The room was spotlessly cleaned when I arrived and its cleanliness was replenished daily en toto. High speed WiFi functioned perfectly, even on the 3rd floor, and was included in the basic room rate.
In short, I recommend this hotel/restaurant very highly, and I urge those who visit to take time to enjoy the company of Murat and his son. They make themselves very available, and are, simply put, just fine, fine human beings.

Room Tip: My room was 3rd floor, street-side and a bit noisy if you're jet-lagged, if the window's ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    62
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
109
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

The hotel is calm, small, family run (?) and apparently new: clean and pleasantly furnished. The price - service balance was very good, and the personnel was friendly and helpful. It is situated some 15 min from the railway station, easily accessible by trams. I will certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Bit expensive for the room size. Rooms smaller than expected but it is Amsterdam afterall. Rooms were very clean though. Bathroom was clean. Got a room with a balcony, bit scary out on the balcony. No smokng in the bedrooms but were happy to let us smoke on the balcony. Tram stop right outside the hotel, 5 mins into the square. No noise so had great night sleep as well. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for three nights in March
Choose this one because of location and price.
Service was a big plus, staff is very friendly.
breakfest - typical continental, could have more variety of fruits, pastry and so on but it was fine
room - about 20 sqm with small balcony, tiny bathroom, very clean
free wifi
location - very close to center, 15 minutes by walking, trams in front of the hotel, what is plus but also a little bit noisy
Only one thing was bad - smell from the kitchen, we had a room in first floor and you can sometimes feel it in the coridor (not in a room)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

I stayed here recently for 1 night on a quick stop over to Amsterdam. The hotel is a little further from the center than some others, but right beside a tram stop. The area isn't as nice as the center but was priced accordingly. Given Amsterdam's reputation for hotels I wasn't expecting much....

I was very shocked to find a brand new, modern hotel that was very clean and very well decorated. The Bathroom was perfect, with a walk in shower and toilet and sink. The room had a large double bed that was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was the normal selection of breads and cooked meats, which was very nice and the restaurant was also very modern and well decorated.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant Larende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Larende

Address: De Clercqstraat 115, 1053 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Larende 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larende is a designer hotel with free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour front desk, only a 20 minute walk from Dam Square. It has a restaurant and soundproof rooms with boutique-style décor. Guests at Hotel Restaurant Larende have rooms with a flat-screen TV and a work desk. Some of the rooms also include a balcony. Restaurant Larende serves international cuisine in the intimate dining room which features modern décor. The restaurant specializes in pizza. A continental breakfast is served daily. The E. Wolffstraat tram stop is only 65 ft away, serviced by lines 12, 13, and 14. The Anne Frank House is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Dam Square, featuring the Royal Palace and Madame Tussauds, is one mile from Larende Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Larende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Larende, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.