We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orlando

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Orlando
Save
You added Hotel Orlando to your Saves list
Prinsengracht 1099, 1017 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nearly excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I would give five stars if not for a couple of issues, 1) poor lighting in room and 2) insufficient sound insulation.

To be clear, I would stay here again and highly recommend it. I only mention the issues that kept me from giving the highest rating in case it helps someone else.

The hotel has a fantastic location, and is generally quiet yet very close to RemBrandt square.

We stayed four nights in room 114, very conveniently located on the ground floor, so we did not have stairs within the building. The room itself is very large for European standards. The room has high ceilings, well decorated, very clean. The bathroom is also large and well lit.

The lighting issues may not impact everyone. The switch for the bathroom light is outside of the bathroom, so using it during the night risks waking a light sleeper in the room. There is not a good outlet in the bathroom, and I do not like using hotel provided hair dryers, so I had to dry my hair in the main room. While there is a very large window overlooking the garden, the sun does not provide enough lighting. We found the room too dim for some tasks.

Second, the person above use on the next floor had heavy footsteps and woke us up each morning. But we are light sleepers, so this may it impact every person.

The hotel manager and especially Rose are friendly. They called for a taxi for us and provided good suggestions.

The breakfast is very good. You serve yourself cereal and fruit, but arose typically serves a plate of meats and cheeses, offers coffee or tea, offers boiled eggs. There is a variety of tea on the table as well as yogurt. This is all well presented and pleasant, which enhanced our stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    58
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
74
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were a group of four women staying in the two rooms located in the basement (half basement, with windows). The tempo of this small hotel was just perfect for us and the staff at the hotel were very helpful and reliable. The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk to the van Gogh museum, or going in the other direction, the Nine Streets shopping district. It is at the far end of Prinsengracht so it is a bit quieter. The hotel did not get full marks because of a certain amount of noise from footsteps from the rooms above, it is an old renovated house and I suspect there is only so much that can be done to soundproof. But generally I was quite charmed and the hotel felt very relaxed and homey - it will be my hotel of choice on all future trips to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper avoid the two basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I recently stayed in Hotel Orlando. It is beautifully positioned beside a canal and is surrounded by lovely shops , restaurants and cafés.
From our room we had a superb view of boats going by on the canal.
Tram no 4 brings you to central station or one could take a leisurely 30 min stroke into the centre.
Paul and Rose made us very welcome.

Room Tip: Room 117 was really lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay in late August (2013) here. The host was friendly and the location is perfect. We were in one room initially which was on the small side, but very quiet. The larger room faced the street, was lovely but a little noisy.
Breakfast was terrific.
We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed for a 3 night break in Sept 2013. (3 couples in our group.)
We were delighted with our choice and were all pleased with our rooms. All were excellent.
The location is in a very pleasant area and is quiet at night whilst being only a short trip from all the sights.
Its significant that Prinsengracht is itself rated highly in the TA "things to do " listing.
There is a very good selection of restaurants within walking distance.
The breakfast was very good and served in a "kitchen like" breakfast room.
We would certainly return if visiting Amsterdam on another occasion.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms may be preferred however the basement is fine and priced slightly lower. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

In my view, Hotel Orlando is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel (not that there's anything wrong with that!). It's located in a lovely canal house on Prinsengracht, where they rent a handful of rooms. I visited during Gay Pride week at the end of July 2013 and was concerned that the *very* loud music and partying Friday night would keep me awake, but I needn't have worried. I literally heard no noise from the street or surrounding neighborhood in basement room 111.

Paul, the owner, is ably assisted during breakfast by Rose. Breakfast was pretty typical for Europe: coffee, tea, juice, croissants and assorted breads, a boiled egg cooked to order if desired, sliced cheese and ham, yogurt, and cereal. Rose serves breakfast to each table and also offered to help me with online ticket purchases of Anne Frank House and bicycle rental.

I booked this room directly through their website and appreciated the prompt email communication from the owner. I stayed two nights and would stay on this property next time I visit. I easily traveled from the airport to the central train station and hopped on a tram, which stopped half a block from the B&B.

Room Tip: Room 111 is a nice room. Earlier reviews complained of mold in the bathroom, but that problem has b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband, 14 yr old son, and myself stayed @ Hotel Orlando for 2 nights early July. We arrived by train ,and got the tram to Paul's lovely canal house, which was not too difficult to find.We were allocated room 112, (the basement room,) very spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious and clean, and quite modern. Breakfast was good,assorted breads, croissants, ham,cheese,coffee, hot chocolate, fruit.( we had to miss out on breaky our 2nd morning as we had an early train to catch )We used the trams to get around to the various sights, and the tram stop was a minute walk away from Hotel Orlando.It was a quiet location but very central to our needs, and the view of the canal out front was perfect. We would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#20 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#67 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House
Canal House
#28 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Amstel Corner Hotel
#64 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Plantage & the East
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#88 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orlando

Address: Prinsengracht 1099, 1017 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Orlando Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.