We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orlando

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Orlando
Save
You added Hotel Orlando to your Saves list
Prinsengracht 1099, 1017 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

In my view, Hotel Orlando is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel (not that there's anything wrong with that!). It's located in a lovely canal house on Prinsengracht, where they rent a handful of rooms. I visited during Gay Pride week at the end of July 2013 and was concerned that the *very* loud music and partying Friday night would keep me awake, but I needn't have worried. I literally heard no noise from the street or surrounding neighborhood in basement room 111.

Paul, the owner, is ably assisted during breakfast by Rose. Breakfast was pretty typical for Europe: coffee, tea, juice, croissants and assorted breads, a boiled egg cooked to order if desired, sliced cheese and ham, yogurt, and cereal. Rose serves breakfast to each table and also offered to help me with online ticket purchases of Anne Frank House and bicycle rental.

I booked this room directly through their website and appreciated the prompt email communication from the owner. I stayed two nights and would stay on this property next time I visit. I easily traveled from the airport to the central train station and hopped on a tram, which stopped half a block from the B&B.

Room Tip: Room 111 is a nice room. Earlier reviews complained of mold in the bathroom, but that problem has b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    57
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
73
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband, 14 yr old son, and myself stayed @ Hotel Orlando for 2 nights early July. We arrived by train ,and got the tram to Paul's lovely canal house, which was not too difficult to find.We were allocated room 112, (the basement room,) very spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious and clean, and quite modern. Breakfast was good,assorted breads, croissants, ham,cheese,coffee, hot chocolate, fruit.( we had to miss out on breaky our 2nd morning as we had an early train to catch )We used the trams to get around to the various sights, and the tram stop was a minute walk away from Hotel Orlando.It was a quiet location but very central to our needs, and the view of the canal out front was perfect. We would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel in the heart of Amsterdam a few weeks ago and wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel is more of a house and you definitely feel right at home. The breakfast was all you needed to get started in the morning. We stayed in room 112 which is in the basement and has a walk-out directly to the street which is on a canal. Easy to find from Amsterdam Central by tram or cab. Paul and Rose were always willing to help in any way they could with information about the city or booking tours. We would definitely stay here again if we are lucky enough to return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This BnB is a great base from which to explore Amsterdam. There are many fantastic shops, cafes, restaurants and galleries nearby. It was very easy to walk to most of the major tourist sights and attractions – but if you don’t want to wander the streets, you can use the wonderful tram system.

My Room was delightful – huge, comfortable, light with a very soothing view of the Prinsengracht Canal. The attached bathroom was luxurious, spacious, clean and well-equipped. The Breakfast Room was a pleasant area overlooking the garden, but for me there was a rather regimented and formal atmosphere. There was virtually no choice of food – it was fresh but not very interesting or generous. What was put on your plate was what you got and it would have felt awkward to ask for anything different or more.

The narrow winding staircase to the room was a challenge - almost impossible to negotiate with luggage - and staff were not always available to help. Of some concern when I stayed there was that no staff were “in situ” from late afternoon until the following morning - a potential problem if a guest was ill or had some other sort of emergency during the night.

This BnB would have been much better value for money if the breakfast part of the package had been more lavish.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This small hotel was very comfortable and pleasant. We stayed here three nights, and we would definitely stay here again. The hotel is steps away from a tram stop and close to restaurants and shops. Without a doubt, the best thing about the hotel was Rose. She did everything in her power to help us with sightseeing, transportation arrangements, and explanations of Dutch culture and language. She even upgraded us to an air conditioned room during a summer heat wave at no charge. I cannot recommend this hotel enough!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are larger than the basement or ground floor rooms. Room 117 has AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a perfectly located small hotel/B&B that was a delight to stay in. Reasonable rates with friendly staff (Rose is a delight - we got in after a long train ride and she cheered us immediately!) Our room, #118, was large with high ceilings and a beautiful view of the garden - highly recommended. Typical Dutch breakfasts in the morning (not great pickings but enough to get you out the door and ready to go). Only drawback is that breakfast starts at 8:30, which is a little late for us. But really don't know why anyone would want to spend an arm and a leg at some of the "tonier" boutiques. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 118 is large with high ceilings, on second floor (easy to get to) with no one above or below (b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

our family stayed here for three nights. Comfortable beds and spacious rooms with mini bar and tv. The breakfasts were great and the service was friendly. We walked everywhere from the hotel and loved the area. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orlando

Address: Prinsengracht 1099, 1017 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Orlando Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.