We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orlando

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Orlando
Save Saved
You added Hotel Orlando to your Saves list
Prinsengracht 1099, 1017 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Washington, DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a perfectly located small hotel/B&B that was a delight to stay in. Reasonable rates with friendly staff (Rose is a delight - we got in after a long train ride and she cheered us immediately!) Our room, #118, was large with high ceilings and a beautiful view of the garden - highly recommended. Typical Dutch breakfasts in the morning (not great pickings but enough to get you out the door and ready to go). Only drawback is that breakfast starts at 8:30, which is a little late for us. But really don't know why anyone would want to spend an arm and a leg at some of the "tonier" boutiques. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 118 is large with high ceilings, on second floor (easy to get to) with no one above or below (b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    53
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
72
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

our family stayed here for three nights. Comfortable beds and spacious rooms with mini bar and tv. The breakfasts were great and the service was friendly. We walked everywhere from the hotel and loved the area. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. Wonderful friendly service. Comfy bed, spacious room with mini bar TV and en suite. Continental breakfast was great too! Owner Paul and staff are very friendly and couldn't do enough to help you! Would definitely stay again. Great location close enough to walk everywhere but far enough out of the centre to have peace and quiet plus there's a police station a few doors down.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our family of three stayed in Room 112 - the front basement room. It is just 2 steps down from street level with it's own door to the street - nice to be able to pop out for a weather check in the morning. The lower ceilings were no problem for my 5'10" husband. The couch became our 21 year old's bed - it was reasonably comfy - but our beds were quite comfortable. There was plenty of floorspace and room to walk about even with our three suitcases and carry-ons in use. The wardrobe with the fridge and safe was quite handy. I certainly appreciated the table and chair in our room - so much easier to plan your day with a desk top to set your maps and iPads on instead of trying to spread it all out on a bed or on the floor.

Hotel Orlando's location is THE BEST for walkers like us! In our 7 night stay we only used the tram once (even though the stop is on the bridge at the end of the street and quite handy). Paul's canal house is centrally located enough that most sights are approximately a half hour or less walk. It is also a good safe-feeling neighbourhood.

You are greeted each day with a good table-served breakfast of freshly squeezed orange juice, warm bread/rolls/croissants, meat and cheese, yogurt, jams and a hard or soft boiled egg on request, along with self-served cereal and fruit. It was a good filing start to our day (but a bit repetitive for our long stay). We had a nice view of the garden and the heater cozied up the room on our cool mornings.

Paul enjoyed his breakfast coffee with his guests - that's the best time to have any questions answered. He was happy to print out our timed entrance tickets for the Anne Frank House for us. (Note: you can pay 0.50E extra over the regular admission price to receive a time to visit - then just walk in - no line-ups. Also, the Museumkaart was a great purchase for us - we avoided the long entrance lines with it at both the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum even though both had just been re-opened recently.)

Rose, the master controller of your breakfast, was happy to chat in the morning too. She even looked up the train times to Alkmaar between orange-pressings and then got us off in time to catch it so we did not miss the Friday Cheese Market!

We are certainly pleased to have found such a great place to stay! We hope you choose to stay in Paul's canal house too - the steeper stairs just added to the charm of our Amsterdam stay for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed at the Orlando for a long weekend in March 2013. We arrived early to our room, but Rose let us drop our luggage there while she cooked breakfast for us and told us she'd have it cleaned and ready for us in a couple of hours.
Our room was on the basement level with its own street access. The room was absolutely huge - and could've slept 4-5 people. Had a hairdryer/safe etc too - all free of charge. The best part of the room was the bathroom though, fantastic! Had a huge walk in shower, big tub, and gorgeous dark tiles.
Rose cooked a wonderful European breakfast each morning (warm croissants, bread and rolls, cheese and meats, boiled eggs) and was just lovely...a real asset.
Hotel is excellently located, only a 5 minute walk to Rembrandt Square, and about 30 minute walk to Anne Frank's house (all other attractions can be reached in 10-15 minutes on foot).
An ideal place to stay in Amsterdam (if you're okay with stairs as there are a few). I'd definitely return.

Room Tip: If you've got mobility issues, this hotel isn't for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in March and had a lovely stay. We were booked into Room 111, the smallest and cheapest room, but when we arrived we were upgraded to 114 for free as we were the only guests.
The room was very large and comfortable and extremely quiet! The location was fantastic as it was right by the fashion/museum district, but a short enough stroll into the centre of the city. It sat right on a canal which was especially pretty at night.
The breakfast was fantastic! All fresh and delicious in a lovely kitchen/diner.
The only reason I have not rated this hotel as excellent is because the bed was 2 single mattresses pushed together, and I would say it is a Guest House rather than Hotel. Fabulous Rosina looked after us well!
My husband and I would definitely book again when returning to Amsterdam. Thank you for a wonderful stay. See you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Really fabulous hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Right around the corner from great shopping, but where isn't in Amsterdam? In room 111, we may have the worst room in the place, and it is great. I was expecting a room the size of our 2 beds, in the basement. What I got was a sweet room with a nice size bath, comfy beds and a huge window that looks out on a small courtyard. We have a safe in the room -- which I really value -- and a solidly decent breakfast that includes fresh-squuezed OJ. If you need an earlier coffee fix, Starbucks is close by, and the Starbucks, unlike the US, sells fresh-baked pastries. I will be back in Amsterdam, and I will stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orlando

Address: Prinsengracht 1099, 1017 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Orlando Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.