We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Know” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orlando

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Orlando
Save Saved
You added Hotel Orlando to your Saves list
Prinsengracht 1099, 1017 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“In the Know”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a very nice stay in Room 117 for a couple of nights in late March. Our friend had a room on the ground floor overlooking the lovely garden. The room was on the second floor with larger windows overlooking a quiet street and beautiful canal. Room 117 was spacious, bright, clean and comfy. The best part is the location. Excellent restaurants and around the corner. Galleries and boutiques in the neighborhood. I asked and the owner suggested Sluizer restaurant for my partner's birthday and it was excellent- just around the corner. The location is away from the touristy areas while giving you easy access to museums and entertaintment. Recommended for travelers that look for "in the know" neighborhoods, sites, and accomodations.

Room Tip: 117 has tall windows with lovely views over the canals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    53
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
72
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a short break. Large clean room with view over garden and good bathroom. Hotel is in great location on pretty canal in good part of town. You can walk everywhere or use the tram which is 100 metres from front door.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Orlando for 4 nights, our last night was New Years Eve- a great time to experience Amsterdam. We loved the ambience of the area and New Years Eve with the fireworks everywhere and the people out revelling really made us feel we'd experienced a bit of Amsterdam life.

One couldn't ask for a better location. Hotel Orlando is a 17th century house on Prinsengracht Canal near the river Amstel and a perfect spot from which to walk everywhere. We easily filled 4 days and found many restaurants and attractions. We particularly liked that it wasn't in the fast food/touristy area.

Like all the tall 17c houses on the canals, the stairs between floors are steep- Paul helped with our luggage, but this would not be a place to stay for someone who isn't fully mobile.

An ample breakfast was included each morning- very good fresh orange juice, yogurt, assorted breads, jam, ham, cheese and a boiled egg if you wanted it. Fruits and cereals were also available and coffee was good for this coffee addict. The breakfast tables were already set up for each guest and we were served at our table, which was nice- this is the time to get information too-as that is when our host Paul is around to answer questions

The rooms are large and airy and our family of 4 had a front room overlooking the canal and a back room overlooking the garden across the hall from each other. Price would be good for a couple, although renting two rooms for our family makes it a bit more pricey for us. If they had a fold out bed or roll away, would certainly have room to put one child in with the adults in those large rooms. Each room has a large desk, a wardrobe, two single beds (pushed together to make a double) and a sofa. Lighting was good for reading. We'd have preferred a double bed but it was comfortable- if you don't mind a soft mattress. There is a minibar with reasonably priced drinks and there is a bit of extra room in the mini fridge to store something- so if you need any other drinks there is a convenience store within less than 5 minute walk.

The bathroom is within each room and is spacious and water pressure and temperature are good. Toilet, sink, bathtub with shower hose attachment as well a shower-that is basically a drain and shower curtain in the corner, separated from the main floor tiles by only a few millimetres dip-so although it drained well, you had to be careful not to flood the bathroom-I think that if the owner updated the bathroom a bit with a modern shower stall and had a more elegant bed and options of a 3rd bed, this would raise the level of the hotel from my 4 out of 5 to 5 out of 5, but these are minor quibbles and overall we really enjoyed our stay, loved the location and were very comfortable.

Room Tip: We liked room 117 at the front first floor- nice view over the canals
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Nice little hotel, no more than 6 rooms in the center of Amsterdam, near De Carre, Waterlooplein and the Amstel river that cross the city. The owners Paul and his partner run the hotel.
Only the breakfast is very poor and not fresh so i recommend to walk and get somewhere around, there are many good places to have a nice breakfast with a nice view. Amsterdam is a great city

This place does not have a swimming pool, sauna or room service but the rooms are very confortable and clean if you need something i am sure that the owner may help you !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burwood, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel. We had a nice, large room. Room was very clean and well-quipped. I love the room design the most. Hotel location was great. Just a few steps from hotel you can find what you need. We find out hotel staffs were so friendly and helpful. They recommended us many restaurants. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We booked to stay in this small hotel after reading positive reviews and we were not disappointed. We arrived quite late but that was no problem. The room was clean and spacious. Paul /Rose were in the breakfast room every morning to help with directions etc... Breakfast was great - warm rolls, croissants, cereal, yoghurt, fresh coffee. Yum!
Location is perfect for exploring Amsterdam. Easy to get from Schiphol airport (Take the train to Centraal then the subway 2 stops to Waterlooplein) Short walk along the canal.
There's loads of nice bars and restaurants close by as well as the tram along Utrechtsestraat. The Hermitage is 5 mins walk.
The stairs are pretty steep to the basement rooms, but we were fine with that.
Oh, and you can pay with any credit card except American Express.
Overall: clean, comfortable and perfect for a city break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were a family of five who stayed here in two rooms in October 2012. Would highly recommend this hotel that we selected through tripadvisor. The manager Paul Lodder himself takes care of bookings and will also help you advising some of the routes, attractions etc.

The hotel has large rooms and baths, very neat and clean and well secured. Located on Princengracht, it has a host of restaurants in close vicinity and is less than 10 mins walk from Rembrandplein (one of the big squares with host of pubs and cafes). There is a tram station just at 2-3 mins walk and Amstel river on the other side at a similar distance. Trams go to all the main locations / attractions from here that is if you don't want to walk those.

Amsterdam is a small place (atleast the main tourist areas are all walking) and it is better to stay on a canal and little away from the main square or centraal station area. you don't miss anything and personally, the view and serenity of the canal is more preferred.

We had one canal room and hence enjoyed a good view and a large suite (which paul graciously upgraded us to). The bath had a large bathtub and was very well maintained. Breakfast is included with the stay - primarily cold breakfast but eggs are available and Paul personally does the breakfast for the guests.

To reach the hotel, take tram no 4 from centraal station and get off at princengracht stop. Just a 2-3 mins walk then. the apartments are all numbered orderly, hence very easy to find.

Room Tip: Take a canal facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orlando

Address: Prinsengracht 1099, 1017 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Orlando Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.