We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel in central Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orlando

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Orlando
Save
You added Hotel Orlando to your Saves list
Prinsengracht 1099, 1017 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel in central Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Nice little hotel, no more than 6 rooms in the center of Amsterdam, near De Carre, Waterlooplein and the Amstel river that cross the city. The owners Paul and his partner run the hotel.
Only the breakfast is very poor and not fresh so i recommend to walk and get somewhere around, there are many good places to have a nice breakfast with a nice view. Amsterdam is a great city

This place does not have a swimming pool, sauna or room service but the rooms are very confortable and clean if you need something i am sure that the owner may help you !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    57
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
73
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burwood, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel. We had a nice, large room. Room was very clean and well-quipped. I love the room design the most. Hotel location was great. Just a few steps from hotel you can find what you need. We find out hotel staffs were so friendly and helpful. They recommended us many restaurants. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We booked to stay in this small hotel after reading positive reviews and we were not disappointed. We arrived quite late but that was no problem. The room was clean and spacious. Paul /Rose were in the breakfast room every morning to help with directions etc... Breakfast was great - warm rolls, croissants, cereal, yoghurt, fresh coffee. Yum!
Location is perfect for exploring Amsterdam. Easy to get from Schiphol airport (Take the train to Centraal then the subway 2 stops to Waterlooplein) Short walk along the canal.
There's loads of nice bars and restaurants close by as well as the tram along Utrechtsestraat. The Hermitage is 5 mins walk.
The stairs are pretty steep to the basement rooms, but we were fine with that.
Oh, and you can pay with any credit card except American Express.
Overall: clean, comfortable and perfect for a city break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were a family of five who stayed here in two rooms in October 2012. Would highly recommend this hotel that we selected through tripadvisor. The manager Paul Lodder himself takes care of bookings and will also help you advising some of the routes, attractions etc.

The hotel has large rooms and baths, very neat and clean and well secured. Located on Princengracht, it has a host of restaurants in close vicinity and is less than 10 mins walk from Rembrandplein (one of the big squares with host of pubs and cafes). There is a tram station just at 2-3 mins walk and Amstel river on the other side at a similar distance. Trams go to all the main locations / attractions from here that is if you don't want to walk those.

Amsterdam is a small place (atleast the main tourist areas are all walking) and it is better to stay on a canal and little away from the main square or centraal station area. you don't miss anything and personally, the view and serenity of the canal is more preferred.

We had one canal room and hence enjoyed a good view and a large suite (which paul graciously upgraded us to). The bath had a large bathtub and was very well maintained. Breakfast is included with the stay - primarily cold breakfast but eggs are available and Paul personally does the breakfast for the guests.

To reach the hotel, take tram no 4 from centraal station and get off at princengracht stop. Just a 2-3 mins walk then. the apartments are all numbered orderly, hence very easy to find.

Room Tip: Take a canal facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September. We booked late and had to change rooms. We went from a nice 2nd floor garden view room to a basement room. The 2nd fl room was much nicer--I wouldn't recommend a basement rm--it smelled badly and there were narrow stairs involved.
PROS:
Very clean rooms
A nice breakfast made even nicer by the super friendly Rose who works there
Good location, with many restaurants and tram within easy walking distance.
CONS:
There is no one around to offer advise on restaurants, transportation etc--no one! Ask Rose for help during breakfast.
The bathroom has almost no place to put anything and the shower leaks all over the bathroom floor.
We enjoyed our stay, but just know it's bare bones.

Room Tip: Don't stay in either of the basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in room 114 which is ground floor at the back overlooking the garden. A twin room with good shower; plenty of space. Room is a bit dark in autumn despite the tall windows. Easy access apart from the steps up to the front door. Beds were a bit soft for our tastes, and the pillows a bit thick; may be perfect for you.

Breakfast is excellent; good coffee, fresh orange juice, bread, croissants, ham, cheese, cereals, boiled egg, served in the downstairs room at the back.

Location is very quiet, yet 200m away is a tram line and a busy street with loads of good restaurants. We'd forgotten our mains adaptor, but Paul had a spare which he lent us. There's a minibar with room to add some bottles of wine and beer. There are mini-markets close by.

There is free WiFi and a wired internet connection.

We were delighted with our choice of hotel, and would certainly recommend it; quiet, friendly, professional yet informal, clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in early October 2012 and loved the Hotel Orlando. Paul and Rose were super helpful and caring but yet gave us plenty of space. We stayed in Room 116 and found that it more than met our needs. It's a large, beautifully decorated room that overlooks the back garden. The bedding and shower were both incredible. The neighborhood is close to everything but is quiet and doesn't have the annoying crazy tourist vibe. The only thing that makes me nervous about this review is that I worry it'll make it more difficult for us to be able to book a room the next time we're in Amsterdam.

BTW, make sure to check out the Cafe Marcella down the street next to Amstelveld Park. It's a locals bar with a very friendly owner / bartender.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orlando

Address: Prinsengracht 1099, 1017 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Orlando Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.