We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orlando

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Orlando
Save
You added Hotel Orlando to your Saves list
Prinsengracht 1099, 1017 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I extended a business trip so my husband and I could enjoy the city as our summer vacation. I had a difficult time finding an affordable place in the city as it was Europe in June and the euro continues to be stronger than the dollar (although the exchange rate was the lowest it has been in some time). Based on the recommendation of Lonely Planet, I decided on Hotel Orlando and could not have been happier with my choice! Rose and the owner Paul are beyond charming and we loved feeling like a local by staying in a smaller establishment.The location was great, and after we rented our own bicycles, (from Recycles Bikes at 5 euros a day, another Lonely Planet recommendation) we could be anywhere in the city in no time. We stayed in the larger of the basement rooms (112), and it was very well appointed and in excellent condition. The canal house is 400 years old and we loved that, but it has been restored and renovated. The breakfast is wonderfully european: boiled egg, ham and cheese, breads with butter and preserves, yogurt, cereal, fresh sqeezed orange juice, and coffee. It is all beautifully presented. As someone that travels weekly for my job and is always in chain hotels, it was very refreshing to stay in a place with real warmth and character.

Room Tip: Room #112 has a sofa and is very spacious to spread out a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfrutiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The owners, Paul and Paul (never got their last names) have renovated this classic Dutch canal home. Located right on the Prinsengracht canal in a quiet location but just a couple of blocks from the skinny bridge and Rembrandt Plein. There are about 40 restaurants within 6 blocks ranging from Mexican, to Indonesian, to Thai, to Italian. The hotel has a nice quiet garden when the crowded streets of Amsterdam become too much . Our only suggestion is that management was difficult to find after breakfast, but that could have just been our timing.

Room Tip: Choose 118 with the garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

When we booked a room here we did not know what to expect. But the hotel was a pleasant surprise and we loved it. A small B&B tucked away in a quiet street on the Prinsengracht with only seven rooms. The rooms are very comfortable, large and airy with all amenities. The breakfast is of excellent quality and you get to meet the owner and staff - very helpful and full of information on how to get around relatively inexpensively and comfortably - and other guests and exchange plans and news with them. You are given the keys to your room and the main entrance. A wonderful place and I recommend it highly. An excellent way to experience staying in a typical Amsterdam canal house.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor if you have a problem climbing the steep stairs so typical of Amsterd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

A small B&B style hotel directly on one of the canals. Quiet residential & safe area.

You are given keys to your room's door and house door and can thus came and leave as you like. I chose room 114 on ground floor for EUR 115/night single use as a friend had kindly advised me that the stairs to the upper floors are very steep. Room very spacious, rather stylish & clean. Hope they will exchange the carpet for a wooden floor which would be another nice touch. Widest bathtub I've seen in a hotel so far. Mattress a bit soft for my taste. View of backyard & garden which guests are welcome to use. Old-fashioned TV but who cares when you've got a tablet with you anyway - free wifi works like a charm.

Hotel advised me well in advance that tram 4 station - only 100m away - is closed until end 2012 due to extended construction work in Utrechtsestraat. Closest station currently Frederiksplein at 400m distance where you also find a good supermarket (Albert Heijn chain).

Taxi from railway station EUR 12, 10 min outside peak time.

Ample & decent breakfast. Warm welcome and attentive staff: I had told Rose I needed to leave at 8 a.m. & she offered to be there early and call a cab for me. When I hadn't shown up by then, she thoughtfully knocked on my door just to make sure I hadn't overslept.

Highly recommended, will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sauserle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I just spent seven nights at Hotel Orlando, and loved it. The location on Prinzengracht is ideal, close to great dining, shopping and sites. We stayed in room 118 at the back of the hotel and think this must be the best room in the house! The rooms enormous windows open up to views of the lovely back garden. The room is quiet, comfortable and nicely appointed. Breakfast was filling, and always served with a smile. Paul is a warm and friendly innkeeper and his staffer, Rose, is a delight. They were both very helpful but gave us plenty of room to have a leisurely and relaxing stay. We hope to visit Hotel Orlando again someday. Thank you Paul and Rose!

Room Tip: 118 is gorgeous and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aimeemoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The hotel is good, with a fine location and quiet rooms. Service could be improved. Breakfast very good, but not available until 8:30AM. Has all necessary facilities, wifi etc. Hallways could look fresher.

Room Tip: Rooms face either the canal or in the back an interior garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marigold60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Orlando is in an excellent location at the quiet, mostly residential, end of Prinsengracht, which made it very peaceful at night while being only 20 minutes walk from most of the main attractions in the city centre. The hosts were friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. We are a family of five, and booked rooms 111 and 112, which meant that we had the basement floor to ourselves. Room 112 in particular was enormous, with plenty of room for all five of us to sit together while 'back at base'. Even though the rooms were in the basement, the huge windows let in plenty of light and air. We enjoyed the breakfasts, which set us up for the day, and found plenty of good places to eat nearly, especially just round the corner in Utrechtsestraat (Tempo Doeloe, for example).

Top tip - book in advance online for major attractions (Anne Frank House, Van Gogh Museum) and avoid having to queue - we walked straight past a 90 minute queue to get into the Anne Frank House.

Room Tip: 112 would be ideal for a smaller family (3/4) and 111/112 together are perfect for a larger family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,032 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#36 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,765 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#20 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orlando

Address: Prinsengracht 1099, 1017 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Orlando Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing