We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit did not disappoint!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orlando

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Orlando
Prinsengracht 1099, 1017 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Return visit did not disappoint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was my second visit to the Hotel Orlando. I gave a great review in 2010 and I am pleased to say that the stay here was as good as last time. I stayed here with my mother for 3 nights in February 2012. This time we had a room that had been newly open when I was there last. This is a really lovely room. It is at the back of the hotel, on the ground floor and faces on to a garden. You can also see other canal houses plus their gardens from your window. The room is extra large with almost floor to ceiling windows on one side. The bathroom is clean and spacious. All of this was extra important as I had a really bad cold and needed to stay indoors for a day. The stay in Amsterdam also coincided with the cold snap which hit Europe in February. On the day I stayed in it snowed heavily all day. We were able to watch the snow falling via the large windows – it looked magical. The heating also worked beautifully. Another bonus was the fact that the hotel has a variety of TV channels. I could watch BBC1 and BBC2 and not CNN all day. There is free Wi-Fi as well. I was also able to access the kitchen to prepare my cold medication.

Rose and Paul are wonderful hosts. On the first day we arrived early before the room was ready. Rose made us a pot of tea and we warmed ourselves by the fire in the breakfast room. They also helped us with transport and were happy to provide information if needed. Breakfast was good and plentiful – Ham, cheese, boiled eggs, cereal, bread, croissants, tea, coffee, orange juice and yoghurt. We had to leave early on the last day, before the usual breakfast time. Rose arrived earlier at the hotel so that we were able to have breakfast before our departure – much appreciated.

Hotel Orlando is in a great location and you can walk to most sites from here. We had dinner each night in Utrechtsestraat. We visited the restaurant L’Express on two occasions this trip and two occasions on the previous trip. Nice food, well priced.

The hotel is perfect for the self sufficient traveller who wants to get a feel of what it would be like to have a canal house as their home. I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    53
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
70
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berkhamsted
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We booked here for a short 2 night city break and found it to be in a perfect location and within walking distance of the city centre. Lovely views overlooking the Prinsengracht canal, and very comfortable rooms with good showers and plenty of space. Breakfast was served in a small but homely kitchen/dining room and included nice quality breads, pastries, fruit etc. Also plenty of cafes nearby and with access to taxis also. Overall a very pleasant stay and would recommend to anyone (especially families) looking for a well priced, small and friendly hotel in one of Amsterdam's most desirable locations.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Have just returned from a trip with a friend and our two daughters. We stayed for 3 nights in the Orlando. The location is very convenient, about 20 mins walk to the Anne Frank House, and 15 mins or less to the start of the Museum Quarter, for Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum etc. Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby.

Located canalside, but away from the bustling centre, it suited us very well.

We reached the hotel from Schipol by train to Centraal Station (EUR 3.80 adult, £2.50 children) and then taxi from thr station to the hotel (EUR 16). On the way back to the airport the hotel pre-booked us a taxi at EUR 35, which for the 4 of us worked out only a little more than our arrival option (and a lot less hassle with the carrying of bags!)

The breakfast was great - delicious freshly squeezed orange juice, eggs, cheese, rolls, yoghurt, hot chocolate for the kids etc..

Very happy with our choice and would happily recommend.

Room Tip: Room 112 is in the basement, with steps leading up to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formigine
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel 2 times in January 2007 and May 2008. Both time we chose the same room 115. The hotel is very cosy and we find ourselves very well. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is quite good.
The hotel is near the center of the city and this makes it perfect for those that want to visit Amsterdam and have only 2 or 3 days.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed three nights in September. We had room 116, courtyard view and some steep stairs, for our first night and then had arranged to move to room 115, canal view and ground floor, for the next two nights. Both rooms were very nice and clean. Room 116 was very large. The pictures on the website accurately represent the rooms. Both rooms had a mini fridge with some items stocked but we liked that we could put our own items in the fridge. Breakfast was included in the rate and was a nice start to the day, breads, fruit, cereal, cheese, meat, boiled eggs, coffee and fresh OJ. The owner was incredibly helpful, carrying our bags up on the first day, providing us with a good map and help with the transportation system. We took a cab from the central train station on our arrival but used the tram on our departure. It was a 5 minute walk to the tram station. The hotel is in a very nice area with plenty of cafes within walking distance. It was a short walk to Rembrantplein, where there were lots of outdoor cafes and a tram stop. There was also a nice grocery store on the walk to Rembrantplein. We really searched long and hard for a canal view room on a first floor and while I'm glad we found it, you don't really see much of the canal due to the cars and the house boats, so I don't think canal view would be so crucial for the next visit. I really liked the hotel and would definitely return here.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, choose a ground floor room as the stairs were narrow and steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights beginning September 16. This is a lovely little hotel in a very good area. We had a canal view. A very good breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice. Can't say enough about that. The owner is so helpful and nice. Our room was a spacious room and very comfortable. A very good location. We walked, with our luggage to a tram that took us to the train station on the day of our departure. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We liked the canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Thanks to tripadvisor contributors for recommending this great little hotel with great big rooms.

This hotel isn't in a touristy area of Amsterdam, so you won't find many recommendations on hotels around it in the guidebooks. We were attending a workshop at the University of Amsterdam, a 5 block walk to the east, so it was a perfect location for us. It's also really close to a bunch of good restaurants on Utrechtsestraat. Central Amsterdam is compact, so most of the tourist sites are only a 15 minute walk. And walking around Amsterdam is wonderful.

The hosts were really friendly and helpful. It is small B&B, so you basically get a nice large room and a simple breakfast.

My only minor complaint is that the breakfast was a bit repetitive. But if you're here for a couple days, you wouldn't even notice.

Also, if you're traveling with someone with mobility issues, you might ask for a room on the ground floor. The spiral staircase is pretty steep.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orlando

Address: Prinsengracht 1099, 1017 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Orlando Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Orlando to your Saves list