We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frederik Park House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Frederik Park House to your Saves list
Frederik Park House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Frederiksplein 22, 1017 XM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A very special stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We spent six nights at this wonderful oasis in May 2014. Our room, 301, was large, beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and had the most comfortable hotel bed (and luxurious bed linen) we have ever had the pleasure to sleep in!
The incredible breakfasts, delivered to your room every day, were different every time…croissants, pancakes, rolls, eggs, cheese, ham, yoghurt, fruit, freshly squeezed juice…!
The location was wonderfully quiet and yet within an easy walking distance of all the main attractions…an absolute gem!
Martin and Frans's attention to detail, impeccable standards and commitment to ensuring each guest has the best experience possible is commendable. Really nice people who really couldn't do enough for us.
Should we visit Amsterdam again we would not hesitate to stay here again. Why would anyone want to stay in an anonymous corporate hotel when they could enjoy the experience of living in a genuine Dutch canal house?
You've found what you're looking for…don't hesitate to book!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
47
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this marvellous, small hotel. The room was big and very comfortable, beautifully decorated, plenty of space (a big wooden cupboard), high ceiling, with windows overlooking trees and private gardens. Absolutely quiet, which is a challenge in Amsterdam « downtown ». Breakfasts delivered to our rooms were absolutely delicious – with i.e. home made pancakes, fresh fruits. Great also : the excellent coffee machine in the room. Ideal situation for visiting Amsterdam center and museums. Public transport around the corner. The private terrace on the roof is a small "oasis" ! We recommended Frederik Park House to everyone who like charming, small houses with historic flair. The price is absolutely fair. We also appreciated the privacy ; the owner, Martin, being around when we needed him, but not intrusive. His gave us useful tips for restaurants in the neighbourhhod, far from touristic mainstream. Thank you ! We hope to come again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have only good comments to share with you about this place. The small hotel (Bed and Breakfast I am not sure how to characterize) is located close to the center but far enough that it is quiet. The rooms were well cared for, very clean and spacious. There is enough room to empty out your bags so that you will be comfortable during your stay. Another nice touch is that breakfast is served in the room. The owner is extremely nice and helpful. Great value for money!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have just stayed four nights at this beautiful hotel. Small but perfectly formed as the saying goes! Large spotless room with sitting room overlooking a small park. Very comfortable bed and attractive furnishings and decor. The breakfasts, delivered to our door were absolutely wonderful - pancakes and mini chocolate eggs were a special pre-Easter treat. Perfect hosts, helpful but unobtrusive. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to visit in this lovely city very easily from this quiet location which is situated a little away from the more noisy and tacky centre. Particularly well placed for the museum area, and with many very good restaurants nearby. (We were particularly lucky to find this hotel as we had previously made a booking with bookmyplace.com but had our booking unceremoniously cancelled by the company with two weeks to go, and are still waiting the return of our deposit - don't use them. Happily, we found Frederik Park which I have no doubt was by far the better place to stay.)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed her for 4 nights in August. It was a pleasure to stay here. Martin was informative and extremely helpful with tips and recommendations, The room was spotless and stylishly furnished. Breakfast was always beautifully presented. The hotel's situation is perfect for exploring the sights, museums and galleries. There was a communal minibar based on trust and the prices were very fair. What we really appreciated most though was the privacy. Martin had a knack of being there when we needed him, but not intrusive. I like that in a host. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had 9 nights from 28th August to 6th September and had a wonderful time.
The room was lovely and big and the breakfasts were great. Also the terrace at the
back was wonderful for sitting and having an afternoon drink. Martin was so helpful in showing us where to go and what to see and also telling us about some great restaurants. Franz also told us about a bike ride by the side of the Amsel River out to the countryside which we did and it was amazing. It is such a central position that you can walk everywhere.
Jan & Kevin
Sydney Australia

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Fredrick house for 5 nights from 11-16/7.
When I was searching for a nice place to be in Amsterdam I found this place with so many good reviews.
Actually the hosts and the place is much better then the reviews.
Martin and Franz are extremely nice and did everything they could in order to make our stay even more pleasent.
The rooms are big, nice, clean and well fernutered. The breakfast is nice and been served to the room.
Everything was planned in details.
The place locationed in a nice and quite neighborhood which is close to all Amsterdam highlights.
You have everything for a perfect vacation in Amsterdam.
In addition there is free wifi
Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frederik Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederik Park House

Address: Frederiksplein 22, 1017 XM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederik Park House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Frederik Park House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frederik Park House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.