We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frederik Park House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Frederik Park House to your Saves list
Frederik Park House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Frederiksplein 22, 1017 XM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have just stayed four nights at this beautiful hotel. Small but perfectly formed as the saying goes! Large spotless room with sitting room overlooking a small park. Very comfortable bed and attractive furnishings and decor. The breakfasts, delivered to our door were absolutely wonderful - pancakes and mini chocolate eggs were a special pre-Easter treat. Perfect hosts, helpful but unobtrusive. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to visit in this lovely city very easily from this quiet location which is situated a little away from the more noisy and tacky centre. Particularly well placed for the museum area, and with many very good restaurants nearby. (We were particularly lucky to find this hotel as we had previously made a booking with bookmyplace.com but had our booking unceremoniously cancelled by the company with two weeks to go, and are still waiting the return of our deposit - don't use them. Happily, we found Frederik Park which I have no doubt was by far the better place to stay.)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
44
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed her for 4 nights in August. It was a pleasure to stay here. Martin was informative and extremely helpful with tips and recommendations, The room was spotless and stylishly furnished. Breakfast was always beautifully presented. The hotel's situation is perfect for exploring the sights, museums and galleries. There was a communal minibar based on trust and the prices were very fair. What we really appreciated most though was the privacy. Martin had a knack of being there when we needed him, but not intrusive. I like that in a host. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had 9 nights from 28th August to 6th September and had a wonderful time.
The room was lovely and big and the breakfasts were great. Also the terrace at the
back was wonderful for sitting and having an afternoon drink. Martin was so helpful in showing us where to go and what to see and also telling us about some great restaurants. Franz also told us about a bike ride by the side of the Amsel River out to the countryside which we did and it was amazing. It is such a central position that you can walk everywhere.
Jan & Kevin
Sydney Australia

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Fredrick house for 5 nights from 11-16/7.
When I was searching for a nice place to be in Amsterdam I found this place with so many good reviews.
Actually the hosts and the place is much better then the reviews.
Martin and Franz are extremely nice and did everything they could in order to make our stay even more pleasent.
The rooms are big, nice, clean and well fernutered. The breakfast is nice and been served to the room.
Everything was planned in details.
The place locationed in a nice and quite neighborhood which is close to all Amsterdam highlights.
You have everything for a perfect vacation in Amsterdam.
In addition there is free wifi
Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here early June this year for 5 nights. Having gone through the reviews I expected the owners to be nice. But what a pleasant surprise. Martin was really nice. He explained in detail where to go and what to eat and he did not get tired answering all my questions. The rooms were super clean and in a style just the way I like it. The room I stayed in had no fridge, but that was no problem, as I could use a fridge on the corridor. The minibar is on the ground floor and its use is based on trust. If you use something, you just write it down. It is also very affordable. Martin said it's the cheapest bar in Amsterdam :). Breakfast is served to the room at the time you like to have it. I did not miss the buffee breakfast that I had in a big hotel just before I stayed here. The rooftop garden is also gorgeous. Location is also great, neighborhood is very quiet but 5-10 minutes walk and you are in the center of the city.
Next time in Amsterdam, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russian Federation
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here from 13.04 to 19.04. This was our second visit to the hotel, the first one was in November 2011. Usually we don't go back to places where we've been before, but not in this case! Everything was excellent, or even better: wonderful breakfasts, very nice quiet location, very comfortable and beautiful room! And Martin - he's great! He always gives very good recommendations! Martin, you're the best! If we ever visit Amsterdam again, we will stay only in this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is starting to look like a serial, being the third time we recommend Frederik Park House (FPH) on TripAdvisor. I will not go into details again (you can read my two previous reports), we just want to give FPH the points they deserve on TripAdvisor, and being a very small business (4 rooms), they need all the good words they can have. And they deserve them. Martin and Frans are running the very best little hotel (4 rooms), and they do it very professionally and with great warmth.
The weather was not at all good, cold and windy, and in fact the coldest March in 55 years, but Amsterdam is a wonderful city with lots of things to do and see. Martin and Frans will give you their special suggestions, and this time we personally appreciated to be led to The Grachtenhuis Museum, presenting the canals and the development of the city plan.
We also like small details as fresh flowers in the room, our own coffee-machine, the candles in the entrance in the evening, the comfortable armchairs for reading and relaxing (not a small detail by the way).
In Norway every other household owns a holiday/weekend cottage or cabin. We have found our own cabin in Amsterdam at Frederik Plein!

Room Tip: With only four rooms, you have to go four times to try them all. We have been staying in three of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frederik Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederik Park House

Address: Frederiksplein 22, 1017 XM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederik Park House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Frederik Park House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frederik Park House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.