We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few days in the cold” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frederik Park House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Frederik Park House to your Saves list
Frederik Park House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Frederiksplein 22, 1017 XM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A few days in the cold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

On the approach to Amsterdam the pilot lets us know that our landing is delayed while ground crews clear the recent snow from the runway. This gets me wondering if I have warm enough clothes for this stay. Once off the plane the warmer gear gets thrown on and it's off to meet my wife, who had arrived earlier and is staying at a hotel across the road from the train station in town. After breakfast at a quaint place around the corner we grab a taxi to Frederik Park House and are warmly greeted by Martin (the owner) who shows us to our room. We are on the top floor of a beautiful four storey house, the only drawback to this is the fact there is no lift. Not a huge inconvenience as its a great house with a lot of character and a warm feel to it. The room is spacious and the bed very comfortable and with breakfast supplied every morning and a coffee machine in the room (although not my brand of coffee) it makes for a great place to stay. The location is very convenient as others have described, and Martin is a fount of knowledge on what's about. Amsterdam is a great place to explore, with a museum for anything and everything you could think of. We plan to visit again during warmer weather to explore the country side and get a glimpse of the windmills the country is famous for and look forward to staying at Frederik Park House once again...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
53
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We enjoyed three beautiful nights in Frederik Park House. Everything was first class from the lovely spacious room to the exceptional breakfast. Not forgetting our brilliant host Martin who had great suggestions of where to go, what to eat etc.
This hotel really is a gem and would recommend it to all- the location is perfect too- close enough to the hustle and bustle should you want it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zagreb
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Perfectly clean and charming house with warm and helpful owners. We loved it's quite location and a very comfortable bed...
Breakfast was great and on time :)
We were enjoying a beautiful terrace with a lot of different flowers.
Location is great as it is close to the city center...

Room Tip: Room No. 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Frederik Park House at the end of August 2012. We had a lovely room on the top floor where my 2 daughters and myself could stay very comfortably. The room was very clean and spacious, overlooking the park. The B&B owner was very welcoming and gave us excellent recommendations. Breakfast was brought to our room every morning and was composed of delicious varieties of breads, some cheese and ham, eggs, yogurt, orange juice and of course tea or coffee. We also had tea and coffee in our room. The location was superb: a quiet street in a trendy area a few minute walk from everything. I would recommend this place to anyone (except if you have trouble going up stairs - lots of stairs everywhere in Amsterdam). We had a perfect stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

** Summary**
- Clean, spacious, well-lit rooms. Think of it as a stay in your friend's house (i.e. nothing fancy, but you have everything you need)
- Quiet location away from center of action. But easy access to public transportation, which brings you to the city center/attractions in less than 10 minutes
- Friendly and helpful owner (Martin) who speaks perfect English
- Full breakfast prepared fresh and brought to you in a basket every morning!

** Rooms **
- We stayed in the loft room, which was spacious with a small balcony
- Bed was comfortable and room was well-lit with natural light or lights at night
- Amsterdam weather itself is cool, so the room temperature was comfortable even with windows closed (no AC I think)
- Toilet and shower was small, but it's well-maintained
- There's a small TV in the room with a few local channels
- In general, everything was very clean and well-maintained
- Free Wifi with decent connection speed, but signal is weaker in certain parts of the room

** Location **
- In quiet and safe neighborhood; around a minute walk from the tram and taxi station
- There are no particular "sights" around the hotel, but taking the tram to the "city center" takes around 10-15 minutes, so it is still very convenient

** Service **
- Martin, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. He speaks perfect English and is happy to tell you more about the Netherlands or just to have a friendly chat
- Every morning, he prepares and brings breakfast to your room in a basket. It's a pretty full breakfast with boiled eggs, coffee, yogurt, pastries, fresh juice, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We felt like we were staying at the friend's house. Owner Martin was very friendly and nice. Breakfast was perfect (various and substantial), we found it every morning under the door. The location is very good, 15 minutes from Dam Square, 15 minutes from Van Gogh Museum, 5 minutes from Rembrandtplein. As well the hotel is located near metro station, that is important if you arrive by car and leave it at P&R.
It was excelent experience, It couldn't be better!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross shire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Wonderful location, wonderful rooms, very special, better than a hotel, its more like being a guest in a lovely home, our room was the loft which was awesome with its wooden beams, charming bed, private roof terrace where we had breakfast, so special to do that at your leisure, each morning breakfast is brought to you in a basket and as previous readers have said, lovely fresh orange juice, breads, bolied eggs, cheeses, meats, fruits, coffee etc, its wonderful, the house is so quiet and peaceful and welcoming, the owners so unobtrusive yet so helpful and genuine, that this is indeed a rare find, and reluctant in my own way to tell the world about it least we dont get a room when we want to return ! martin suggests excellent restaurants and things to do, and in this area there is an abundance of both - favourite restaurant was klockspijs - and dream of returning there again - I love it when you can see the cooking being done in the kitchen, and we had a wonderful bottle of dolcetto that was well priced- such a great place to go, dont miss it ! A day trip to Haarlem was wonderful as well, its so quaint, and great shops ! Knowing you could go back to your room at Frederik park house and make yourself a coffee or get a cold beer from the mini bar was so unique, they have got everything right and deserve all the awards they get ! We will be back for sure. So dont keep reading, just book your rooms ! And enjoy. Pub on the corner is fantastic too, so many many good things.

Room Tip: Loft room is special as you have your own private roof garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#5 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederik Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederik Park House

Address: Frederiksplein 22, 1017 XM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederik Park House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Frederik Park House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frederik Park House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.